We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay in 8 months!”
Review of Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second Stay in 8 months!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is our second time staying at Glacier Lodge in the past 8 months and it is such an amazing place to stay while in Estes Park. We stayed back in August of 2013 and had such a great time that we brought our whole family back in May. The grounds are so much for fun for kids; there is horseback riding onsite with the Cowpoke Corner Corral, a heated pool, lots of games, a fire pit to roast s'mores and of course, the river! You are literally steps from the Big Thompson and the views are incredible. What makes this place really special though is the owner, Dave Ranglos, and his family. They immediately make you feel like family, complete with their family dog, Buddy, who is a constant at Glacier Lodge. If you are looking for a fantastic Colorado experience, this is the place to go! We would highly recommend Glacier Lodge and will be back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
"This is the Place to Go!...." Thank you.... see you again! Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    35
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
190
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was my fifth stay at Glacier Lodge and it was great. Previously I stayed closer to the stream but this time I was in the cabin Flattop on the hill where I could see the front range. The cabin was lovely and very comfortable. It's great that they provide a bundle of firewood every day. I was there in early May (not the best time in the Rockies) and experienced a 36-hour snowfall. Wow. It looked like a Christmas card. I was snug in my cabin. I'm a single traveler and love this place but I think it would be terrific for families as well. It's a real mountain experience -- very comfortable but not too glitzy and plastic like some of the condo complexes. Give it a try.

Room Tip: On the stream, Singing Water is a great cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
"It's A Real Mountain Experience..." could not have said it better! Hope to see you again! Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have been coming to Glacier Lodge for many years as it is a very nice place near the river. It is so restful to wake up to the smell of coffee and the sound of the stream just outside your door. Take a book, sit on the deck and enjoy the sights and sounds of the Rockies. Dave and his staff are very helpful and caring. The cabins are prepared and ready for your arrival. Don't worry late arrivals will find the cabin well lighted, open and waiting for you. Each day youwillreceived a load of wood if you sochoose to have a nightly fire. It is located out of the way and yet close to town, a prefect location for a week or week-end but make your plans early as the time slots fill up quickly. WE WILL GO AGAIN...AND AGAIN!

Room Tip: Check the web site for cabin description and location on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We will go again and again.....That is great news. See you in 2014....! Thank you for being a loyal supporter to our family over the years... I always appreciate your comments and I think they provide important information to others about our facilities, and procedures. Sincerely, Dave Ranglos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was our first time staying here and it was recommended to us by a friend. We were lucky and found that "The Loft" was open for two nights during the time frame we wanted. Dave was very friendly and patient with me for I called him a couple times figuring out when we wanted to come. This room is small, but we knew that in the first place but just to let you know there is room for a douoble bed, a small place for a padded armchair and then the bathroom. As my wife described it "it was wonderfully cozy". There is a good sized deck with a couple chairs where you can sit outside and either watch the activities at the lodge behind you (the firepit) or sit and watch the river below you. It was very peaceful and quiet and only heard kids once in which they weren't very loud in the first place just havinig fun at the river. When we arrived Jan was very friendly and helpful, showed us a few good places to go for breakfast and when we asked for extra pillows and towels they were brought really quickly. Hopefully the latest flooding doesn't do to much damage for after staying here we had planned to come back next year but with the whole family and stay in one of the bigger cabins.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DwarfPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Wonderfully Cozy! I am glad you enjoyed your time on property. Thank you for your concern about the recent flooding in our region. You can please find more information online from our website about the rehabilitation. We are booking for 2014... See you soon!
Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I researched a place to stay around Estes Park for weeks, and finally decided upon Glacier Lodge. We were not disappointed! The staff was friendly, our cabin was clean, comfortable and bug-free (a first for us when staying in cabins anywhere). The grounds were well kept and the pool very clean, although we did not use it. We stayed in the 2-bedroom Wanamingo cabin which we chose because the deck is literally right over the river. It is also in a very quiet area. We chose the week following Labor Day so it would be a quiet, relaxing vacation, which it was. If we took our family during the summer months, there are wonderful planned activities for kids and I know our grandchildren would love the playground, stables, etc. Highly recommend. We also made a mistake on our date of departure - we ended up leaving a day early to get home for a grandson's first birthday party, and fully expected to pay for the extra night. However, when we checked out, Mr. Ranglos did not charge us for that night, even though it was definitely our fault that we did not inform him ahead of time that our plans had changed. I would definitely recommend this as a family destination in the summer, or a quiet getaway after Labor Day. Weather was perfect. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Wanamingo cabin is quiet, away from pool, stables, fire pit area and playground, and right on the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your time and that you made it home safely! See you next time!

Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have been staying at Glacier Lodge for 15+ years, every Labor Day for a family event. Sometimes have as many as 8 cabins. Great variety in cabins (everyone has their favorite) to suit different needs. Allows for "alone/quiet time" and "family rowdiness times". Awesome firepit area for large or small groups, horseback riding is great. The pool is fun and shopping shuttle bus picks up and delivers at the entry way. Units are immaculate, charming in their decor, very relaxing. Playground, horseshoes, dirt roads between cabins allows for kids to ride their bikes safely. Staff could not be more friendly or accommodating! Estes Park is amazing and so is Glacier Lodge. Stayed at several places and this is the best, hands down!

Room Tip: Check out website. Some are right on the water, some are on the hillside. Some are closer to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndap201305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Right on the Big Thompson River, Glacier Lodge is a great place to experience Colorado. We stayed in Deer Ridge Cabin and enjoyed a mountain view out of the front picture window. The cabin was clean and accommodated our needs very well. Had a pleasant surprise on an early morning walk when I encountered a ten point elk eating leaves from a bush on the grounds which were well kept and beautiful. Went fishing in the Big Thompson and caught a trout but even without catching any fish, sitting by the rushing river would be a pleasant experience. Even the bridge to enter the property was quaint. Just a few minutes from downtown Estes Park, if you like to shop, yet felt like you were in the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
579 reviews
2.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#30 of 78 in Estes Park
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Property: Glacier Lodge
Address: 2166 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8320
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Just what you are looking for when you come to the mountains" - cottages and cabins under towering pines. Close to National Park. Large homestyle units also available for reunions, scrap booking. Pool, horses, fishing and wood burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Estes Park
Glacier Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing