We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Silver Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Moon Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Silver Moon Inn is in a great location in downtown Estes Park. The room we stayed in was a decent size, even with two queen beds in it. Everything was updated and in working order. When we first walked into the room, it looked a lot like a motel room and the foot of the bed was really close to the door, but once we settled in we found the room to be quiet, clean, and comfortable. The river wasn't quite what I expected from the description but there were plenty of places to sit alongside it and enjoy the mountain air. The free breakfast provided a decent selection of food and drinks and kept us going through a morning of hiking in the National Park. The staff we met were very welcoming and very helpful. All in all I found the Silver Moon Inn to be great place to stay and good value for the money. I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Estes Park.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veFreshAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    194
    37
    21
    3
See reviews for
327
309
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Maybe it's not the very best value, but the location and the friendliness of the staff absolutely make up for it. It's an easy walk to the main street for shopping and eating. We had a little problem with the room that couldn't be fixed until the following day, which necessitated our moving to another room for the first night, and upon checking out, I found that our rate had been adjusted to make up for the inconvenience. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbinBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

We stayed one night and we were very disappointed! We expected a three diamond and did not get it. You can see that they have upgraded the bathroom only and added a flat screen tv & refrigerator. The bathroom had no towel bars or shelving. The closet was just a medal bar with wires coming out of it. The beds were not comfortable and the room was drab. The breakfast was real basic and the front desk person did not care about our concerns. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!
We could have stayed anywhere, it would have made no difference.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

My first adventure in 5 years and I chose this place in Estes Park after many reviews on this site. We couldn't have been more pleased. At the edge of town, perfect location, walking distance to main street and the best Grill in town right next door...that would be Wapiti Grill. Staff at the Inn here was awesome, very helpful and down to earth, maid service the best. Room was always cleaned well, free complimentary water..
As much as I loved this little town it is most defintely a "touristy" place. Only grocery store is expensive and like the local Starbucks staff they are customer service freindly but nothing more as they know you're not a "local". Ranger Bob at one of the entrances to RMNP was deintely rude.
My recommendations are defintely to stay here, eat at Wapiti Grill, The Wild Rose and the local Pizza place down the hill fm Safeway.
Enjoy
S & S

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SjoOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

My mother and I spent two nights at the Silver Moon Inn during an autumn trip to Estes Park.

We booked over the phone the day before our arrival, and were told that we'd have to climb some stairs to access our room and asked if this was a problem... It wasn't a problem for us, but it was nice of them to ask. Perhaps they get a lot of customers unaccustomed to the elevation...

We were in the older section of the hotel - I didn't even realize there was a newer section until reading these reviews after-the-fact. We were given #208 on the second floor, a room which partially overlooked the parking lot, an area with picnic tables, BBQs and swings, and a section of the Fall River; the sound of which lulled us to sleep when we left the window open at night.

Our room was spacious and comfortable, with two queen beds, a wardrobe, a table with two chairs, and sink/vanity outside the bathroom. The bathroom was quite large with a tile floor and shower over the tub. The room was a bit dated, but cozy, nicely furnished and full of character.

Our room also had a smallish TV, a microwave and a small fridge.

Breakfast was included in the AARP rate of $87.50, and consisted of coffee, tea, juice, and various carbs...donuts, muffins, cereal bars, etc.

We found the inn perfectly located for walking to town and exploring Rocky Mtn National Park. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

An added bonus was the elk we found grazing on the Aspen right outside the door of reception on our first morning.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Silver Moon Inn and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This hotel has kitchenettes, it sits along a creek with fire pits and barbecues, and has a pool and hot tub. After a day of hiking it's pure pleasure. The staff is friendly and the location is within walking distance to downtown Estes. I've stayed here two different times and it keeps on getting better!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booked4lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

With all I read about this place, we expected a little more. Our room was dark and smelled, had to keep the window opened. I guess the newer part is better. It's a great location but it was very cold when we were there, we weren't prepared, only had
spring clothes, so we couldn't walk to the stores. I think it was a little expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tojo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,039 reviews
1.8 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Moon Inn

Property: Silver Moon Inn
Address: 175 Spruce Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-9044
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#8 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park’s legendary hotel lodging in downtown Estes Park, just outside Rocky Mountain National Park. Silver Moon® Inn has all you want in Estes Park accommodations: cozy rooms and suites, a river front location, walk to shopping and dining, friendly staff and quality service. Silver Moon® Inn and your unforgettable Colorado Rocky Mountain Vacation Experience await your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Silver Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Moon Hotel Estes Park
Silver Moon Motel
Silver Moon Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing