We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our first visit to Colorado. Our flight was 2 hrs delayed but we made it to Glacier Lodge & the first thing we saw was a welcome sign at the front office with our name and hometown! A nice personal touch that instantly made us feel welcome. Our stay coincided with a complimentary cowpoke breakfast on Thursdays that was prepared by the Ranglos family & staff. It was just what we needed for our day of hiking. The Ranglos' dog Buddy paid us a visit several times. We booked our stay last minute and the last cabin left was the Arapahoe -- one bedroom with trundle bed in living rm. It was simple, clean and cozy for my husband & me and our two college-aged daughters. The kitchen and bathroom were tiny but we made do. Nice camp feel complete with rambling river, horse corral, outdoor campfires, swimming pool, kids running around and an occasional dog bark. Good location -- felt peaceful but close to Estes town as well as park entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyak329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Half the fun is trying the different locations and cabins they are all a bit different. Keep us in mind for the next time you are in the area. Check the calendar in January for the best early booking opportunities! See you next time

Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly, nice location. More rustic than a condo so a nice Colorado, outdoorsy feel. Plenty of amenities. Super sweet outdoor breakfast once a week. Nice couple that owns it are very friendly. I would go back if not looking for the condo experience.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank PSKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

I am glad that you enjoyed your experience while on property. Come back and see us soon!

Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This year marked the 10th consecutive year our family has stayed at Glacier Lodge. The Ranglos family and staff are simply the best. From the moment we arrived to our departing day, we felt so welcome! Glacier Lodge is a very special place. There is something for everyone to do. Exploring, swimming, games or just relaxing by the river they have it all. We are already looking forward to our visit next July!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank lifeisgood98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

You made it to double digits! Thanks so much for your continued support! My family has been truly blessed by so many families, like yours, that consider and make Glacier Lodge a part of there family vacation traditions. Hope to see you all again next year! Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just got back from a week at Glacier Lodge. Very good place for families, kids, larger groups. We had a two bedroom by the river and enjoyed. My son enjoyed using the basketball court, found some boys around his age to play with 3 days in a row. Very close to the RMNP entrance, we did four different days in the park. Trail Ridge Road was our favorite! Enjoyed the free breakfast one morning provide by Glacier Lodge and Smores night. The two things I would like to see the owners invest in is Wifi for the cabins(only available at the office or very close too) and washer and dryers in the larger two bedroom cabins.

Room Tip: cabins more peaceful and private by the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JREwing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Manager at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thanks for the feedback! Our new Ubiquiti directional wireless equipment installed this spring has improved the range, and quality of the free service offered to guests and will provide the network infrastructure from which we will continue to build and expand our services. Thanks again!

Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our daughter who had visited Glacier Lodge a couple of times with her family suggested It as a place for our family gathering. We all (39 of us from 6 months to 83) had a great time. Timber Lodge has a fantastic great room that accommodated us all for meals, games, visiting! Plenty of activities on and off the property to keep everyone from the little kids to the teen agers and grownups busy. Private bathrooms for each room were a big plus! the staff was friendly and accommodating and put on a great s'mores evening and a delicious outdoor breakfast. the big kids rode horses and the little kids rode ponies. Games in the front yard and fires in the evening were fun. Shuffleboard, the playground, the pool and the ponies kept the kids happy. We all enjoyed our stay at Glacier Lodge very much!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

So glad that you and your family enjoyed being on property! Please be sure to keep us in mind for a return visit. Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just loved our family gathering at the Glacier Lodge! This is our third time for a reunion there! First time was in 1987, then 1997, and now June 2014! We just love this place! The Ranglos family are so very special! Dave's parents, Jim & Penny, started the tradition and now he and Karen are continuing to make this a very relaxing place to stay. We would recommend this beautiful setting for everyone! Rather it be a cabin or a lodge, it is just a perfect get-away to stay in Estes Park! And for convenience in getting around Estes Park, the Town's free shuttle stops right in front of their bridge to get you into town to "shop til you drop"! Lots of amenities on site too! Great Fun! Thanks Dave & Karen!
Bob & Mary Jo Seifert

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you! We are so thankful for your families support over the many years! Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the Deer Ridge cabin. Perfect space for our family of 4 to spread out. We spent most of our time outside enjoying the picnic table and chairs on the front porch.
Couldn't ask for a better location near RMNP and the shopping in Estes.
Kids loved outdoor activities, horseback riding, fishing the Big Thompson and reading books by the river. Cabin was very clean and the bathroom was much cleaner than 95% of the hotels we've seen.

Great first experience. Hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thanks for the kind words! I hope you enjoyed our Brand of Western Hospitality! Hope to see you all again soon! Dave Ranglos, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
3.2 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
218 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Woodlands on Fall River
The Woodlands on Fall River
#10 of 74 in Estes Park
294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aspen Winds on Fall River
Aspen Winds on Fall River
#5 of 74 in Estes Park
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Address: 2166 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £61 - £721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Just what you are looking for when you come to the mountains" - cottages and cabins under towering pines. Close to National Park. Large homestyle units also available for reunions, scrap booking. Pool, horses, fishing and wood burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Estes Park
Glacier Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing