We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rams Horn Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
Discovery Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Crags Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Estes Park Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Estes(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Estes Park)
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Appenzell Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicky's Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
767
50
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
767
50
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffle breakfastwine and cheesehome away from homefree laundryrocky mountain national parktime sharean ice creambelgian wafflesrock innplace to stayfitness centergas fireliving roomspent a weekfull kitchenhot tubpicnic tables
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

There were 11 of us celebrating a 50th wedding anniversary. We had 3 cabins all having 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living room that had a pull out bed. The resorts cabins were fantastic with everything you need in a kitchen! Towels for the hot tub, welcome baskets and info for things to do around Estes, maps for hiking, restaurant recommendations.
The resort has a wonderful location just minutes from Estes Park and very close to the Rock Mountains. The resort had bikes to ride, laundry facilities, pool and hot tubs. I would highly recommend this wonderful property!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ronna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InEstesPark, General Manager at Rams Horn Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Ronna and Family, Thank you so much for choosing Rams Horn Village for the 50th Anniversary Celebration in your family! We hope that you took home with you many wonderful memories of this important family event. I appreciate very much your taking the time to share your observations of the cabins and amenities of Rams Horn Village. We so hope that you return soon and often to Rams Horn Village and don't wait for another big anniversary!(: Regards, Deborah and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to spend a family vacation in the mountains, this is your destination! The resort is just minutes away from Rocky Mountain National Park and downtown Estes Park, and has every amenity you could want: pool, hot tubs, laundry facilities, bikes to borrow, social activities and much more. The village and cabins are very clean and well maintained, and the staff are phenomenal. We spent a week here with our 4 children (ages 11, 9, 8 & 6), and loved it so much we have already scheduled our 2015 summer vacation to return. If you are looking for a family vacation destination surrounded by breathtaking scenery, ample recreation activities and amazing people, Ram's Horn is the place for you!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Mom24Crazies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InEstesPark, General Manager at Rams Horn Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are so very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your 1st vacation with us and look forward to seeing you again in 2015! Now that your kids know where we keep the popsicles(: they'll feel even more at home next time. It seems you have discovered our secret mission...Rams Horn Village is all about families. Thank you so much for introducing yours to ours. We hope it is only the very beginning of a great new tradition for your family. We look forward to watching your beautiful family grow up. Regards, Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent time as usual. This is our third time coming here. It's hard to find anything better after staying at Rams Horn. The location is key for us. Not even a mile from the entrance to RMNP. Also not exactly downtown so you have some privacy and breathing room and town is only a 5-10 min drive. We also like the fact that the bar (Rock Inn ) is walking distance of 5 minutes. They have good food and always live entertainment and many craft or local beers. We had 5 adults in our 2 bedroom house so my oldest son got the draw of the pull out couch, which was fine he said. At night it was convenient to use the hot tub which was very close to our rental. Although it does close at 10 pm , it was very relaxing and enjoyable. Another tip is that you have to make arrangements for clean towels as they only do housekeeping every few days which was not a big deal for us and we regularly would take the trash out to the dumpsters they provide. It is a little pricey to stay but they have everything you need and for smaller children there are games, movies, swimming pool, workout room, etc. I would definitely rev omen Rams Horn to anyone. Feel free to respond if you have any questions.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BrianG110862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InEstesPark, General Manager at Rams Horn Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Brian! Thank you so much for the glowing review on Rams Horn Village. We were so very glad to see your family return. You are absolutely right about the location, jest two left turns and you are in Rocky Mountain National Park! Even in the busiest weeks of the year when the town is thrumming, Rams Horn Village offers a quieter refuge with just the generally soothing sounds of nature and families having fun. Couldn't agree more about the Rock Inn. Its one of our favorite restaurants and close enough to feel like it is on site. Come back soon! We'll be waiting. Deborah and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The week of July 5 we had three condos for a 14 person family gathering. We enjoyed the close access to Rocky Mountain national park and the activities at the resort especially the ice cream
social, pool and hot tubs. This is an excellent family resort we have been going to since 1992.
The staff does an excellent job in maintaining the condos and club house. They are very friendly
and helpful. Access to miniature golf and restaurants like Poppy's enhance the experience. On this visit we saw a badger which was a first. We look forward to returning to Estes and Rams Horn next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InEstesPark, General Manager at Rams Horn Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We were so very happy to welcome your family back to Rams Horn Village. We look forward to your every visit! We very much appreciate your kind review and thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us and other guests. Hurry back! Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We rented a total of seven cabins in late June 2014 for our extended family. There were a lot of positive things about Rams Horn - the proximity to a Rocky Mountain National Park entrance is excellent, and downtown Estes and the Estes Park Coffee Shop and Red Rose Rock Shop (both of which we love) are short easy drives. There were nightly visits from a local Elk herd, and cabins were clean and cozy.

As the person who organized the trip and did a lot of research on places to stay, I was a little surprised at a few details. There were two major drawbacks to Rams Horn Village Resort that I didn't read in any other review on this page:

First, expect to feel tight: the resort cabins are situated in tight "V" shape of land between two relatively busy roads. The cabins are very close together, and parking is at a premium. Only one parking spot is designated for each two bedroom cabin of six people.

This also means that most cabins have a view either of other cabins or the central pool area, or, less appealingly, of the trailer park on one side, or the dump site on the other side. So yes, the proximity to the National Park is excellent, but don't expect to sit on your balcony and view the snow-capped Rocky Mountains. Of the seven cabins we had, only one had a view of Rocky Mountain National Park, from just the right spot in the cabin.

Secondly, the office staff is very pleasant, and they were very nice to us. However, it was made clear to me that they aren't really set up to handle a group as large as ours, and indeed, many details were far more difficult than they needed to be. Getting them to take our initial deposit once they had our credit card numbers, for example, was a six month process. Furthermore, there were mixed messages on almost everything we organized through the office ("Yes, you've already reserved the Clubhouse!" and then 24 hours later - "No, I have no reservation listed for the Clubhouse on that day! Would you like to reserve it?"), from simple to complex.

Also, despite making reservations a year and a half in advance, our seven cabins were spread out across the whole campsite, which, although not large, was a little strange. We had requested to be as close as possible.

All in all, it was a good stay. The pool, although perhaps too small for the number of cabins onsite, was a fun place to gather. The ice cream social and waffle breakfast were nice, casual events. We were able to reserve the Clubhouse for our large gatherings two nights, and the kids loved renting bikes during the week.

We would probably stay here again, but with a group this large, I would at least explore a few more options that would include a view of the mountains, and a more professional rental process for the cost.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InEstesPark, General Manager at Rams Horn Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear KHarsha,

Thank you for sharing your observations. It is always useful and helpful to know how different types of guests and groups view our resort and services as it helps us to better evaluate and improve them. While we are very glad to know that you enjoyed most parts of your reunion stay, I am disappointed that we did not better meet your expectations. I do think that you pin-pointed the major reason for the mismatch in expectation and it is that we do not normally take groups over four cabins due to the relatively small and intimate nature of our Resort. This protects the experience for all Owners and guests overall. For example, we rarely hear that our pool is undersized because most smaller family groups come and go from this and other common areas as opposed to a larger group gathering in them all at one time for extended periods. Larger groups in an area would often make our spaces seem smaller than they would for smaller family groups. We are a fractional ownership Owners' Association that provides resort services to our Owner Families and to their Rental Guests for those owners choosing to rent their weeks. We do take requests from Rental Guests however the homes available for rentals are generally limited to those homes that Owners put up for rent. In the case of your group, the homes selected for you were the closest we could get together from those placed for rental for that week. We do have many homes with primary (most have some view) views towards the Continental Divide, Longs Peak and RMNP but these homes were occupied by Owners during the week your group was here. Our long time former Front Desk Manager who retired in May after nearly a decade with us asked for an exception to our normal group policy for your reunion. I did make this exception because we had the rental homes available and this was during the early part of the season for us, but as you say, larger group coordination is not the normal experience here. I remember meeting and working with your group after your arrival and our new Front Desk Manager did attempt to work with you in advance and help coordinate your complimentary use of our Clubhouse, but apparently there was still some mis-communication. We apologize for our part in that. I won't comment on some of the characterizations of the views or observations regarding our location or adjacent properties because I think that is more a matter of personal preference and personal focus. I will let the reader of your review and this response compare that focus with the vast majority of the reviews of Rams Horn Village Resort found here. Very, very few contain similar observations and most are quite the opposite but we are always disappointed when any guest does not find their vacation with us exceptional. It was a pleasure having you and your family with us. Regards, Deborah Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews