We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed here for three nights in August 2012 - Room 201. In my opinion, you can't find a better value in Estes Park. The cozy lodge backs up to the Big Thompson River, and appears to be the last lodge on Highway 66. It's about a five minute drive to the crowded downtown Estes park, and close to the park entrance. The owners were very friendly, the lodge was quiet, and the room was clean. It's right behind the Dunraven Inn, which we didn't visit, but it seems to have good reviews! We'll be back here for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    25
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
148
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in unit 9. The area is very busy this time of year and all the cabin type accommodations seem in heavy demand.

The Big Thompson River runs through (or by) this property. It is a great feature for this property as noted by all who review this establishment. A nice Italian restaurant is very close... across the parking lot. And, of course, you are very close to Rocky Mountain National Park.

Gary the proprietor, is a charming and very nice person.

So why only a 3 rating? The futon I our cabin was the only real place to sit other than the kitchen chairs. It was nearly impossible to sit in as it appears to be broken... or something.

I have dust and related allergies and I could not cope with the room. If you don't have dust allergies then maybe this won't concern you.

Unit 9 needs help. Based upon what I've read in other reviews I trust that this unit may be different from the rest... or at least some of the others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidphoto574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
David,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the "broken" futon. We did find a bolt missing and have made the necessary repair. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms and so are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

great location, close to town and 300 yards from r.m.n.p., Gary and wife who are the owners are great for directing you to the bests eating places and things to do. after you talk to gary for 5 minutes it is like talking to an old friend. when we come back we will be ataying here!

Room Tip: cabins facing the Big Thompson having great view of the river and sounds too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob35895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radcliffe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Great place! Peaceful! The cabin was completely stocked with everything you'd ever need!!Very clean, quiet and right next to the river.Like the updated cabins best. Estes Park is an awesome place to vacation with family,especially Rocky Mountain National park. Great hosts! Will go back again!

Room Tip: cabin number 5 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

In over twenty years of my wife and I visiting Estes, Swiftcurrent is the only place we have stayed more than once.

Nice location and owners that take pride in their lodge.

Simply stated we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our second visit in two years was as great as ever! Hiking into Rocky Mountain National Park every morning can't be beat any where! With all of the things to do in Estes and in the park, you find yourself just wanting to sit by the river. The only bad part is when we have to leave. Will return to Swift Current on a regular basis!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Peaceful, loved being near the river. Very friendly owners, appreciated the informational book. Pillows could have been better but overall fantastic trip. I'll be back for sure. Kitchen was stocked and the lodge was very clean. Easy hike to park to catch shuttle to bear lake

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klschutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#33 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Spruce
River Spruce
#4 of 77 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Property: Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing