We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Webb City, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our second stay at Swiftcurrent Lodge. We love it here. The river, the view, the super clean room - everything is great. Staying several days, we had time to enjoy RMNP, town, and just relaxing in the surroundings of the Lodge. It's everything we need, enough space, and a price you can't beat. I don't know of anywhere else in Estes that has a river spot like Swiftcurrent and definitely not a direct walk into RMNP. Lots of places are on the river, but this is just different somehow. The lodge sits between two bends in the river and is cozy. We will keep this as our number one place to reserve. Thanks to the owners who make it possible to have such a great place in God's beautiful creation, take care of it, and treat guests so kindly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drinkmorejava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Always a pleasure to have you stay with us on our little piece of paradise. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    25
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
44
151
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really enjoyed our 3-night stay at Swiftcurrent Lodge. The owners keep it immaculate. After a long day of hiking in RMNP, I was able to cool my feet in the roaring stream just 20 feet from out cabin door.
The owners were very helpful with information on the National Park just 300 yards away, helped us with reservations at a local restaurant on the busy July 4 weekend and even shared their "secret" spot for seeing Estes Park's tremendous fireworks.
It is also very handy to walk across the parking lot to one of the best restaurants in town - Dunraven Inn.
I'd make my reservations well ahead, since they have a lot of repeat business. We did not reserve as early as we should so we had to use two different rooms. The first one had a king size bed while the second one, the bed was a little cramped. But we knew that upfront as the owners gave accurate descriptions of the room when making reservations. The bathrooms were small but adequate.
If we return to Estes, we would hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room # 4 was super, with a full kitchen, gas grill, king bed, and a mountain stream right out the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg and Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you Diane & Greg for your review. We loved having you stay with us! #4 is quickly becoming a preferred cottage. We're glad that our remodel after the flood is putting smiles on our customers faces! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having spent eleven nights there we found it an ideal location for exploring the Rocky Mountains National Park. The accommodation suited us admirably, with the ability to cook either indoors or on the outside BBQ - which was situated by the Big Thompson River - - as was the very relaxing and very clean hot tub. Where on my first evening there I was treated to the sight of Elk grazing on the opposite bank of the river ! Furthermore my son photographed a Bob Cat on the porch at 7.30am one morning !!
A truly wonderful location that met all our expectations and more ! The owners were helpful and informative. The housekeeper kept the place spruce. Altogether nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for my holiday of a lifetime !!

Room Tip: Liked the sunny mornings of Cottage 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We're so glad to hear from you. We hope your visit to the Grand Canyon after staying with us was a memorable experience. We appreciate your kind words and hope you and Kenneth can come to visit us again. Thanks for staying with us and hope we can visit the UK some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a Great time here at Swiftcurrent Lodge, Coni and Gary were great hosts and our cottage was clean and well stocked. My Wife and I had a very relaxing vacation, and the Swiftcurrent Lodge was a huge part of it. Thanks Coni and Gary we will see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Coni, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for posting a review. We are happy to be part of your vacation. Hope to see you again.
Gary & Coni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I can't thank you enough for all you do to make the time here so special and so comfortable. Swiftcurrent really is a slice of heaven. And you have made it accessible while preserving the phenomenonal natural beauty of the site. I think my first visit here was in 2001. I think it's safe to say, I'm a fan for life!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 628D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
It's always a pleasure to have you visit us. We've already have you booked for next year. You're great! Gary & Coni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Swiftcurrent Lodge is an awesome place to stay when visiting Estes Park/Rocky Mountain National Park. If you enjoy privacy and beautiful location, this is the place. Right on the banks of the Big Thompson, you can hike directly into Rocky Mountain National Park from the property. The accommodations are clean, comfortable and homey. There's nothing better than listening to the river as you drift off to sleep or enjoying the river from the deck with a nice cup of coffee as the hummingbirds feast at the feeder only a few inches from your head. One evening while enjoying the hot tub we saw a large elk in the river. It was amazing! Coni and Gary are excellent hosts. We've stayed other places but have stayed here the last three years. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We always stay in Lodge #6 but I've no doubt that every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelKC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonton, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you are looking for "five star", look elsewhere. BUT, for comfort, location, friendly innkeepers striving to make your vacation the best possible then book Swiftcurrent. We did and are so pleased with our time there. Housekeeping means just that. Makes it more comfortable really. The location can't be beat, our room was on the rushing river--what a sound to hear. Elk walked by our window and were frequent visitors just across the river. Taking a short walk, we were in the R M N P. private entrance. Beauty abounds. Gary and Coni, the owners are near, not intrusive, asking what we needed-ready to make the day just a bit better. Near Estes Park and its crowd, yet hidden away in the beauty of God's creation. Our dime was well spent and if ever we are able to go west again, Swiftcurrent will be one destination not passed up. GREAT!!!!!!!! Thanks for the pleasant stay Gary & Coni. Y'all are tops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flattoppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
George and Patty, thank you for your beautiful review. It's folks like you who make our business so enjoyable. We had a wonderful time getting to know you and were happy to share our little corner of paradise with you. We hope you get an opportunity to come this way again and we'll look forward to hosting your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
2.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#32 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Property: Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing