We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVED Spruce Lake!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spruce Lake RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spruce Lake RV Park
Bixby, Oklahoma
1 review
“We LOVED Spruce Lake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at Spruce Lake the first week of June 2013. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The fishing was excellent and the pond was well stocked! Our girls, ages 3 and 6 LOVED Spruce Lake! Waking up to Elk walking through the campground made every penny worth it! The night we arrived there was an ice cream social! Fun! We can't say enough GREAT things! We will definitely be back this Summer!!

Room Tip: Space 19 and Space 87 are the spots if you want to be close to the Big Thompson. Very easy to get bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    33
    27
    19
    21
See reviews for
87
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at this RV park last year and had a good experience. This year I can't say the same. On 9/11/13, we were already in Estes Park staying at another rv park, when we drove over to Spruce Lake to make reservations for the following week. We paid our 1/2 deposit of $197.70 and was never told that it was unrefundable. That night the rains came and the roads in and out of Estes Park were partial destroyed. Early morning of 9/12/13, Spruce Lake customers were evatuated over to Elk Meadows RV which is owed by same group. The following morning we drove past Spruce Lake which was flooded, and were told to go over to Elk Meadows to talk to management about the problem that Spruce Lake would not be back open for the season. Once at Elk Meadows, management would NOT REFUND our deposit. It was not our fault we could not stay at the park since Park Rangers were telling people to leave the area and the park was closed except for people driving over Trail Ridge to get out of the area.
How could management take advantage of senior citizens like that? We were told they would extend our trip deposit thru 2014 but we already had plans to travel east next year for a family reunion. All we wanted was our deposit refunded we paid in good faith. Is that too much to ask?
We sent a letter to management last month but no response yet....

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
18 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
The day of the flood was very very busy. You are correct, the day of the flood we did not issue refunds because our office and everything in it was under water. Elk Meadow does not have access to Spruce Lake computers. Now, I don't know your name but, I made refunds over the winter to everyone involved. I think you should update this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have been going here for a few years and its lost its family charm. They used to have an activities room that looked over the pond, that's closed now, apparently you only have to rent it to use it(for larger groups). The mini golf place is really run down, the wood is cracked and there were weeds growing on the really rough course. They now charge a dollar for the golf balls, which are all the same white color now, hard for the kids to keep track of whose ball is whose. There used to be chairs/benches around the fire pit, they're gone too. The heated pool is freezing and kids aren't allowed in the hot tub. The games that my kids loved to play are really run down, like the ladder ball (1/2 the balls missing) and the bean bag toss bags are pretty worn and pretty dirty.

We never looked at other places, just came here, next year we will look around. Too bad a few dollars and a few smiles and this place would be great again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ReefClubMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am sorry if your visit did not live up to what you expected. We do close the swimming pool after labor day, it is a seasonal opening. The hot tub is for adults only, you are correct. We feel that the grown ups need a place of their own. As far as the free park games, yes they do get abused by the kids during the year, bean bags get lost balls get thrown into the tress. that is something we live with, the option is not to supply the anymore. By the end of the season they can get pretty worn. I agree with you about the arcade games, we have already spoke with the tenant about this. The activity center is still here. We use it for ice cream socials, bingo, pancake breakfasts and our entertainment. If groups wish to use it we do charge to cover cleaning, electric and heat. We do lock it when it is not in use. Hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, PA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice 3 night stay here. Convenient to Rocky Mountain National Park entrance. Only complaint is that the trash/garbage bin in front of our RV (at the bathhouse) had not been emptied for a very very long time and STANK. Every time someone opened it they had to force their trash into it, because it was so full, and we got a fresh awful stink smell.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

17 - 22 August 2013. Traveling in motorhome.
Spruce Hill is well laid out with room to access with big rig.
Big Thompson River runs along north side of the park.
Shuttle service is available within easy walking distance.
Staff very friendly, personable and checking to make sure everything was okay.
We are planning to visit Estes Park again next year and will plan on staying at Spruce Lake RV Park again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
look forward to seeing you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Aug 1-2, 2013. This was our first stay in an RV ever, so at the time we had nothing to compare it to. But the location was perfect for exploring RMNP, and the annoyances other reviewers mention (overstuffed dumpster, crowded, etc.) didn't bother us much. In fact, one thing we really liked was that the sound from the stream in back created a soothing natural wash that helped us all sleep in our first couple of nights in the camper.

It does seem pricey after comparing it to some other places we tried along the way. But for these East Coast travelers, to be able to lift our eyes up and see mountains all around us was a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silsbee, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for the first and LAST TIME in July 2013......Huge Garbage bin stuffed full and stunk to high heavens!!!! Laundry was a rip off.....dryers were set on lowest they could be set on took 4 times to dry clothes and they were small loads...looked like people lived there Not on vacation....Office personnel not very friendly. Paid 60.00 a night.....rip off... stayed 2 nights...would of stayed one but they wouldn't refund for second night and there were vacant places. .My husband is handicapped and I told them this when I called to make reservations and they placed us way away from laundry and restroom....too far for him to walk...and there was vacant spots close to restroom and laundry both days we were there...We left and stayed gone the first day because of the garbage smell....Left early the second morning as fast as we could.....Not an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Don't Bother staying here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, Manager at Spruce Lake RV Park, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I am sorry you had problems when you stayed in our park. You complained about the garbage smell, you are right, when the bins get 3/4 full we call waste management to come empty them. Most of the times they are there within a couple of hours. Twice this summer it took them 3 days, this was beyond our control. You mentioned that some sites looked like people lived there and were not on vacation. Our work campers do live here for the entire season. You accused us of setting the dryers to the lowest setting, these are set at the factory, drying times are determine by the size of the load you put in. You mentioned that we put your handicap husband so far from the restrooms that he couldn't use them, if you were that far from the restrooms how could you smell garbage that was in front of the restrooms? You rated our rooms and sleep quality poor, if you were in your own RV how is this our problem?

Again I am sorry for your problems, we have never claimed to be a Holiday Inn, we are a small country RV park.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Anniversary Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#45 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#41 of 77 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#27 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Peak To Peak Lodge
Peak To Peak Lodge
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colorado Cottages
Colorado Cottages
#36 of 77 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Lake RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lake RV Park

Property: Spruce Lake RV Park
Address: 1050 Marys Lake Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-8222
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Spruce Lake Rv Park Hotel Estes Park
Spruce Lake RV Park Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing