We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Affordable”
Review of Silver Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Moon Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Affordable”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We are frequent visitors to Estes Park and have stayed in quite a few of the lodging options in Estes. I chose this Inn for the affordability and the amenities I wanted during our stay.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay.
We were on the second floor but could still hear quite easily footsteps on the outside walkway and knew when our neighbors were showering. The wind, common to Estes, was howling pretty good, as the rooms are not quite airtight we could hear the wind quite well.
Our room had a fireplace and the first bundle of wood was complimentary, however the only fire starter was some newspaper (no kindling). I would suggest providing fire starters that are used when starting a campfire (the condensed wood chip sticks with a fire accelerant). We did end up getting it started after several attempts and only after burning part of a cardboard box we used to bring food with us.
Coffeemakers are also included in the room but it seemed no matter how hard we tried the coffee would spill when pouring the contents out of the carafe over the microwave.
The room was clean, king bed was comfortable, had great water pressure in the updated shower and also a nice flat screen TV.
We came up over NYE, and had a great time snowshoeing on New Years Day in RMNP. We came back and used the hot tub, the water temperature was perfect and was an excellent way to relax!
Overall a pleasant stay and the staff was also very accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    194
    37
    21
    3
See reviews for
327
309
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Perfect location and amazing views! We were visiting with our two grown sons and they up-graded us to a two-room suite with a balcony when we checked in. They have been working hard to recover from the recent floods. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Estes Park!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great clean modern hotel in Estes Park just outside of Rocky Mountain national Park. Estes Park has recently had major flooding in the main road going to the hotel is not open but you can easily find a hotel using a side road. Rooms are modern with TVs refrigerators flatscreen TVs and the really nice bathroom. The only concerns I had were with noise in the room and light coming in from the outside. The light from the outside walkways comes through the windows at night. The heating system also makes noise throughout the night and you can often hear people walking above your head. But it really is a nice property and you should go visit soon. Estes Park in Rocky Mountain national Park are very open and you should go visit now!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitolMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Despite the rushing waters that almost wiped out this town, this hotel survived very nicely and provided nice shelter. It is an older hotel but very clean and comfortable. It is a getting close to nature experience with huge boulders outside the bathroom window and bears visiting the trash can outside at night. The hotel is very convenient to downtown Estes Park and to the entrance to Rocky Mt. National Park. We did not eat their breakfast due to lack of time.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river. If you like more security from animals you might want the second or third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a few bruises from the flooding, but it is a homey comfortable place to stay. The location is perfect. You can walk to every shop in town and explore the Riverwalk area. Rocky Mountain National Park is only a few miles up the road... ( the only time I used my car my entire stay. Proximity to the park shows itself with the sights and sounds of wildlife near the hotel. Mule deer and elk right in the parking lot on a regular basis . The breakfast is your typical continental, but gets the job done. The office staff is very helpful and you can feel free to stop in for anything you need. I will absolutely recommend the Silver Moon Inn and I will be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the Silver Moon Inn the first week of November 2013. Due to the season, we were able to get off-season rates which seemed quite reasonable considering the quality of the Silver Moon, as well as compared to the other Estes Park hotels. The Inn is in a very convenient location to the national park as well as Estes Park food and shops. The rooms were quite cozy and we specifically requested a room on the second floor due to suggestions from other reviews that first floor rooms can be noisy. The room had a nice view of the stream that runs through town, though some flood damage still exists. We slept quite comfortably and the staff was friendly and helpful. No complaints about WiFi and the continental breakfast was standard. The only significant improvement we would have liked would have been better room privacy. All room windows (including the large door windows) face the exterior walkway and are covered by blinds that just cover the dimensions of the window. It is definitely possible to see into other rooms even with these blinds drawn. However, in all, we really liked the Silver Moon Inn and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We followed the suggestion to stay in a room above the first floor to avoid noise. We had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Sol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Fabulous staff, courteous, helpful and pleasant. Very nice rooms. Beautiful sitting areas along a passing river. Walking distance from downtown Estes and easy access to RMNP. We've stayed here before and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,444 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,038 reviews
1.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Moon Inn

Property: Silver Moon Inn
Address: 175 Spruce Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9044
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#8 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park’s legendary hotel lodging in downtown Estes Park, just outside Rocky Mountain National Park. Silver Moon® Inn has all you want in Estes Park accommodations: cozy rooms and suites, a river front location, walk to shopping and dining, friendly staff and quality service. Silver Moon® Inn and your unforgettable Colorado Rocky Mountain Vacation Experience await your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Silver Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Moon Hotel Estes Park
Silver Moon Motel
Silver Moon Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing