We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Swiftcurrent Lodge. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms. It was basically like a hotel room with a good-size fridge, microwave, and bathroom. It was very clean and I loved how it was decorated! We also had a balcony. Unfortunately, our balcony faced the Dunraven Inn Restaurant instead of the river. Next time I'd like to have the room facing the river. The other bad thing was that it is right off of a busy road. We kept our deck door closed because of the noise. I feel like the rooms on the river side might have been quieter because of the water noise. It did quiet down at night, fortunately. Other than that, I loved the place. The location was beautiful. There was also a hot tub next to the river. I'd love to come back (and stay in the room facing the river). A room on the river at $94/night in Estes Park is about the best bang for your buck. The owners were nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    26
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
44
160
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I made a last minute plan to spend a night in some place. Choose estes park and called dozens of lodges but all were full. Luckily got one night stay available at swiftcurrent. Place is beautiful with big thompson running next to your cabin. I wish I could have stayed longer. There are few trails nearby which you should try.
I would suggest to book ground level cabins so you are closer to the river front.

Room Tip: choose ground floor rooms facing the river,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabirjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
47708
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I argued with Gary the owner over this 30 day ridiculous policy for cancellation, they were
far from polite. Owners were only in office about one hour, the housekeeper showed me
to the room. I needed info on resturants but no to ask, so I went to visitor center.
I stayed one night in July. Definitely not worth $95/night. Room was simple but clean.
It was in a quad 8 room building 2 story so at least 4 rooms shared a wall, was not
quiet at all. I went to bed early because of sickness in Denver had to get back early.
Fridge was nice a large, heat worked nice, bath was small but clean, bed was hard
as a rock, my body sweat where touched bed, so Im guessing it had some type of
plastic cover. No view at all, except restaurant next door. Located way out in country
about 3 or 4 miles from town. Had rained that morning, parking lot was very muddy
and huge water hole in drive way; that's hard on brakes.
TV was very small, maybe 19-24 inch, I couldn't read anything from bed.
I would NOT choose this again due to cancellation policy and above comments.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cody91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here three days in early July. Cabin was divided into 3 different apartments. Ours faced the rushing stream; the Big Thompson. Cabins set under huge pine trees with chairs and benches throughout over looking stream. Small crowded rooms with queen bed and very small bath room adjacent. We got by because we were out visiting most of the time.

Trout fishing was limited on property side; however YMCA property on other side was easily accessible and adjacent property was posted. You could walk into Rocky Mtn Natl Park thru that property which was acceptable as we did for a hike and some fishing.

Estes Park was only 4 miles down the road for anything needed.

Room Tip: Big is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Coni, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We appreciate hearing from our guests. With Rocky Mountain National Park only 300 yards upstream, the fishing is unlimited. We are sorry that your unit was not up to your standards. Your unit does have a very "compact" bathroom as is stated on our rooms & rates page of our website. We do offer larger units for a higher price. Hopefully, you will stay with us again and can try one of the larger units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webb City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the Swifcurrent Lodge for the first time - 3 nights. I had read about it for a few years and finally made a reservation. The reviews are right, and that is why I am adding to the list. The owners are so kind and hospitable. This place has been their life for 17 years, so they care about it and keeping things in good shape. They know the gem they have in the location. Morning coffee on the river - can't beat it. At night the sound of the river - fabulous. The prices are very reasonable. If you want urban style and fancy smancy, go somewhere else. If you want clean, nice, cozy, comfortable, true Colorado mountain environment, stay here. The owners are very, very kind and are available if you need them, but leave you to your privacy as well. We like the distance from town - close but not too close. Yes, yes, yes to the Swiftcurrent Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to the river, but the extra $10 to overlook the river is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drinkmorejava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Coni, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay here with us. Thank you for the opportunity. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed at the Swift Current Lodge for a week for three Summers. Cabin #1-cozy cabin with a small patio with grill and table right on the Big Thompson River. Cabin has a small but fully equipped kitchenette complete with two wine glasses! We especially appreciated the personal note on our arrival this year wishing us a happy anniversary! We had friends in the next cabin so we shared meals on the patio together. Nice to be away from the hustle of town. No TV but do have WI-FI if we need a techie fix! Website gives pictures and floor plan for various cabins and lodging. And Coni gave us some "cat" time with Nemo, their house cat!

Room Tip: Check their website for pictures and floor plan. Cabin 1 is near the road but we did not notice ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsystrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I stayed there for our Honeymoon. It was the perfect get away. About 2.5 miles from town and right on the river. Our favorite part was the ability to have coffee on the river every morning and being able to see the wildlife. However the rooms seemed dated, that did not bother us because it was so comfortable, and Gary and his wife Conni were so pleasant. The room was very clean and had all the things we needed. After hiking all day it was great to know that we had a hot tub to come back too, We are excited to get to go back here again. Also could not beat the price for a weeks stay in Estes Park. Thank You Swiftcurrent for such a great experience,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibsonjonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
992 reviews
2.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Property: Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing