We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So hard to leave!”
Review of Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Granite City, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So hard to leave!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We love Glacier Lodge. A condo just wouldn't be Colorado to us, but Glacier Lodge sure is. We love the cabins with porches on the Big Thompson River. The property is beautiful. I love the cool crisp mornings walking the property with my coffee. The Cowboy Breakfast every Thursday is not to be missed, we schedule our stay so that we don't miss it. Lots to do for kids and adults.
It was nice to see kids having a blast outside, no batteries required. I hope to bring my grown children back to Glacier Lodge, I think they will like it as much as they did when they were little. There is much to do and see in RMNP and around town, just allow some down time to stay at Glacier Lodge and enjoy the property. I highly recommend Glacier Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisew5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the area. Thanks again! Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    36
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
198
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We decided to stay at Glacier Lodge based upon the reviews from other travelers who rated them on TA. We were very, very happy with Glacier Lodge. We found that Dave and his family have owned and operated the property for 40 years. They really make you feel like part of their extended family. They have approximately 65% of their business from returning customers and that says quite a bit about the quality of their service.

We stayed in the Arapahoe cabin. While it was very nice, our family felt a little cramped in the one bedroom. I fully knew what we were getting into when we booked it but we will book a larger unit when we go back in the future. In fact, we liked the place so much we decided to extend our vacation an additional four days.

My one recommendation is to make sure that you get an activities sheet upon check in. Apparently we didn't see it when we checked in and it caused us to miss one of the events that the property puts on weekly. It was no big deal at all to miss it, but be aware that Dave has several events for his guests throughout the week that the kids really enjoyed, including an amazing breakfast on Thursday morning.

We HIGHLY recommend Glacier Lodge and will be visiting them again next year!

Thanks Dave and staff for an amazing vacation! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Arapahoe is a little small for a family of 4 (we were there for 9 nights), but it was very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gogogators1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
So glad to have you on property. All of our units offer a bit different floor plan all are unique in character and charm. Half the fun is trying a few different units until you find just the one you are looking for. Please keep us in mind for a return visit!

Thanks again!
Dave Ranglos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best place for family lodging! Reasonable cost. Lots of fun on-property activities. Comfortable rustic lodging, but modern amenities. Close to Rocky Mtn Park, but quiet property. Attentive, gracious hosts. Our favorite place for past 8 yrs! Why go anywhere else?!

Room Tip: Cabins close to river enjoy peaceful water feature. Chalets up the hill for less rustic experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you! We appreciate our loyal support.... see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Glacier Lodge for our first time last week. It is a very family friendly place and the Ranglos family are very hospitable and run a very well kept place. I would recommend this to anyone but especially for families with children/teens because there is plenty to do on site such as: swimming pool, ping pong, basketball hoop, horse rides, horse shoes. My kids enjoyed frisbee and seeing the owners dog " Buddy" whom checked on us periodically and knew when the grill was fired up. My husband said the only thing wrong was that the cowboy breakfast should be more than once a week. It was a great experience and we have stayed at a lot of places over the years!!

Room Tip: We went during a time that seemed to be less busy. It was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamasun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Glad you found us! Please consider a return visit... mid to late August and all of September are also wonderful times of the year in the Mountains of Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have been coming to Glacier Lodge for the past 46 years. The Vokels owned it and when they retired they sold it to the Ranglos family!
David and his wife Karen took over the business of running Glacier when both of David's parents died within months of each other. This year is their 40th anniversary of running this exceptional place and it is still going strong.The property sits across the Big Thompson river which is what makes this place so special. The cabins are rustic and all have fireplaces, kitchen's well equipped, and porches. Some are on the river, and larger ones set back. The property is truly a gem!! So much for family's to do. David and Karen are hands on and make your stay so enjoyable. We went this Memorial Day weekend and stayed the week and were more than happy to see that, after the flooding last fall, all is well with our favorite vacation spot. Dave built a new bridge himself with an engineer and another one of his employees.
They opened in time for the summer season and we were so glad to be back. You could not pick a better place to stay in Estes Park!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi048Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for the support and encouragement... look forward to seeing you again! Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is our second time staying at Glacier Lodge in the past 8 months and it is such an amazing place to stay while in Estes Park. We stayed back in August of 2013 and had such a great time that we brought our whole family back in May. The grounds are so much for fun for kids; there is horseback riding onsite with the Cowpoke Corner Corral, a heated pool, lots of games, a fire pit to roast s'mores and of course, the river! You are literally steps from the Big Thompson and the views are incredible. What makes this place really special though is the owner, Dave Ranglos, and his family. They immediately make you feel like family, complete with their family dog, Buddy, who is a constant at Glacier Lodge. If you are looking for a fantastic Colorado experience, this is the place to go! We would highly recommend Glacier Lodge and will be back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
"This is the Place to Go!...." Thank you.... see you again! Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was my fifth stay at Glacier Lodge and it was great. Previously I stayed closer to the stream but this time I was in the cabin Flattop on the hill where I could see the front range. The cabin was lovely and very comfortable. It's great that they provide a bundle of firewood every day. I was there in early May (not the best time in the Rockies) and experienced a 36-hour snowfall. Wow. It looked like a Christmas card. I was snug in my cabin. I'm a single traveler and love this place but I think it would be terrific for families as well. It's a real mountain experience -- very comfortable but not too glitzy and plastic like some of the condo complexes. Give it a try.

Room Tip: On the stream, Singing Water is a great cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
"It's A Real Mountain Experience..." could not have said it better! Hope to see you again! Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,444 reviews
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
483 reviews
2.2 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#27 of 78 in Estes Park
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Property: Glacier Lodge
Address: 2166 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8320
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Just what you are looking for when you come to the mountains" - cottages and cabins under towering pines. Close to National Park. Large homestyle units also available for reunions, scrap booking. Pool, horses, fishing and wood burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Estes Park
Glacier Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing