We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to relax!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place to relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

My family has vacationed at Swift Current several times in the last 22 years. Coni and Gary have added many nice touches to this perfect location. Swift Current Lodge is nestled right next to the Big Thompson River and great trails are at your doorstep. We'll definitely keep coming back for more. Thanks for making our last visit wonderful!

Connie and Louis Webb
Texas

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrw1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    25
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
148
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie TEXAS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

This was our 3rd year to stay at the Swiftcurrent Lodge and it gets better every year. The cabin was clean and comfortable, as a matter of fact, we slept better than we do at home... The hot tub is right on the river and was a welcome sight after a day of hiking. We found the trail right out of the back of the lodge and the view there was one of the best all week. We will surely return year after year. Gary and Coni are the best hosts ever!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalvenandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Swiftcurrent Lodge is an adequate place to stay if your main focus is hiking into Rocky Mountain National Park and the cabins are just a place to sleep at night. You have access to numerous trailheads right outside your door. And the Big Thompson River flows right beside the cabins, which is nice if you like "white noise" when you sleep. Its in a scenic location.

However, if cabin amenities are important to you, look elsewhere. There is no maid service, you have to exchange your towels every day at the office. There is no room service. No pool. No fitness center. No parking directly by our cabin. The cabins are VERY small, especially the bathrooms and showers. This is a "no frills" establishment.

They've chopped up the buildings to get as many cheapo 'cabins' out of them as possible. Thats one of my big pet peeves. I am 6'2", 235 lbs, and I could barely fit in the shower. Plenty of hot water though. The beds aren't very comfy, especially the futon mattress. Never got a good nights sleep. I would have worked the kinks out in the hot tub, but the hot tub was only available until 7 pm, which I didn't understand. Who wants to hot tub during the day? (By the way- lots of foam on the hot tub surface...gross!) The "campfire" is a set of fake propane 'logs'. Very disappointing to not have a real campfire smell at night. Oh, and you have to contact the manager and make an appointment for your campfire. Ridiculous. The grills are nice and clean, but they are propane also.

The managers are nice, friendly and informative though. Everything is very "compact" and cramped at this little facility, kinda like staying at scout camp. But it's clean and everything works. Its a bit off the beaten Estes path, so thats nice. You get what you pay for in Estes Park, so keep that in mind when booking lodging.

If all you want is a "base camp", this place will be fine for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campnyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary-Coni, owner/manager at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review, 5 June 2009
We take all comments seriously. We pride ourselves in our 14th season on clean, comfortable and affordable units. Our prices range from $65-165.

Our futons are suited well for children. Adults requiring two separate beds are encouraged to reserve one of our units with two beds.

Our use of the propane campfire is due to many years of fire bans in the area. General consensus of our guests deemed a propane campfire better than no fire at all. On another plus, we are not polluting the area with the smoke from a wood fire. One or two irresponsible guests sometimes create rules (manager starting fire) that responsible guests sometimes don’t understand.

Many of our guests suggested we upgrade from charcoal BBQs to propane so we did. We did however hold on to a few charcoal grills for those guests who prefer charcoal.

The hot tub is open until 9pm Memorial Day through October 15th. The hot tub is strictly cleaned regularly.

Our showers are standard 32” and 36” showers.

Many guests comment that the sound of the river is soothing.

Parking may not be right next to some units but they are less than a 30 second walk from vehicle to cottage.

Estes Park does have higher end establishments that offer more amenities for a higher price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

This was our third stay at Swiftcurrent Lodge, and when we got to the room there was a personalized Welcome Back sign waiting for us (very nice touch!), along with Valentines goodies! We enjoy looking off the balcony of the second story room, listening to the river below us and enjoying the splendid view from the room. It's like coming home after a day of site-seeing, showshoeing or hiking. We'll definitely return and are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Liked — Homey feeling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jpisciotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

Our family spent five nights at the Swiftcurrent Lodge and had a fabulous time. We stayed in Cabin #4, right on the river and it couldn't have been better. Cabin #4 has a full kitchen and it is equipped with every utensil, pot and pan that you could ever need. We 'cooked in' for breakfast every day and had dinner a couple of times as well. Gary and Conni are the most gracious hosts you could imagine. The location is far enough from the beaten path that you appreciate nature and yet close enough to town to be convenient if you want to go there. The property is literally minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park and it's possible to take hikes from there to many parts of the park without having to drive. We'll definitely return for another experience of a "piece of Heaven on Earth'. The Dunraven Inn next door is a fabulous restaurant as well.

Scott Immel Family
Keller, TX

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MadMonk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

My wife and I had a fabulous time in cottage #9. Went to bed each night with the sound of the Big Thompson river lulling us to sleep. Beds were comfortable, room was cozy, just perfect! Rarely heard/saw other guests even though there was no vacancy. It felt like we were alone on a river. Hosts were wonderful, pleasant, respected our privacy, unobtrusive, easy to work with. We'll definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Liked — Location/coziness
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia_Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed in room 203 a second floor room with small balcony over looking the river. We live in the mountain about 3 1/2 hours from the lodge but just wanted to be lulled to sleep by river noises for a couple of nights. The lodge is near a main road but the river does a fine job of drowning out any traffic noise. The room was spotless with everything you could ask for. Extra pillows, extra blanket, fan, mini frig, coffee pot, microwave and even a rubber ducky! Very quiet and private and right ON the river. Gary ( the owner ) was genuinely friendly and helpful. The welcome book is full of information with a creative touch. We felt like we were in our own little tree house with a trail leading into the RMNP right from your door. One of the best weekend getaways we've had in a long time. Thanks SCL.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullmoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.7 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#11 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
2.8 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Property: Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing