We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saddle & Surrey Motel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2006

It's a roadside motel, so don't expect the Ritz, but it was clean and spacious and cost much less than many other places in town. The manager (owner?) was friendly and helpful. We looked forward to getting back each evening after a long hike.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank npm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    92
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
176
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2006

Great motel. The owner / manager is friendly and takes great care in making sure that the guests are comfortable. We are a family of five and got a large room with 2 queen beds and large rollaway bed. The room was very large and clean and included a good-size kitchen with breakfast bar. The kitchen was fully-equipped with large fridge, cooking range, microwave, toaster, and plates, and silverware ! Ideal for those who want to spend a few days here, and want to make a few simple meals. They do offer a continental breakfast but it is fairly minimal: bread, pastry, bagel, juice, and coffee. The motel is conveniently located on highway 7 which is one of the entry points into Estes Park from the southern towns such as Boulder. The area is nice and open and you get a pleasant view of the mountains. Very quiet at night. Distance from the national park is about 15 minutes. Convenient to gas stations, restaurants, and small convenience store. Would especially recommend the Thai restaurant located a couple miles away.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to get the room with a kitchen, and buy your own groceries
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank pkenkare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2006

Our family of four just spent nine days at the Saddle & Surrey and strongly recommend it. The motel is privately owned and very well maintained. Our room was not luxurious, but large and very clean. Plenty of room for four with two beds plus a futon. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. Owners and staff were very attentive and the room and grounds were very quiet. We enjoyed the heated outdoor 30x15 pool and jacuzzi. The motel is far enough from the downtown area to escape the crowds, but close enough to the park that we were able to make 1 to 2 trips a day without inconvenience - you could get into the park's main eastern entrances within about 10 minutes generally. Two other more remote park entrances were also convenient - a short drive south on Route 7. Unless you need to be right in the thick of the action, there is no real benefit to paying a lot more at some of the other lodging options. Some cottages and lodges were closer, but most of the more expensive franchise hotels were further from the park than the S&S. All around we found it to be an outstanding place to stay and an excellent value for the price.
KM - Strongsville OH

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank KenMcEntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Saddle & Surrey Motel for a week in late August to early September 2005. We were greeted warmly by the owner/manager who saw to our every need. Our room was a king suite with a full kitchen. The room was very large and everything was great. It was like being at home. The motel has a well kept yard with pool, hot tub and a playground for children. BBQ grills are located on the grounds as well as picnic tables. The motel is located about a mile from town and has two laundries nearby as well as a Safeway Food Store. We have been to Estes Park on three prior trips and this was our first stay at this location. It will not be our last stay here. The motel was very affordable ($77.00 per night) and would be great for large or small families.

Helpful?
8 Thank GC320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2005

I've stayed at the Saddle & Surry for 2 years, and was very happy with both stays. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated, I did not notice any noise from the rooms next to mine, and the management has always been very nice to me. I have stayed at similarly priced hotels in Estes Park, and can definitely tell you that they are not nearly as nice to stay at. It's not located right next to the park, so you can expect a drive through town, and it's not going to be a luxury cabin, but it's a good value and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2005

This is a comfortable, well maintained motel. The owners have worked over the years to update the rooms. Every room is decorated slightly differently, a nice change from the usual approach. Friendly management. Ask them to see the different rooms. I vacation in the area every couple of years and I always stay here. It's located just far enough outside of town where you can zip around convienently.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2004

Clean room, good bed. Carpet needs to be replaced but it is clean. Nice bathroom but no bathtub, only shower. Nice management. A reasonable choice in this resort area.

Helpful?
9 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saddle & Surrey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saddle & Surrey Motel

Property: Saddle & Surrey Motel
Address: 1341 S Saint Vrain Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saddle & Surrey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Saddle & Surrey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saddle And Surrey Motel
Saddle & Surrey Hotel Estes Park
Saddle & Surrey Motel Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing