We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting Swiftcurrent experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having spent eleven nights there we found it an ideal location for exploring the Rocky Mountains National Park. The accommodation suited us admirably, with the ability to cook either indoors or on the outside BBQ - which was situated by the Big Thompson River - - as was the very relaxing and very clean hot tub. Where on my first evening there I was treated to the sight of Elk grazing on the opposite bank of the river ! Furthermore my son photographed a Bob Cat on the porch at 7.30am one morning !!
A truly wonderful location that met all our expectations and more ! The owners were helpful and informative. The housekeeper kept the place spruce. Altogether nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for my holiday of a lifetime !!

Room Tip: Liked the sunny mornings of Cottage 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We're so glad to hear from you. We hope your visit to the Grand Canyon after staying with us was a memorable experience. We appreciate your kind words and hope you and Kenneth can come to visit us again. Thanks for staying with us and hope we can visit the UK some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a Great time here at Swiftcurrent Lodge, Coni and Gary were great hosts and our cottage was clean and well stocked. My Wife and I had a very relaxing vacation, and the Swiftcurrent Lodge was a huge part of it. Thanks Coni and Gary we will see you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Coni, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks for posting a review. We are happy to be part of your vacation. Hope to see you again.
Gary & Coni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I can't thank you enough for all you do to make the time here so special and so comfortable. Swiftcurrent really is a slice of heaven. And you have made it accessible while preserving the phenomenonal natural beauty of the site. I think my first visit here was in 2001. I think it's safe to say, I'm a fan for life!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 628D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

It's always a pleasure to have you visit us. We've already have you booked for next year. You're great! Gary & Coni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Swiftcurrent Lodge is an awesome place to stay when visiting Estes Park/Rocky Mountain National Park. If you enjoy privacy and beautiful location, this is the place. Right on the banks of the Big Thompson, you can hike directly into Rocky Mountain National Park from the property. The accommodations are clean, comfortable and homey. There's nothing better than listening to the river as you drift off to sleep or enjoying the river from the deck with a nice cup of coffee as the hummingbirds feast at the feeder only a few inches from your head. One evening while enjoying the hot tub we saw a large elk in the river. It was amazing! Coni and Gary are excellent hosts. We've stayed other places but have stayed here the last three years. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We always stay in Lodge #6 but I've no doubt that every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelKC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you are looking for "five star", look elsewhere. BUT, for comfort, location, friendly innkeepers striving to make your vacation the best possible then book Swiftcurrent. We did and are so pleased with our time there. Housekeeping means just that. Makes it more comfortable really. The location can't be beat, our room was on the rushing river--what a sound to hear. Elk walked by our window and were frequent visitors just across the river. Taking a short walk, we were in the R M N P. private entrance. Beauty abounds. Gary and Coni, the owners are near, not intrusive, asking what we needed-ready to make the day just a bit better. Near Estes Park and its crowd, yet hidden away in the beauty of God's creation. Our dime was well spent and if ever we are able to go west again, Swiftcurrent will be one destination not passed up. GREAT!!!!!!!! Thanks for the pleasant stay Gary & Coni. Y'all are tops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flattoppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

George and Patty, thank you for your beautiful review. It's folks like you who make our business so enjoyable. We had a wonderful time getting to know you and were happy to share our little corner of paradise with you. We hope you get an opportunity to come this way again and we'll look forward to hosting your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Swifcurrent is right next to the Big Thompson River and Rocky Mt. National Park. By next to it mean that when you walk out your door there is the river, lulling you to sleep and helping you relax as the hummingbirds fly by your head. By next to Rocky Mt. National Park, I mean it is a very short walk, 500 feet maybe and there you are, with views of mountains that will not quit. You are right next to the Morain Park area which is full of Elk. No need to drvie there just take a walk!!! You can get a room that is basic up to a full kitchen. If you dont feel like cooking go across their parking lot to a great restaruant that has dollar blills plasterd all over their walls. Swiftcurrent is a destination, not just a place. We like the kitchen so we can cook our veggies and all, but the regular rooms are great as well. My only complaint is the sound of people walking above you early in the morning or late at night, but other then that, it is a very quiet place and that is the way the owners keep it.

Room Tip: if ou like sitting right on the river, check their web page as many will have a river front patio or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisladyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our cabin was immaculate and cute! The hosts were so courteous and helpful. We would totally stay here again. We enjoyed grilling out back and sitting at picnic tables back there, sitting in the rocking swing, and finally, hot tubbing in the evening, all by the river! My husband and I have stayed at many places in Estes, and this was one of the most relaxed, friendliest and cleanest of any of them. The price was very fair, and they did not require a three-night minimum. Highly recommend Swift Current Lodge!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary45649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
513 reviews
2.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
151 reviews
4.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £55 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing