We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
memphis, tn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2008

We came for a family reunion. My expectations were rather low considering the rather low price for this destination. Wow! Were we surprised. The room was very clean and comfortable. The owners were onsite--no dealing with uncaring hired hands--and were most helpful in all regards. They were knowledgeable about the area and its attractions, providing maps and info about the local restaurants. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Charming rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechoirguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    99
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
183
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We planned to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying for 5! The motel rooms are not luxurious by any means, but they are very clean (very keen cleaners!) and well-equipped (with fridge, microwave and small dining table - which was handy as we were travelling with our baby). Breakfast (often you do not get any breakfast at all at motels in the USA) was great - pastries, bagels, fruit etc. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We loved relaxing in the hot-tub at the end of the day! On top of all that, it is one of the cheapest places to stay in Estes Park!

  • Liked — Rooms, breakfast, staff, hot-tub
  • Disliked — Having to leave Estes Park
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janiedlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2007

I and my wife stayed at the Saddle and Surrey in October and it was a very good experience. The Motel was clean and comfortable. No fancy stuff but that is not necessary if your idea is to have a great time on the mountains. The reception was excellent and Barbara the manager was very helpful. This motel is only 3 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and very well located. The motel's maintenance is superb and everything was so clean. The price was very good for a king bed, tub shower and kitchen. It is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend Saddle and Surrey for any practical vacationer.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KingofTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2007

My wife and I stayed here at the Saddle & Surrey on our trip to Estes Park. We had found that we made a wise choice. The rooms were VERY clean and modern. We rode in on motorcycles and the owner made us feel comfortable with supplying us with towels to clean them. Very biker friendly! We we're greeted with a warm welcome not only when we arrived but nearly every day as we came in contact with the owner. We highly recommend and WILL return again.
Thanks Barbara for the great stay!

Barry & Karen Carter
Manhattan, KS

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank karbar_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, SK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Our kitchenette room was spacious, and very clean. Owners were friendly and helpful with tips about driving through the park using low gears, (Thanks from flat prairie folk!) Continental breakfast was juice, coffee, bagels, muffins, toast and pastries. Noise from South St. Vrain street quieted right down at night. We saw people in the pool, but didn't go ourselves. It's a roadside motel, yes, but completely adequate for our needs for two nights. Loved the drive up the Trail Ridge Road to Grand Lake, and back. Thanks, Saddle and Surrey!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 50-ish-ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2006

It's a roadside motel, so don't expect the Ritz, but it was clean and spacious and cost much less than many other places in town. The manager (owner?) was friendly and helpful. We looked forward to getting back each evening after a long hike.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank npm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2006

Great motel. The owner / manager is friendly and takes great care in making sure that the guests are comfortable. We are a family of five and got a large room with 2 queen beds and large rollaway bed. The room was very large and clean and included a good-size kitchen with breakfast bar. The kitchen was fully-equipped with large fridge, cooking range, microwave, toaster, and plates, and silverware ! Ideal for those who want to spend a few days here, and want to make a few simple meals. They do offer a continental breakfast but it is fairly minimal: bread, pastry, bagel, juice, and coffee. The motel is conveniently located on highway 7 which is one of the entry points into Estes Park from the southern towns such as Boulder. The area is nice and open and you get a pleasant view of the mountains. Very quiet at night. Distance from the national park is about 15 minutes. Convenient to gas stations, restaurants, and small convenience store. Would especially recommend the Thai restaurant located a couple miles away.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to get the room with a kitchen, and buy your own groceries
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank pkenkare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,038 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
57 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Property: Saddle & Surrey Motel
Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical roadside motel with comfortable cozy rooms where you park at your door, and use a real key to enter your room. We strive to make your stay like home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle & Surrey Motel Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing