We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best place on Fall River for the money, exceptionally clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodlands on Fall River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Woodlands on Fall River
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place on Fall River for the money, exceptionally clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed at Woodlands for several days in a room on the river which is only 20-30 yards from your door. This is one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed, everything is provided for you. The kitchen is equipped better than ours at home, full size stove, fridge, dish washer and all the essentials for cooking. There is a TV in each room although they are older models, cable tv is provided as are movies you can check out for the DVD player. The bath has ashower tub combination, a hair dryer and shampoo and soap is provided in individual packages for your use. The bed room has a king bed and is comfortable although a little crowded, no iron or ironing board are provided this would really be handy and are standard in most places now, you have to drag one from the laundry room if you need one. They do have a laundry room that you can use and it only costs a few dollars to wash and dry your clothes. A lot of improvements have been made since our last time a few years ago, unfortunately there is a lot of clutter about the property from unfinished projects. The manager Betsy was very helpful with information on the area as she has been here for many years. The lady in the office on Betsy's days off didn't have a clue about much of anything, I think she is the owner asthere were kids in the office with her and said they live 30 miles away. Betsy and the cleaning lady came around each day and emptied the trash and gave us clean linens if we needed, they also changed our bed a few days after we were here. I highly recommend the Woodlands on the Fall River as it is most likely the cleanest place we have stayed, and is very cozy, relaxing and quiet. Hopefully some of the things unfinished and things needed will be taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seeintheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
167
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Estes Park is one of our favorite places and now we have a favorite place to stay there. It was so nice to have a large 1-bedroom suite as opposed to a standard hotel room. The bed was very comfortable and we made full use of the living room and kitchen. We will certainly plan to stay here again next time we go to Estes Park.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimtheperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

My wife and I managed to get away for a night without the kids...very rare! The Woodlands property and staff were excellent and we would absolutely stay there again. Clean, comfortable and quiet...
The wood burning fireplace was a nice touch; most places have switched to gas.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooting, London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

We stayed for 2 nights at The Woodlands and wished we had booked for longer. Each "cabin" is made up of 4 apartments, two upstairs and two downstairs, but we were never aware of any other occupants in the whole cabin.

The location is excellent, only a couple of miles from Estes Park and likewise from the RMNP entrance (at Falls River). It overlooks this pretty little river and the setting is just wonderful.

The apartments are extremely well furnished - ours had a huge double bed and the kitchen was very well kitted out (even with complementary t-bags and coffee).

There was also a very good DVD selection and a log fire which made for two very romantic evenings in!

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation and location
  • Disliked — I found the duvet too hot (my husband was fine though!)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

The Woodlands was perfect. It was quiet location and the mornings were incredible. Every morning we woke up to a Buck outside our window grazing the grass and drinking from Fall River. He was only about 20 feet from us and so calm.

The room was very clean, provided everything you need (even two extra blankets and 4 extra pillows). The kitchen was nicely stocked, fireplace worked great and your firewood is provided for you. You can rent movies at no extra cost from the office. Cable and phone are provided. Spacious balcony for viewing and nice location for entering the Rocky Mountain National Forest. Insulation was great, for the entire place was full and we never once heard our neighbors. The hot tub was great, comfortable and clean.

The only thing that I did not care for was the extra soft bed. For some this is fine, but my husband has a bad back so it was extremely uncomfortable. The quality of the bed was very nice, along with the sheets and comforter, but it wasn't what we preferred. I did not reflect this on my scoring, since this is a personal taste that can change from person to person.

Finally, the price is very reasonable and was not expecting such a nice place for the price we paid for.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Soft Bed
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon May 18-22, and it was a fantastic experience. The condo was spacious, immacculate, and thoughtfully furnished. There are lots of windows (all with blinds) which make it very light and cheerful inside. I am always cold, and was thrilled that the management had even thought to provide a throw for the couch. Instructions for lighting the fireplace were clearly written out, and there was a very well organized 'guide book' for the area, including information on dialing out, connecting to the internet, pizza places that would deliver, and local restaurant information. The kitchen was very thoroughly equipped, with paper towels, dish soap, and ice cube trays (left empty so that we'd know the ice was clean.)

The bathroom was very clean and luxuriously appointed, with a super-deep, jetted tub, and a very big, very high showerhead, which my husband appreciated (he's 6'2", and often bumps his head on other showerheads). The tub/toilet area was separate from the vanity/sink area, which was nice when getting ready in the morning. The bathroom did also have travel-size toiletries and, most thoughtfully, a nightlight. The towels were also very nice and soft, not raggedy in the least, or coarse like some of the ones you find at chain hotels.

The bed was comfortable, with sateen sheets and a microsuede duvet. There was a big dresser and a closet with hangers, which meant there was plenty of space for all our clothes.

The staff was very friendly, both over the phone booking, and when we interacted at check in and check out. Housekeeping service was thorough.

We especially liked the option to watch both DVDs and video cassettes, of which you can borrow several at a time from the office. They had a wide selection of classics and new films, as well as several children's titles.

We had a fantastic time, and will definitely be back!! I work in the hotel industry, and normally choose to stay at brands affiliated with my own because of the discounted rate. My husband and I were so glad there weren't any in Estes Park, because otherwise we would have missed out on this fabulous experience!

  • Liked — It was like being at home--only better!
  • Disliked — Loved it all!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Elwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

We recently stayed here while visiting Estes Park and were very pleased with the accommodations. The one bedroom suite was extremely roomy, yet cozy. After a long day of hiking in the Rocky Mountain National Park, it was pleasing to come back to our suite and relax in front of the fire. It was quiet--we never heard our neighbors, only the pleasant sound of the small river running in front of the lodge. The glass doors opened onto a balcony overlooking the small river and the road to RMNP. The Woodlands was only a couple of miles from the entrance of the RMNP, and occasionally we’d see an elk walking down the river toward town. Everything was very clean, the kitchen was equipped with the essentials, and firewood was delivered daily. It was close to town and easily accessible with plenty of parking. We’d definitely stay here again—thank you to TripAdvisor members for the reviews that helped us decide to choose The Woodlands on Fall River Road!

  • Liked — Quiet, cozy and clean
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joditodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#30 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands on Fall River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands on Fall River

Property: The Woodlands on Fall River
Address: 1888 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands on Fall River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a dramatic, mountain riverside setting, The Woodlands offers one and two bedroom suites overlooking the Fall River. Beautiful landscaping, trees over 300 years old and Castle Mountain views all combine to provide the perfect location for your vacation or getaway in Estes Park. Just just two miles from the Fall River entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. You have easy access to over 350 miles of hiking trails, bountiful wildlife and scenic drives unique to this great national treasure. The Woodlands is convenient to Estes Park shopping, dining and its variety of year-round activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Woodlands on Fall River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands On Fall River Hotel Estes Park
The Woodlands On Fall River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing