We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!”

Big Horn Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 131 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent food, diversified menu and great staff! I had blueberry and pecan waffles… (waffles and pancakes are a specialty). The owner is on site, with 'locals' and repeat customers. There is a clear familiarity in kindness and happiness in this family owned restaurant. Definitely a must when you visit Estes Park! It's directly west of the really amazing custom glass blowing business.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    361
    169
    49
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good for a tourist town!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

On the west end of town and out of the parking contest is the Big Horn. Their lunch was surprisingly good for a tourist town! The service was friendly and efficient and the soup/salad bar addition to the entre really rounded things out.

They advertise their Bar-B-Que as home smoked. It was and the ribs were fall off the bones tender. For my taste, the sauce should have been on the side (or deleted as one wants) rather than over what was already very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleDon41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best breakfast I've had in a long time”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I love the homey friendly atmosphere. Their breakfast was touted by many reviewers as the best in Estes Park. We had a lovely breakfast on the first morning, and there were several items I wanted to try also, so we went there for breakfast on the second, and third mornings we were there. The Pecan Waffles with blueberries were amazing. Staff is efficient and friendly, and seemed real, and not at all forced friendly that you find at many chains. The place is clean and very cozy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeatherMcLeanParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Junction, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good Breakfast”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

this restaurant was the other side to town from where we were staying but drove through town to get their breakfast every morning.

Great breakfast but can not comment on the other meals of the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_A_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I stopped into the restaurant for an early lunch after hiking in the park. I ordered the soup and salad bar. There wasn't much to the salad bar and one type of soup. My real issue was that I came back to my table after getting my food, and the bus boy had cleared everything. My coffee, water, and magazines I was reading... all gone. The waitress to brought me replacements; and my bill at the same time. I never saw her again. Not even for a coffee refill. Another couple had waited at least 25 minutes for their food. Not worth the time or money.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Horn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing