We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the Deer Crest many years ago and after a disappointing stay at a B&B downtown several years ago decided to try the Deer Crest again. We weren't disappointed. Though the rooms are somewhat dated they are well maintained and are along the beautiful Fall River. We stayed in the downstairs end unit and we were happy with our choice.
The positives: Very nice owners and a great lawn area out the back where you sit back and relax right along the river. At night it is so nice to hear the sounds of the river rushing past nearby. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was large enough to fit a small table and two chairs. Liked that the sink area was separate from the toilet and tub. The small refrigerator was new and didn't humm and rattle as they sometimes do. Liked that there was a DVD and free movies in the main office. We also had a nice private outside area where you could read and relax. The room was spotless. The parking was close by but not outside the door. Good value!
The negatives: Some room noise from upstairs as people walk around. If you are upstairs (as we were our first stay) the access to the rooms was from a walkway that ran on the riverside so if you wanted river views from your windows you also had people walking by your open windows.
Glad we made the decision to return and had a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Great deal for the price, and great deal any way. This was our first stay but it won't be our last. We chose a room without kitchen and still had fridge, micro and coffee maker, so doggy bags from our trips to Tulum's and Egg and I were kept there as well as fruit and things picked up at the Safeway. Location to town is perfect and we enjoyed being able to sit right on the river with the building blocking road noise, which btw was not a concern during the night at all. Free DVD checkouts; comfy bed; very clean and spacious; great owner; fabulous location to RMNP regardless of the entrance you're wanting to use.

Room Tip: Ask for room 108 and bring your fishing rod.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationingtexans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Once again we had a great stay at Deer Crest. Stayed in our usual mini suite and enjoyed the new table and chairs on the patio.
The housekeeping at Deer Crest is always good and you can't find a cleaner kitchen. The dishes are sparse and it would be nice if they added some larger serving bowls. We used a pot lid for the popcorn. But when you are in the mountains, who cares. Just a thought though.
I would recommend new mattress, if you like a really firm mattress you will love it. We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: We like the mini suites for we enjoy the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Like almost all hotels in Estes Park, this hotel looks like it was decorated by a small town grandmother. But no matter - it was comfortable, had a great location, and was spotlessly clean. Also, the service was fantastic - owners were very happy to offer great suggestions and to be accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmwTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Excellent location if you want to be near RMSP. Very quiet. Bed a bit hard and uncomfortable and light streams in the small window that faces the highway.

Room Tip: Choose a back upstairs room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bug6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This was our fourth visit to the Deer Crest. This lovely place, which is a five minute drive to downtown Estes Park and a five minute drive to the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park, is owned and managed by Carrie and Ken. They and their staff members are friendly, efficient, and seem to go out of their way to make you feel "right at home."

The Setting:
Tranquility and serenity are the words that come to mind when describing the setting of the Deer Crest. This lovely property is surrounded by pine trees and aspens and is situated along the banks of the Fall River. Lawn chairs, picnic tables, swings, and barbecues are sprinkled across the the beautiful landscape of lawns and gardens.

The Rooms:
There are a variety of room types at this motel; all are meticulously clean, lovely, and attractively decorated with simple furnishings, country quilts, comfortable beds, and ample drawer space. All have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots, and hairdryers. Our many bathroom towels looked and felt new. Some rooms have tables and chairs, and some have loveseats and a chair. The bathrooms are small to average in size.

We have stayed in both the "Waterfall" rooms and the "Fireplace MIni-suites.
The six "Waterfall" rooms have king-size beds, a dresser, and a table with two chairs. Each of these air-conditioned rooms have a large window that looks out at the grounds and river. They have either a private balcony or patio which face the rushing water and waterfall. You can walk right out to the lawn and river from the downstairs rooms.

We loved our "Fireplace Mini-suite" which faced the clean and pretty swimming pool. We were just a few steps from the lawn and river. These rooms are somewhat bigger than the other rooms but furnished with the same cozy style and country motif. Our room had a king-bed, a love seat, a comfortable chair, and plenty of drawer space. The bathroom was big. The mini-suite had a nicely stocked kitchen with an apartment -size refrigerator, toaster oven, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, dishes, pots, pans, and utensils. Our room also had a very quiet and efficient air-conditioner.

Although, we have never stayed in the Riverfront Deluxe king or queen rooms, they looked very inviting and much the same as our waterfall room. (with the exception of the king-rooms with loveseat and chair.) They have fans instead of air-conditioners. These rooms do not have as much privacy on their patios or balconies as the waterfall units, but each room has its own pretty patio set from which to enjoy the wonderful view.

The Deer Crest is a very special place, and we highly recommend it to those adults who want a clean, comfortable, and cozy room in an inviting atmosphere of peace and tranquility.

The Sullivans

Room Tip: The web-site offers photographs and detailed descriptions of each room type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I've been a guest at this resort for MANY years and I'm never disappointed. I was away for several years due to illness or traveling with children. I always stay in the same room and they are happy to accommodate. The new owners are extremely hospitable and have retained the pristine atmosphere established over the years. Since it's an adults only place, it is quiet, relaxing (except when the "resident bear" decides to visit)! This is my "place of peace" in Estes Park!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
2.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £74 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park
Deer Crest Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing