We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this nice motel. The owners were very pleasant, and gave is suggestions on where to eat in town, and hikes to take. The room was spotless, bed was comfortable and pillows were nice. Thick, plush towels in the bathroom. Has a great night's sleep here too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    96
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
179
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We went here based on other TA reports and were not disappointed, in fact were rather pleased. We rented the room with the kitchenette, it had a couch, recliner and table for four along with full size frig, stove and microwave. The bathroom was large and every inch of the place was spotless and without flaw. The area was very quiet and only about 5 minutes from downtown Estes and the grocery store. While we didn't actually cook, the coffeepot, frig and microwave were used often. The continental breakfast was stuff from Costco or Sams Club which never disappoints me. Owners were both nice and offered suggestions for getting around. If I go back I will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13munster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Barbara (the owner) was very nice.The room was immaculate with nice clean towels and very comfy bedding.The refrigerator was spacious and the TV was large screen. My only dismay was that upon returning to our room the second day,the door was unlocked,obviously forgotten after being cleaned.
They don't send out written or Email confirmation letters.I am positive I was quoted $70 but we were charged $80....still a great price!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We just had a spur of the moment nine night stay at S&S. For the price point we rate it excellent in all categories. It was clean, the rooms were comfortable for sleeping, The drawer space was wonderful so we could unpack for our lengthy stay. The owners were very accommodating to our needs and helpful with suggestions on eating. The town does close down at nine. They too told us to hurry the first night to get some dinner for we checked in around eight
Which we appreciated. The hot tub was an added bonus after our all day hikes. We indeed would stay there again. Their location gave easy access to the park circumventing the town traffic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

9 - 10th August
The room (room 16) was clean, large and big enough to include a sofa, plus there was a fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfy and the towels were large and fluffy. The room was very well insulated both for temperature and sound giving us a good night's sleep.
The owners couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, particularly when my wife was unwell.
28 - 29th August
We decided to change our plans and stop at Estes Park at the end of our holiday and had no hesitation in contacting Saddle & Surrey. They had a room available (room 9) that was just as comfortable and well equipped but without the sofa, no big problem.
Once again the owners were very helpful and friendly.

On both occasions breakfast was self serve and consisted mainly of large and delicious muffins and pastries. Cereal was also available.
We stayed both at the weekend and midweek and on both occasions considered it very good value.

Very convenient for the Rockies NP which was only 10 - 15 minutes away.
There is a large Safeway a few minutes down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestUSATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel a few months ago. Overall, our stay was OK - it wasn't like the mind blowing experiences some of the other reviewers have had. Yes, the room was extremely clean, well kept, and updated. I CAN NOT, however, give a 4-5 star review because the owner was SO INCREDIBLY RUDE to my husband and me. When we arrived to the hotel, the bell on the front desk said to tap it for service. We waited at first and no one showed - so we hit the bell. The owner, a grumpy, older gentleman walked out and appeared to be annoyed that we were there. We got there at like 8 PM - not late at all! He didn't say a word to us as we processed the transaction. He then asked us for our car make/model/year and plate info. We didn't have the plate info memorized, as we had a rental car - so my husband said that he would go out and write it down and be back in a minute. When he came back with the rental plate info and started reading off the numbers, the owner cut off my husband and said, "This is not a Colorado license plate number!! This is impossible!" And my husband said that this was the number written on the temp plate. The owner then told him to forget about it and just noted on the slip that we had a rental car. He promptly gave us our keys and said that if we wanted to go eat, that we better make it quick because all of the restaurants in town closed at 9. We politely said back to him, that we already got that taken care of and at earlier. He then told us that there are muffins and coffee in the office in the morning and left to go back to whatever he was doing. My husband and I just looked at each other and remarked at how rude the owner was and then went to our room avoiding the owner at all costs for the remainder of our trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marilynmalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branchville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The great reviews don't lie. This place is very clean, comfortable, and the owners are very friendly. We stayed for three nights in the comfortable beds and were able to drop down into town center within minutes. No traditional continental breakfast, but the muffins and pastries that are offered for breakfast are huge! The price is absolutely reasonable and is a far better value than any chain hotel I've ever stayed at. We had a double bed room, and it was very roomy for 4 adults. I will definitely stay at this motel again, if we return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woohoo451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,027 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.7 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
37 reviews
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Property: Saddle & Surrey Motel
Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Motel Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing