We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mountain Escape”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We loved the family oriented set-up. We had a 2 bed/1 bath cabin right on the river. It was charming and had everything we needed. They even supply firewood daily. We made a fire each morning! We visited from Georgia in July and the nights and mornings were cold to us-we were loving it! They are very close to Rocky Mountain National Park and are also close to downtown Estes Park. They have a pancake breakfast outside every Thursday morning which was yummy and a lot of fun. Great place for kids with a pool and games you can borrow like corn hole, badminton, horseshoes, boardgames, etc. There is also a stable on property. We rode horses up a mountain for a wonderful view! The wranglers were wonderful! Our wrangler was Belle-she was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Sounds like you worked it all in! Hope you enjoyed your time. Keep us in mind for the next time! Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    33
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
184
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were recommended to Glacier Lodge by a couple of people for our family vacation and we are so thankful! Wonderful hospitality, gorgeous scenery, comfortable cabin. Close to town, but had activities on the grounds too, so fun!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hope to see you and your family again! Dave Ranglos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
214 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Glacier Lodge was our favorite lodging out of all of the places we stayed on our recent vacation. It was so nice to sit outside on the deck with coffee or to just relax. The sound of the rushing stream was peaceful. I loved that our kids could explore, and they loved having the pool which they enjoyed every night. Parking right close to the cabin made unloading & loading easy. Having the kitchenette helped a lot with meals, especially in pricey Estes Park.

We stayed in the Arapahoe Cabin, and were surprised at how (relatively) large it turned out to be- we were expecting much smaller. The bedroom is a very nice size, and the living room is large enough to hold a small couch, table and four chairs, a fireplace & tv, and a daybed w/a trundle. It was nice to have the DVD player and DVD's to borrow from the office. The bathroom is on the small side, but not bad as long as one person at a time is in there.

This cabin is near the horse stables, and occasionally I could smell the horses, but this didn't bother me as I grew up around them. I could see how it might bother others, though, so be aware. The stable employees keep long hours, arriving very early in the morning and leaving late at night, and they drive right behind the cabin. There were days where they were the first thing I heard in the morning and the last thing I heard at night.

The wifi was fine early in the morning but seemed to bog down all other times.

I wish the breakfast was held more often, we missed it by one day. Also, we had a broken window in our bathroom that we reported the first morning that never did get fixed. We had to prop it open with a shampoo bottle. It would be nice if all of the windows in the cabin were updated- some were new and were able to be locked, but some were old and had no lock. Light-blocking blinds or shades would be wonderful in the two large windows in the living room, as they let in a lot of heat in the afternoon, and the windows don't open anyway. A couple of shelves in the bathroom would be helpful, somewhere to put toiletries! A small clock somewhere would be helpful, as would a small window fan to cool off the cabin in the afternoon. We did ask the office lady if there was one to borrow, and she said she would check, but never got back to us.

Minor issues aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for the feedback! Hope to see you again. Dave Ranglos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family stayed at Glacier Lodge a couple decades ago, creating sweet memories that lingered as the kids grew up. This year, we reunited in Estes, and the 4 Glacier Lodge cabins beside the Big Thompson River became the perfect backdrop for a great vacation. The whole experience.... the cow poke breakfast, horseback ride, sparkling swimming pool, the games and books perfect for a raining afternoon, the bundle of wood delivered daily, ice cream at the soda saloon.... the list goes on and on. It is without reservation that I wholeheartedly recommend Glacier Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Great to have you back on property! Hope to see you all again soon.... Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our first visit to Colorado. Our flight was 2 hrs delayed but we made it to Glacier Lodge & the first thing we saw was a welcome sign at the front office with our name and hometown! A nice personal touch that instantly made us feel welcome. Our stay coincided with a complimentary cowpoke breakfast on Thursdays that was prepared by the Ranglos family & staff. It was just what we needed for our day of hiking. The Ranglos' dog Buddy paid us a visit several times. We booked our stay last minute and the last cabin left was the Arapahoe -- one bedroom with trundle bed in living rm. It was simple, clean and cozy for my husband & me and our two college-aged daughters. The kitchen and bathroom were tiny but we made do. Nice camp feel complete with rambling river, horse corral, outdoor campfires, swimming pool, kids running around and an occasional dog bark. Good location -- felt peaceful but close to Estes town as well as park entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyak329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay! Half the fun is trying the different locations and cabins they are all a bit different. Keep us in mind for the next time you are in the area. Check the calendar in January for the best early booking opportunities! See you next time

Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly, nice location. More rustic than a condo so a nice Colorado, outdoorsy feel. Plenty of amenities. Super sweet outdoor breakfast once a week. Nice couple that owns it are very friendly. I would go back if not looking for the condo experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PSKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your experience while on property. Come back and see us soon!

Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This year marked the 10th consecutive year our family has stayed at Glacier Lodge. The Ranglos family and staff are simply the best. From the moment we arrived to our departing day, we felt so welcome! Glacier Lodge is a very special place. There is something for everyone to do. Exploring, swimming, games or just relaxing by the river they have it all. We are already looking forward to our visit next July!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgood98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockyMtHigh, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
You made it to double digits! Thanks so much for your continued support! My family has been truly blessed by so many families, like yours, that consider and make Glacier Lodge a part of there family vacation traditions. Hope to see you all again next year! Dave Ranglos, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
4.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.4 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Spruce
River Spruce
#3 of 77 in Estes Park
216 reviews
2.2 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 77 in Estes Park
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Lodge

Property: Glacier Lodge
Address: 2166 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Just what you are looking for when you come to the mountains" - cottages and cabins under towering pines. Close to National Park. Large homestyle units also available for reunions, scrap booking. Pool, horses, fishing and wood burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Hotel Estes Park
Glacier Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing