We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and relaxing stay in Estes Park”
Review of Appenzell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appenzell Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxing stay in Estes Park”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Loved the Appenzell! Homey atmosphere, clean and comfortable. I loved the look of the lodge and it's unique alpine style. Innkeepers were very friendly and made us feel welcome. I would recommend a room that is not near the road.Our room had a kitchenette with anything we could need! I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiebella7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We enjoyed having you stay with us! We love the unique, homey style of the Appenzell Inn. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    78
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
97
146
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is at great location. The visitor center and also the downtown Estes park is very near.Also the room is excellent with all the facilities and the jacuzzi works great..Staff is friendly too..Overall a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddhi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! We truly appreciate positive feedback. The location of the Appenzell is great, as well as our staff! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Appenzell. Our room was very clean and well appointed with comfortable furniture and arrangement. We met quite a bit of the staff and all were helpful and friendly. The location is convenient to all the area has to offer. It is easy to see that the owners and management take great pride in offering service, comfort and value. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are very happy to hear that you see how much pride we take in our customer service, comfort and value! Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our property and staff. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Appenzell Inn was delightful. I was looking for a room with a view and a little luxury; its location on the hill leading into town looks straight across to the Rockies. My room was spacious, immaculate, modern and quiet with a gas fireplace, in-room Jacuzzi, small kitchen and free wifi. Common balcony with view of the mountains was breathtaking. The cozy restaurant has great food at lower prices than in town. Ask the friendly staff about no-fee hiking options. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains. Top floor is best, first floor view includes a few trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyBloomDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a kind review! We enjoyed having you at the Appenzell Inn! The rooms, view and our staff are all outstanding. We can't wait to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

When we first arrived, there was a wee bit of a snafu. There was a problem with the plumbing, and half of the hotel didn't have hot water. As luck would have it, the half that had the roll-in showers was the affected half. The staff was extremely accommodating, and went to work straight away trying to find another hotel in the area that would have a room that would accommodate us, with them splitting the difference in cost. Nothing with a roll-in shower in the area was available last-minute, but it turned out that they had a shower chair with a transfer bench that worked well with their accessible tub. So they ended up putting us into a nicer room (with a full kitchen and fireplace) and taking 50% off of what they were originally going to charge us. Very classy! When I had made the reservation, about two weeks beforehand, I had had a long conversation with Mary-Elizabeth in regards to ensuring that the room I was booking was fully accessible. While talking about this, we got on the subject of how my boyfriend was injured while serving as a US Marine in Iraq about 11 years ago. She was so sweet, and made sure to tell me to tell him to thank him for his service, and she put a note down in our file to give us a military discount. After my boyfriend and I were settled into our room at the Appenzell, we had a knock on our door. Mary-Elizabeth had bought us a bottle of bubbly as a thank you to Paul for his service and sacrifice. We were surprised and so grateful! She truly went above and beyond. I highly recommend this place! Great people, spacious and clean rooms, and a fantastic location!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParaLaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Decided to take a last minute trip to Rocky Mountain National Park and to be honest, this was the only reasonably priced place that could accommodate a party of 6 - 3 adults and 3 small children. We reserved the Chalet room (room 33), which had 2 bedrooms, a kitchenette, a spacious seating area with a futon, and a nice sized bathroom with shower and jetted tub. This was the perfect size for us, and the hotel had a pack and play for our toddler to sleep in. It was nice to have covered parking as it snowed the weekend we were in Estes Park. The hotel is easy to find and is a couple minutes away from downtown. We had a great view from our window. The only things keeping this from being a 5 star rating were the light continental breakfast, which was mostly packaged pastries, spotty wireless internet, and a cabinet door which kept on coming unhinged (and was dangerous for our toddler who kept on opening that door). For what we got though, the price was excellent, and we would likely stay here again if we came back to Estes Park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soonerfaninbhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I lived in Estes for quite a while and then moved down the Big Thompson canyon for 13 years, so Estes has always been our place to go, never stayed at Appenzell before so we were excited to be back in Estes since we were evacuated last September during the flooding.
The room was nice and seemed recently remodeled and we liked our first imp

Our stay was beginning well and we talked about coming back to Appenzell and then the noise started. We at first thought that it was construction above us with moving furniture and banging, then we thought maybe kids were partying. We called the off sight manager who told us that she would stop by and ask them to be quieter, never heard her stop by though. The noise stopped around 2:00am and we went to sleep.

We talked to the office staff the next morning and even though they knew we were checking out that morning they offered us 20% off of the night we were leaving or would help us more if we came back when it was off-season (next winter) no thanks.

The guys above us were construction crews for the road work that were staying long term so it was evident that they wanted to keep those guys happy first since it was a constant check as compared to a "tourist" staying just one night.

Sorry but lack of sleep and poor management skills on the part of Appenzell will keep us away.

This review may sound harsh but I work hard for my money and time and expect to enjoy my time off with family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Appenzell Inn. Under normal conditions, we do not typically house long-term guests. However, due to the flood that occurred in September, we did make a temporary exception so that they could work on rebuilding our community before Summer.
Once we received your call that evening, the night managers stopped by their room to personally confront the issue. They additionally continued to monitored the room until 2am and did not hear any noises. After you called the hotel, our managers explained our quiet policy to both you and the other guests. We provided the other guests with a final warning and told you to call should you have any further complaints. We apologize that they did not contact you after you had called. However, it took them 20-30 minutes to investigate the situation, and to talk to the other guests. At this point, it was after 10pm and we did not want to disturb your sleep. However our managers are available 24 hours a day and live on-site.
Due to your valued input, we have helped the long term guests find other accommodations in Estes Park. We did offer you a 20% off your stay, or a discount for a future stay. The 20% discount was applied to your folio at the time of check out and notification of the noise issues. We truly value your input, and did take immediate action. We look forward to your next stay at the Appenzell Inn! Please feel free to email me directly for your future reservations, or for any further suggestions at susiehoch@msn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.7 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
2.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appenzell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appenzell Inn

Property: Appenzell Inn
Address: 1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517-8924
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Appenzell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Appenzell Inn, is a Rocky Mountain hotel, with a special Alpine flair, expressing the best of our Swiss heritage here in Estes Park, Colorado. We are well known as an ideal year round property, with tastefully designed rooms and suites for couples and families. We also have an indoor pool, 2 ponds and a seasonal restaurant/pub on site. The Appenzell Inn offers much more than you would expect from a small hotel property, at a very competitive rate. We are also ideally located close to all the action of downtown Estes Park, Colorado while surrounded by the grandeur of your Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Appenzell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appenzell Hotel Estes Park
Appenzell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing