We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home base for Rocky Mt. National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Moon Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great home base for Rocky Mt. National Park”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We just returned from traveling throughout Colorado and spent three nights at the Silver Moon Inn. It is a great spot for families, with the Big Thompson River right there, lots of rocks to climb on, fire pits to make s'mores and a swing set. The pool was small, but nice to relax in after a day of hiking, as were the two hot tubs. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Beds were quite comfortable, as well. The hotel's location made it quite easy to walk to restaurants and shopping in Estes Park, yet you still felt a bit removed from the town. Our room (106) was on the ground floor, right near all the chairs and fire pits next to the river. It was a bit noisy at night -- this would be my only complaint -- but we could have booked a different room. We loved waking up to see elk in the parking lot, too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_gal4011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    184
    35
    19
    2
See reviews for
296
285
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Thank you for looking after us during our stay. We had a great time. The staff is awesome. It was like visiting family. Thank you to Kevin for his advice about the area. Thank you to Chad for looking after our room. The stream running by the inn and the nightly fire pit are charming. We were able to relax and found ourselves refreshed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themountian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had originally booked at a sister property of Silver Moon Inn which wasn’t satisfactory for us and the staff there made arrangements for us to stay at Silver Moon Inn. I just looked at pictures other travelers took and now I know we just got the worst possible room. The only table in the room is the one pictured with the only chairs in the room. When I set up my laptop there wasn’t room for anything else, not even a cup of coffee. I wanted to make coffee in the coffee maker provided, but it was a search to find some place to put it. There was one table by one of the beds, also very small. They provided a refrigerator and microwave, but there wasn’t a chest of any sort in which we could store our clothes. We used one of the beds as a bureau. The toilet seat broke and someone came to fix it, but had to go to another property to get what he needed to complete repairs. On the plus side, the staff was very friendly. My advice here is look at the room before you check in.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before you check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arniepalmerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A sweet place to stay with amenable staff, clean rooms, decent detour, good location, live entertainment and wonderful facilities along the river. If you need to spend any degree of waking time at this hotel then that time is better spent out of the room. If the weather is good then one is spoiled for choice just outside your room - pool, hot tub, bbq, picnic tables, fire pits, listening to music or just river watching. If you are confined to your room, it is a pity that there is little privacy unless you totally pull down the blinds and have no view outside. Passersby in the corridor can look in on you in your bed unless the blinds are totally down and these windows are the only natural light that there is.

Room Tip: Just adjust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9690304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our trip is only halfway over and I already have so many good things to say about this Inn. The staff are EXCELLENT, truly first rate. Even though everyone seems 25 or under, the attentiveness and customer service is bar none. Whether its the diverse complimentary breakfast bar, the free firewood and samores fixings for the fire pits by the river, or the helpful suggestions for things to do, I haven't had a better experience at anything other than the most expensive hotels or resorts.

And although this isn't a luxury hotel, the accommodations are more than adequate. The location is just about perfect, a couple blocks from downtown, next to the open air music facility in the park next door, and only a few miles from several Rocky Mountain Park entrances. The river running by, with a playground for little ones, seating and swings for families and friends, free gas grills, and pool all combine to make this Inn a standout. No question that if we vacationed in Estes again, we'd stay at Silver Moon Inn.

Room Tip: First floor rooms provide easier access to onsite amenities next to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AutoJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed only one night, room was so small when we opened the door it touched the bed. Room had been updated, but small is small ! Bathroom is tiny!! Understand July is the busiest time of year, but room was not worth the 170 bucks to sleep in... essence a closet! !
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 72Cricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motel2, Owner at Silver Moon Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We truly value all input. The room that you choose is our smallest, most economical room. We have 45 rooms, and have only 3 rooms this size to accommodate guests on budget. Our other 43 rooms are much larger in size. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Even though this hotel is right off the main drag, it still has a somewhat secluded feel. The Bog Thompson flows through the property, and there are Adirondack chairs and fire pits along the shore. The continental breakfast has a nice social feel about it. I've stayed there twice and can't wait to come back. The inn is family owned and the staff is super friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himself3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
565 reviews
1.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.8 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Moon Inn

Property: Silver Moon Inn
Address: 175 Spruce Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9044
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#8 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park’s legendary hotel lodging in downtown Estes Park, just outside Rocky Mountain National Park. Silver Moon® Inn has all you want in Estes Park accommodations: cozy rooms and suites, a river front location, walk to shopping and dining, friendly staff and quality service. Silver Moon® Inn and your unforgettable Colorado Rocky Mountain Vacation Experience await your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Silver Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Moon Hotel Estes Park
Silver Moon Motel
Silver Moon Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing