We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We chose this motel because of consistently high reviews on TripAdvisor and its low rates. Honestly, we did not expect much. The location seemed a bit suspect in that it is not that close to downtown. Some of what we found when we got there seemed to confirm our low expectations. It looked like a stereotypical 1950s motel. Indoors, the walls were covered with fake wood paneling. But The Saddle and Surrey turned out to be much more than we expected, so much more that we stayed 3 nights. The owner/operators were exceptionally concerned about our comfort and very helpful with information about where to dine. And where not to dine . . . we should have listened. The appliances in our kitchenette were virtually new. The kitchen cabinets were well furnished with everything we needed to cook and eat at "home." The whole place was clean. Even the grout in the shower/bath was scrubbed spotlessly white. The maid service (overseen by a family member) was impeccable. After we left the area, we stayed in a Hyatt Regency. In some ways, that was a step down. The towels at the Saddle and Surrey, for example, were bigger and softer than those in the Hyatt and they smelled better. We also had the option of cooking on an outdoor grill and eating on picnic tables outdoors, which we did. The only disadvantages were the traffic noise (which stopped about 10 p.m., unlike the very loud, persistent sounds of streams adjacent to some other properties) and a slightly musty smell when the room was left locked up for any period of time. Location? Excellent. Out of the hectic downtown-area traffic, but close via back roads to the national park entry and excellent dining.

Room Tip: Get a bigger room with kitchenette near the picnic tables. Leave windows open for fresh air when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djess55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

We visited Rocky Mountains Park (RMNP) on 4th of July weekend. It was hard to find a hotel that had rooms available let alone a hotel under $100 a night. Saddle & Surrey turned out to be a great pick. It is a small family-owned establishment, nothing luxury (well you do not come to Estes Park for a resort style hotel usually) yet very clean and well-maintained. There is free internet and parking, ac, refrigerator and microwave in the room, which you would not normally find in overpriced "luxury" hotel chains. The room is of decent size, the shower is a little small. There is a pastry & tea breakfast in the morning. Owners are great, very knowledgeable about the are and willing to answer any questions.

It is only a few miles away from RMNP and the road goes along scenic Mary Lake. It is a perfect location for those visiting the park. It is also only a mile away from downtown -we could watch 4th of July fireworks from hotel parking lot.

Do not expect a 5 star resort amenities from this hotel but for the price it is a great value. You would not spend a lot of time in the room anyway with so many things to see around. Some reviewers here mentioned the noise from highway 7, well it was not an issue for us at all. It was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merryl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Barbara was the most gracious host. We arrived long before check in and she was pleased to give us our room. Being from the east coast, she encourage is to drink lot of water and provided us with a pamphlet on altitude sickness! Guess my chap lips were a sign! The place was clean, away from the craziness of town and very affordable. The perfect spot to spend the night after spending the day in the park.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smilingathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This place was a great find. Was probably the best motel on our 2 week trip. Very large rooms, very nicely decorated, Huge king size bed. The owners were very nice and we had to change our reservation because we were a day ahead no problem. The Motel was clean quiet and it was easy to get to town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Great location, just 5 minutes from Estes park and 15 minutes from Rocky mountain national park.

PRO:
Great location
Good price
Very nice and informative owners
free Wi-Fi
Big flat screen TV with multiple channels
Room is clean
Bathroom and showers very clean and new.
Small refrigerator and microwave in the room
Changing the towels daily!!

CONS:
Relatively small and simple rooms (though not much smaller than the common motel and still worth its price)
“Country” furniture, simple and not new (not a big problem to us but some may hate it)
Shower is very small
Hard to control hot-cold water in the shower

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The owners made us feel like family from the first second that we checked in. Barbara wanted to make sure that we were satisified with the room before she would give it to us. The room was spacious, clean, and had everything that we needed. The parking lot was spotless. A great continental breakfast was included with the room. They gave us tons of practical information about the surrounding area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbieTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

It may sound over the top but this place is really great. Granted a 4 or 5 star hotel will be better but will cost an awful lot more. We usually stay in more reasonably priced accoomodation and this is really the best we have found. If we lived in US we would return frequently as we liked Estes Park and Rocky Mountain NP. we were show the room we had booked and it looked lovely but because they were quiet they offered us a free upgrade to one with a kitchen. We expected a kitchenette but this was a suite with king size bed and full kitchen. Our only regret was that we didn't allow time to stay longer in Estes Park. if you're going to the Rockies base yourself at the Saddle and Surrey. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.7 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical roadside motel with comfortable cozy rooms where you park at your door, and use a real key to enter your room. We strive to make your stay like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle & Surrey Motel Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing