We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

So this is a cute family run place that has cabins and motel like rooms with rustic western decor. Located along big Thompson river. Some rooms face the river and some face the parking lot for the Dunraven Inn restaurant. No breakfast included. Your first nights coffee is free and additional coffee is 75cents so that is inconvenient. No housekeeping, but if you need fresh towels they can get you some. Wifi was patchy and we were in room 201 next to the office. Hot tub available but only open until 7pm. Parking is tight in their lot. Walls are VERY thin. Both nights we were there we could hear the people next to us and we quite rudely awakened with loud singing, laughing, blaring TV our second night and no one is available in the office to ask the other guests to be respectful of how early it was and turning the TV down. So that didn't make us happy. This is during winter with only a few guests so I am sure it is really loud in summer with a higher volume of people. The room was moderate sized. The room was roasting hot even with the heat turned down as far as it would go, we had to open the balcony door and leave open the entire time we were in the room because it was so hot. Plus it smelled a little lime cigarette smoke the first night. No AC so be prepared if you stay during the summer. Overall the owners very very nice but we wouldn't stay here again. The noise factor and temperature factor for the room made our stay unpleasant.

Room Tip: Definitely get a top floor, walls are thin and I am sure you will hear people above you.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Jackie-

We want to thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry that one of our guests was so noisy. We actually had another guest ring our doorbell one evening while you were here and complained about the noise. We approached the noisy guest and believe they quieted down. We were hoping that they didn't bother any other guests, but apparently they did. We believe you are here to enjoy the sounds of Mother Nature and not your neighbors. We do enforce quiet time when we are notified of anyone intruding on your peace & quiet. We are available 24 hours a day although we do close the office at night. The WFi has been working fine, not sure why you were having trouble? We have checked the heat in your room and it has been corrected. Our hot tub hours are only until 7pm during the Winter, but on the first day of Spring the hours change until 9pm. We do not allow any smoking in any of our units, so once again we apologize if someone did smoke in your room. We hope you will give us another visit as we are sure your experience will be more to your expectations.

Sincerely-
Gary & Coni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Swiftcurrent Lodge is the perfect little getaway. Gary and Coni are wonderful people. My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and they made us feel very welcome. The views from the cabin area and the mountains are just breath taking. Rocky Mountain Forest hiking trails are just walking distance from your door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Coni, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Lori & TJ-
We are truly honored you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon. Although your visit included being here during the flood, we hope you had a special time. As you know, we did fair quite well despite the damage that occurred further downstream. We are working on the few repairs we have and are already open for business. We feel blessed and very grateful to have you as a guest and to have made it thru the flood with the small amount of damage we sustained. We plan on heading downstream to lend a hand to those less fortunate than us as soon as possible.
We hope to see you again-soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Swiftcurrent Lodge is just adorable. The location is perfect, right on the Big Thompson River, with shady trees, places to sit and read a book, go for a hike and come back for a hot tub. Their rooms are simply stated lodge rooms, yet they have just what you need for your Estes Park getaway.

Rooms include a microwave, mini fridge, tv and balcony with the sound of the river lulling you to sleep. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly, it's a calm, easy breezy vacation from the moment you pull in. The hiking trails lead from the lodge to some of the most beautiful views of the area. And, you might just see a bear or two hanging around. (as mentioned in the journal in room #201)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReflectionsByErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We feel at home at Swiftcurrent Lodge. Coni and Gary take very good care of us every time. We return annually and each year gets better and better. We feel blessed to be able to hear the roaring river, view wildlife from our balcony, hot tub under the night sky, and enjoy our stay so close to RMNP.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

First of all the owners are one of the most hospitable, nice people we have ever stayed with. They know so much about the area and are so friendly. The town of Estes Park is so busy in the summer time the Swiftcurrent Lodge is the perfect location. We had Cottage #10 and I would highly recommend it to any couple. It was so nice to arrive at the lodge and the owners had left the door open with the screen door close and our cottage smelled of the beautiful mountain air!! It was very inviting. This is a perfect place to stay. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywcourtland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Swiftcurrent before but this time wanted our cottage to open up to the patio on the river. So we chose #4 instead of #12. Although we didn't have a TV, we wouldn't have had time to watch it anyway. We hiked every day, and came back to hang out on our patio. It is a great place to relax morning, noon or night. Coni and Gary are excellent hosts and our cottage was very clean. I enjoyed the hot tub on the river several times during our week stay. We also enjoyed dining at the Dunraven and grilling out.
Our only suggestion for improvement would be to replace the green bulb outside by the kitchen door and consider better drainage when it rains. We had to walk through a lot of water and mud when getting out of our car and up to the kitchen door.
But we love the location and will most likely choose Swiftcurrent again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuttiFruttiJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Swiftcurrent Lodge. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms. It was basically like a hotel room with a good-size fridge, microwave, and bathroom. It was very clean and I loved how it was decorated! We also had a balcony. Unfortunately, our balcony faced the Dunraven Inn Restaurant instead of the river. Next time I'd like to have the room facing the river. The other bad thing was that it is right off of a busy road. We kept our deck door closed because of the noise. I feel like the rooms on the river side might have been quieter because of the water noise. It did quiet down at night, fortunately. Other than that, I loved the place. The location was beautiful. There was also a hot tub next to the river. I'd love to come back (and stay in the room facing the river). A room on the river at $94/night in Estes Park is about the best bang for your buck. The owners were nice too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
615 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
105 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £54 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing