We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glacier Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Coyote Mountain Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$127
QualityInn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$174
Groupon.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estes(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haber Motel(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicky's Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Crest Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$87
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maxwell Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
252
37
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
252
37
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscowboy breakfasthorseback ridingping pongthe big thompson riverbasketball courtthe riveroutdoor breakfastfavorite lodginghour rideswimming pooltether ballfamily reunionmorning breakfastfire piteasy access to rmnpsummer campquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We love Glacier Lodge. A condo just wouldn't be Colorado to us, but Glacier Lodge sure is. We love the cabins with porches on the Big Thompson River. The property is beautiful. I love the cool crisp mornings walking the property with my coffee. The Cowboy Breakfast every Thursday is not to be missed, we schedule our stay so that we don't miss it. Lots to do for kids and adults.
It was nice to see kids having a blast outside, no batteries required. I hope to bring my grown children back to Glacier Lodge, I think they will like it as much as they did when they were little. There is much to do and see in RMNP and around town, just allow some down time to stay at Glacier Lodge and enjoy the property. I highly recommend Glacier Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisew5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the area. Thanks again! Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We decided to stay at Glacier Lodge based upon the reviews from other travelers who rated them on TA. We were very, very happy with Glacier Lodge. We found that Dave and his family have owned and operated the property for 40 years. They really make you feel like part of their extended family. They have approximately 65% of their business from returning customers and that says quite a bit about the quality of their service.

We stayed in the Arapahoe cabin. While it was very nice, our family felt a little cramped in the one bedroom. I fully knew what we were getting into when we booked it but we will book a larger unit when we go back in the future. In fact, we liked the place so much we decided to extend our vacation an additional four days.

My one recommendation is to make sure that you get an activities sheet upon check in. Apparently we didn't see it when we checked in and it caused us to miss one of the events that the property puts on weekly. It was no big deal at all to miss it, but be aware that Dave has several events for his guests throughout the week that the kids really enjoyed, including an amazing breakfast on Thursday morning.

We HIGHLY recommend Glacier Lodge and will be visiting them again next year!

Thanks Dave and staff for an amazing vacation! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Arapahoe is a little small for a family of 4 (we were there for 9 nights), but it was very close to the horse stables.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gogogators1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

So glad to have you on property. All of our units offer a bit different floor plan all are unique in character and charm. Half the fun is trying a few different units until you find just the one you are looking for. Please keep us in mind for a return visit!

Thanks again!
Dave Ranglos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best place for family lodging! Reasonable cost. Lots of fun on-property activities. Comfortable rustic lodging, but modern amenities. Close to Rocky Mtn Park, but quiet property. Attentive, gracious hosts. Our favorite place for past 8 yrs! Why go anywhere else?!

Room Tip: Cabins close to river enjoy peaceful water feature. Chalets up the hill for less rustic experience. Large lodges for family reunions. Check out the property map on website.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you! We appreciate our loyal support.... see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Glacier Lodge for our first time last week. It is a very family friendly place and the Ranglos family are very hospitable and run a very well kept place. I would recommend this to anyone but especially for families with children/teens because there is plenty to do on site such as: swimming pool, ping pong, basketball hoop, horse rides, horse shoes. My kids enjoyed frisbee and seeing the owners dog " Buddy" whom checked on us periodically and knew when the grill was fired up. My husband said the only thing wrong was that the cowboy breakfast should be more than once a week. It was a great experience and we have stayed at a lot of places over the years!!

Room Tip: We went during a time that seemed to be less busy. It was very peaceful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamasun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Glad you found us! Please consider a return visit... mid to late August and all of September are also wonderful times of the year in the Mountains of Colorado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have been coming to Glacier Lodge for the past 46 years. The Vokels owned it and when they retired they sold it to the Ranglos family!
David and his wife Karen took over the business of running Glacier when both of David's parents died within months of each other. This year is their 40th anniversary of running this exceptional place and it is still going strong.The property sits across the Big Thompson river which is what makes this place so special. The cabins are rustic and all have fireplaces, kitchen's well equipped, and porches. Some are on the river, and larger ones set back. The property is truly a gem!! So much for family's to do. David and Karen are hands on and make your stay so enjoyable. We went this Memorial Day weekend and stayed the week and were more than happy to see that, after the flooding last fall, all is well with our favorite vacation spot. Dave built a new bridge himself with an engineer and another one of his employees.
They opened in time for the summer season and we were so glad to be back. You could not pick a better place to stay in Estes Park!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi048Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for the support and encouragement... look forward to seeing you again! Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews