We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and green”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We spent the last three nights of our US trip here and were verypleased to do so.
The accommodation is a little old fashioned with slightly chintzy furnishings. The bathrooms (well certainly ours, with stained bath) could do with updating.
However the room was comfortable, with a nice sofa and big bed, there was TV, frdge and microwave. The sink was outside the bathroom and there was a hairdryer and coffee maker. You could get a through draft in the room and there was a fan.
Each room has an outside area. We sat and ate breakfast area on the shared balcony and watched the hummingbirds feed. There is a grassed area with a number of comfortable charis and barbecues and this is all by a little river which makes it all very restful. It was v noisy (the river) when we were there as the waters in all rivers/streams were high. Delightful.
We tried the small pool once (there are pool towels in the hot tub area. It is in a peaceful part of town, on the edges really. Excelllent base for the park.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank bettyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

These lovely guests were from the UK. Just to clarify, the word 'chintzy' in Brit form means decor used in a country cottage. (Our new furniture in their room was not cheap) Also stained bath means colored fixtures. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms. We appreciate all of our customers and their reviews. Thank you so much!! .... Carrie and Ken...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

If you wish to stay in lodging that captures the feel of the mountains, you can't do any better than this for the price. We are in the midst of a week long stay. This property is situated right beside the Fall River, and there are mountains on both sides. All day and all night you can open your window and hear the relaxing rush of the water. It is so serene and peaceful here. The buildings are older, but they are so well maintained it doesn't really matter. The rooms are spacious. We have two queen beds, a dresser/TV chest, desk, table with chairs, hanging rack, and a micro-fridge. Outside there is a wide balcony under roof, that extends the length of the building. Each room has a small wicker table and chairs for use on the balcony. We sit there for awhile every day, reading or having breakfast, and enjoying the sound of the river. There are flowers, hummingbird feeders, and a marmot who strolls by on occasion. Plenty of seating is available on the lawn by the river. There is a pool and a hot tub, grills, grilling utensils, and picnic tables. Downtown is a short drive away. Staff is very nice. If you want lots of action, I would recommend staying elsewhere. If you want a relaxing serene environment, I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NLFLWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Room 207 is very nice, has a big king bed and a great balcony as well.
Rooms are clean and does the job well !
No breakfast but there are a fridge and microwave in the room.
The place is very cozy and quiet next besides the river. Its about a mile from the village, and a tiny bit away from the small main road to the national park.
To the entrance of the park its only a 4 minutes drive.
Enjoy nature from the balcony and see hummingbirds and squirrels, great place to stay !
We saw 2 foxes 2 minutes hiking from our room and sometimes they see a black bear crossing the road.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A friend an I stayed there for four nights while we toured the Rocky Mountain National Park area. The setting is lovely, right along the Fall River. Our first-floor patio was about 50 feet from the river, which made for a lovely lullaby with the window cracked. We heard very little noise--one advantage of an adults-only place. I'm about 50 and most of the guests seemed at least that, if not older. There were two-seater swings, grills, picnic tables, and Adirondack chairs on the lawn facing the river. We didn't try the pool or the hot tub, but both appeared to be well maintained. The room was clean and the staff helpful and available to answer questions about the area. Would definitely recommend it for a peaceful stay, convenient both to the town of Estes Park and two entrances to the Rocky Mountain National park.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincynative1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Very happy to return to this hotel. Peace and quiet, tranquil views from our clean and comfortable room. Loved the hummingbirds and all the wonderful wildlife (even a marmot!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaymaker7343Mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I travel to Rocky Mountain National Park all year round from Dillon, Colorado. This resort is close to RMNP and Estes Park - so if you want to shop or hike, both are really close. I always stay at this resort when I visit the park. It is my favorite because it is clean, has
beautiful views, and Ken, the owner, is very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jlstout87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We have stayed here before and chose it again due to the cleanliness and quiet, comfortable room. We thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace and having a little kitchenette. The people there are very accommodating and friendly. We had a fabulous stay and would recommend this place highly to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colowinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,613 reviews
1 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
843 reviews
2 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 28 in Estes Park
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £67 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park
Deer Crest Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing