We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than we hoped for!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Gibsonton, Fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More than we hoped for!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you are looking for "five star", look elsewhere. BUT, for comfort, location, friendly innkeepers striving to make your vacation the best possible then book Swiftcurrent. We did and are so pleased with our time there. Housekeeping means just that. Makes it more comfortable really. The location can't be beat, our room was on the rushing river--what a sound to hear. Elk walked by our window and were frequent visitors just across the river. Taking a short walk, we were in the R M N P. private entrance. Beauty abounds. Gary and Coni, the owners are near, not intrusive, asking what we needed-ready to make the day just a bit better. Near Estes Park and its crowd, yet hidden away in the beauty of God's creation. Our dime was well spent and if ever we are able to go west again, Swiftcurrent will be one destination not passed up. GREAT!!!!!!!! Thanks for the pleasant stay Gary & Coni. Y'all are tops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flattoppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
George and Patty, thank you for your beautiful review. It's folks like you who make our business so enjoyable. We had a wonderful time getting to know you and were happy to share our little corner of paradise with you. We hope you get an opportunity to come this way again and we'll look forward to hosting your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    25
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
148
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
schenectady
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Swifcurrent is right next to the Big Thompson River and Rocky Mt. National Park. By next to it mean that when you walk out your door there is the river, lulling you to sleep and helping you relax as the hummingbirds fly by your head. By next to Rocky Mt. National Park, I mean it is a very short walk, 500 feet maybe and there you are, with views of mountains that will not quit. You are right next to the Morain Park area which is full of Elk. No need to drvie there just take a walk!!! You can get a room that is basic up to a full kitchen. If you dont feel like cooking go across their parking lot to a great restaruant that has dollar blills plasterd all over their walls. Swiftcurrent is a destination, not just a place. We like the kitchen so we can cook our veggies and all, but the regular rooms are great as well. My only complaint is the sound of people walking above you early in the morning or late at night, but other then that, it is a very quiet place and that is the way the owners keep it.

Room Tip: if ou like sitting right on the river, check their web page as many will have a river front patio or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisladyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our cabin was immaculate and cute! The hosts were so courteous and helpful. We would totally stay here again. We enjoyed grilling out back and sitting at picnic tables back there, sitting in the rocking swing, and finally, hot tubbing in the evening, all by the river! My husband and I have stayed at many places in Estes, and this was one of the most relaxed, friendliest and cleanest of any of them. The price was very fair, and they did not require a three-night minimum. Highly recommend Swift Current Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary45649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

So this is a cute family run place that has cabins and motel like rooms with rustic western decor. Located along big Thompson river. Some rooms face the river and some face the parking lot for the Dunraven Inn restaurant. No breakfast included. Your first nights coffee is free and additional coffee is 75cents so that is inconvenient. No housekeeping, but if you need fresh towels they can get you some. Wifi was patchy and we were in room 201 next to the office. Hot tub available but only open until 7pm. Parking is tight in their lot. Walls are VERY thin. Both nights we were there we could hear the people next to us and we quite rudely awakened with loud singing, laughing, blaring TV our second night and no one is available in the office to ask the other guests to be respectful of how early it was and turning the TV down. So that didn't make us happy. This is during winter with only a few guests so I am sure it is really loud in summer with a higher volume of people. The room was moderate sized. The room was roasting hot even with the heat turned down as far as it would go, we had to open the balcony door and leave open the entire time we were in the room because it was so hot. Plus it smelled a little lime cigarette smoke the first night. No AC so be prepared if you stay during the summer. Overall the owners very very nice but we wouldn't stay here again. The noise factor and temperature factor for the room made our stay unpleasant.

Room Tip: Definitely get a top floor, walls are thin and I am sure you will hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Jackie-

We want to thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry that one of our guests was so noisy. We actually had another guest ring our doorbell one evening while you were here and complained about the noise. We approached the noisy guest and believe they quieted down. We were hoping that they didn't bother any other guests, but apparently they did. We believe you are here to enjoy the sounds of Mother Nature and not your neighbors. We do enforce quiet time when we are notified of anyone intruding on your peace & quiet. We are available 24 hours a day although we do close the office at night. The WFi has been working fine, not sure why you were having trouble? We have checked the heat in your room and it has been corrected. Our hot tub hours are only until 7pm during the Winter, but on the first day of Spring the hours change until 9pm. We do not allow any smoking in any of our units, so once again we apologize if someone did smoke in your room. We hope you will give us another visit as we are sure your experience will be more to your expectations.

Sincerely-
Gary & Coni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Swiftcurrent Lodge is the perfect little getaway. Gary and Coni are wonderful people. My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and they made us feel very welcome. The views from the cabin area and the mountains are just breath taking. Rocky Mountain Forest hiking trails are just walking distance from your door.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Coni, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi Lori & TJ-
We are truly honored you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon. Although your visit included being here during the flood, we hope you had a special time. As you know, we did fair quite well despite the damage that occurred further downstream. We are working on the few repairs we have and are already open for business. We feel blessed and very grateful to have you as a guest and to have made it thru the flood with the small amount of damage we sustained. We plan on heading downstream to lend a hand to those less fortunate than us as soon as possible.
We hope to see you again-soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Swiftcurrent Lodge is just adorable. The location is perfect, right on the Big Thompson River, with shady trees, places to sit and read a book, go for a hike and come back for a hot tub. Their rooms are simply stated lodge rooms, yet they have just what you need for your Estes Park getaway.

Rooms include a microwave, mini fridge, tv and balcony with the sound of the river lulling you to sleep. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly, it's a calm, easy breezy vacation from the moment you pull in. The hiking trails lead from the lodge to some of the most beautiful views of the area. And, you might just see a bear or two hanging around. (as mentioned in the journal in room #201)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReflectionsByErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We feel at home at Swiftcurrent Lodge. Coni and Gary take very good care of us every time. We return annually and each year gets better and better. We feel blessed to be able to hear the roaring river, view wildlife from our balcony, hot tub under the night sky, and enjoy our stay so close to RMNP.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#32 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#12 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
2.8 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Property: Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing