We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlands on Fall River
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I almost didn't share this review because I plan to go back and I don't want competition for reservations! First off, the river on this property is as beautiful as anything you'll see in the park. We spent most of our time just sitting on the banks reading in the heavenly adirondack chairs. During that time we saw countless people stop each day to get brochures, or take pictures.
We saw many creatures on the property. Marmots, four elk, a bunny, a fox running down the road, spectacular birds, and some very cheeky chipmunks. The river sounds drown out the road noise when you sit on the banks. We felt transported while sitting there.

The condo has everything you could need. Just bring lotion, a shower cap and some ziplock baggies and you are set! We stayed in the two-bedroom on the ground floor. True, you can hear the people above. But the bottom condo is cooler, has better access to the river, and has a mostly covered patio, which is nice since it rains a little each day.
Despite being in the forest, I only saw two bugs the whole week we were there. This is a very clean property.

Megan, Jesse and Ron in the office will take care of your every need. All you need to do is ask.

Some cons...there is road noise if you are sensitive to that and like to sleep with the windows open. No a/c, but we truly didn't miss it. It's twenty degrees cooler up in the mountains. Not a lot of parking spaces near the ground floor... But the office will work with you and put up a sign to reserve one of those three spaces for your unit, if you have trouble getting around. The appliances are a bit dated, but work well.

On a side note... There is a house on the property with three bedrooms, two baths and its own little patch of river if you want more room and quiet.

The entrance to the property is a little hard to see. Just look for the Ponderosa sign on the left. The Woodlands is just around the bend on the left from there.
Safeway is very busy in the evenings. Try to do your shopping during the day.

Make sure you eat at Dunraven Inn on Co Rd 66. The steak and lobster were delish. The panna cotta is homemade! And try the bread and Brie at Twin Owls restaurant. (The Brie is sweet and would be best as a dessert) Go early to both!... 5pm if you don't make a reservation. The town shuts down around 8pm.

Use '34 bus.' to bypass downtown and come up from the other side. Better parking and you don't have to sit and wait in all the traffic at the stop lights in the tiny downtown. Plus that is where we saw two more elk.

What could be more decadent than sitting outdoors with a jacket on, in the middle of summer? I am truly in mourning, wishing I was sitting by the river again...having a chipmunk ask for a snack. It is a magical experience!

Room Tip: Reserve the private house on the property if you want more room and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank optique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
169
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
waukegan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Look no further, this is the place to stay in Estes Park! We had the privilege to stay in a two bedroom condo, second floor, mid July, which was immaculate and furnished beautifully! The kitchen was stocked with everything you need including coffee, tea, hot chocolate, dish soap, towel paper and plenty of towels and necessities in the bathroom. The views are spectacular with the river running a few feet away from you. It was so relaxing that our family just enjoyed sitting on the balcony taking it all in. There were adirondack chairs right by the river and a walking path. We would not ask for any more! If you stay on the second floor, the parking in back is just steps away from the back door, which was very convenient. Check in was quick and everyone was very cordial, helpful, and most welcoming in wanting us to enjoy our stay. Even though there is no air condition but ceiling fans, it was not an issue at all. During the day we had the windows open, which had screens, and at night if needed, we would open the windows to the sounds of the soothing sounds of the river. In fact, it got very cool in the evenings and air condition is not an issue. The prices are very reasonable for the accommodations and this is the only place we will stay if we ever visit Estes Park in the future. You are less than 2 miles from the entrance to RMNP and less than a 1 1/2 miles from the quaint and beautiful town of Estes Park. There is a Safeway grocery store, which we found to have the largest bakery, deli, ready made sandwiches, food to go, and regular grocery items you will need. With a condo and wonderful kitchen facilities, eating in was very convenient. The condo unit was furnished with leather furniture, heavy duty dining table and chairs, large screen TV, and comfy king and queen beds in the two bedrooms. Even games, books, and puzzles were provided in the unit along with a comfy afghan on the sofa, which we did use sitting on the bacony one evening. Also, a real treat one evening while sitting on the balcony was an elk walking right outside by the river eating. That was awesome with cars stopping to take pictures. We had front row seats! We stayed mid July and wish we could have stayed longer. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay at Woodlands on Fall River. I do a lot of research when traveling, and this choice was wonderful. A gem of a stay with wonderful memories! Thanks! The Xenos Family

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelerWaukegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The pros: great location...near both RMNP and Estes park town. The unit has a tiny full kitchen(well stocked) ,sitting area with t.v.,and balcony. The bedroom has a ceiling fan (thank God).We had a 2nd floor unit which I recommend. you don't need to climb any stairs.
Cons: If you need a dark room to sleep the outdoor lights shine right in through the blinds. They need black out curtains or canisters to put over the lights to have them shine downward. I could hear road noise over the river noise, but it wasn't too bad. There is no a/c,and it was very warm at night the 3 days we were there.
I know this is petty, but in the bathroom the light and the fan are on one switch, so there is no way to just have the light on.The balcony was nice, but the chairs are uncomfortable, and I could also look right into the living area in the unit next door.
if I came back to Estes Park I would not stay anywhere on FallRiver Rd. That being said, The Woodlands looked like one of the best we saw,and trust me it is motel row!

Room Tip: 2nd floor units
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrineBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful area, quaint and comfortable amenities. Enjoyed waking up to the running river and having coffee on the deck overlooking it. Loved having a full kitchen with dishwasher. Gas grill for every unit. Fireplace with wood available (for cooler season, we received the last few logs and enjoyed having the screen door open to listen to the river while the fire roared next to us). So much to do/explore between Estes Park and RMNP. Would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Woodlands. Reception was very friendly, condo nicely cared for and well cleaned on our arrival. Comfortable furnishings and loved being able to sit on the deck (or even just open the porch door) and hear the beautiful rushing stream. The highway is just on the other side of the river, but the water sounds covered most road noise. Loved being near the RMNP entrance and quick trip into main EP town.

A few minor things ...
The cell reception and wifi is very spotty. Not too big of a deal, but we did find it challenging to check in with our kids at home. It would be a problem if you planned to keep up with work in downtimes.

It was very hot during our first few days - unusually hot for EP I think - but even with the porch door open and the bedroom fan on sleeping was a challenge until it cooled off late night.

Planned to watch a movie on last night after several active days in the park, but the DVD player lacked proper video cable. After trying for awhile with the poor picture and 1/2 audio ended up watching on a laptop. Kind of a bummer.

Would have rated Service a "5" because of their friendliness, but went with a "3" because of limited office hours and no call back on the DVD player cable issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our condo on the Fall River was a lovely comfortable place to stay. It was spacious! Nature provided a perfect spot to build! The rushing river, beautiful trees and wildlife, and proximity to the town of Estes and Rocky Mountain National Park made the condo a perfect place to stay. Having a full kitchen was most accommodating. The stove was a little old but workable. Attention to little things like the liquid soap bottle and dishwashing soap plastic container which held the soap but made accessing the contents next to impossible would be nice. Those are little things, but when soap granules spill all over the floor when picking it up, big messes occur. It was nice to have clean towels replaced when needed. The king bed slept comfortably. The deck was fabulous. We were so very pleased that we asked for a top floor condo. Bringing in our suitcases was a breeze for two older folks.

Room Tip: Condos on the upper level make bringing in luggage easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Woodlands on Fall River have the friendliest staff. Betsy is so sweet, informational and I LOVE... LOVE...LOVE the pictures for sale in the lobby. The wildlife is abundant and scenery is gorgeous. They had firewood cut for our use and even a laundry facility! The units were clean, had a great kitchen and contained all the utensils we needed. The Woodlands is Awesome!

Room Tip: Drive slowly on Fall River Road, it is easy to drive right by The Woodlands entrance. Call ahead f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands on Fall River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands on Fall River

Property: The Woodlands on Fall River
Address: 1888 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands on Fall River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a dramatic, mountain riverside setting, The Woodlands offers one and two bedroom suites overlooking the Fall River. Beautiful landscaping, trees over 300 years old and Castle Mountain views all combine to provide the perfect location for your vacation or getaway in Estes Park. Just just two miles from the Fall River entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. You have easy access to over 350 miles of hiking trails, bountiful wildlife and scenic drives unique to this great national treasure. The Woodlands is convenient to Estes Park shopping, dining and its variety of year-round activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Woodlands on Fall River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands On Fall River Hotel Estes Park
The Woodlands On Fall River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing