We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base for your Rocky Mtn Park adventures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great home base for your Rocky Mtn Park adventures”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Three friends and I stayed at Saddle & Surrey Motel over a 3-day visit over the summer to RMNP. Staff is friendly and had great recommendations for us to explore within the national park and within Estes Park. Room was huge (even for four people) and perfectly suited our needs. Great value for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    94
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
178
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here 2 nights during the September 2013 flooding. We had been in Rocky Mountain N.P. for a week and ended up stuck in Estes Park until the roads opened out of town. I can't really say enough about the great people of the Saddle and Surrey. Incredibly friendly and generous motel owners, even during a crisis. They took care of us and expressed more concern for the guests and community than they did for their own well being.
The motel is clean, comfortable, and affordable. We would stay there in a heartbeat the next time we venture out that way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungrymarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
283 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed two nights, getting out the morning of the September 2013 floods. We went over the Trail Ridge Road thru RM-NP as all the roads east of the mountains were washed out or closed. The motel was a perfect stop; the room was large enough, room for your luggage stands. Fridge. Decent bath & shower. Wifi. Quiet place. Morning coffee in the office. The owners were helpful with maps, etc, as folks tried to get out. Feel bad for them as their business will be a while coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

So sorry to read that this motel took a hit in the recent flood. We were there the first night of the monsoon and managed to get out by the Trail Ridge Road in Rocky Mountain NP. We thought given its high position it would be spared the flooding. Barbara could not have been more helpful as we struggled with our options to get to the airport in Denver. Motel is pristine if a bit dated but bed was comfortable, a nice size room and just a great place to stay. An excellent value and I hope it comes back strong from the devastating floods.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Judgefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I would first like to thank Barbara and her husband (the owners) for making us feel safe when the flood waters went through part of the Motel, Barbara went above and beyond that night to make sure all guests were safe, even taking some of the stranded guests to the red cross shelter. Thank you very much. When I booked the Saddle & Surrey I did so because of all the great reviews, I was not let down. The room was very clean (spotless), the beds were very comfortable and they supplied plenty of fluffy towels in the room. The room was large it had a couch, table and chairs also 2 big dressers, micro and fridge. For breakfast they had a nice assortment of pastries, rolls and muffins, they also had coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Despite the torrential rains and flooding, our stay at the Motel was very nice and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dozinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This little motel exceeded our expectations by leaps and bounds. The owners were beyond accommodating and kind. They had excellent advice for us and were very welcoming and friendly. The room was extremely clean, the beds were very comfortable, the shower was really tiny, but we managed and loved our room. The rates were very reasonable and even though the motel is a little bit outside of town, everything is within very easy access. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. What a wonderful little gem of the Rockies!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sngbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed for four nights and the only complaint I had was the older, quite soft mattress in Room 15. I had read in other reviews that the mattresses were very comfortable and I assume it is because those people liked soft mattresses. For those who need a firmer mattress, this is not the place to stay. I was impressed by the immaculately clean room, except for the carpeting which needed cleaning. I would have liked a coffee-maker in the room, but can understand why some hotels don't furnish those. There are coffee and pastries in the office each morning. One of the owners was very unfriendly, while the other was charming and helpful. The only reason I would not stay here again is because of the soft mattress.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viewlover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,013 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
578 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Property: Saddle & Surrey Motel
Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle & Surrey Motel Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing