We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My sister and I spent hours pouring over reviews of hotels in Estes Park as we had never been there. My general hotel preference runs along the line of Hilton or Marriot, looking for deals on such properties. Estes Park, however is full of non-chain hotels/motels, so it was challenging to sort thru it all. Our goal was to balance price, mountain resort feel, quiet, well-taken care of, roomy, and have some cooking/eating facilities. Finding many properties near and over $200 per night, we were so pleased as we came upon the so reasonably priced Deer Crest resort. The room with 2Q was large and had a mini fridge twice the size of your typical hotel fridge, with a separate freezer section even! Also had a microwave and coffee maker and the provided coffee was excellent! Front of room had plenty of 'counter' space, lots of drawers. Bathroom walls looked to be newly re-tiled, so clean, but the shower head is still at that pretzel bend location (low). Loved the 2 doors to the room--front and rear doors that you could open to get a nice breeze and light into the room. Also loved the upper deck balcony that has your own set of table and chairs that overlook the river and the property's green grass, a beautiful park like setting. So we ate our breakfast overlooking the river, and also often brought our dinner home to eat in that peaceful setting. The owners were so nice and we were often visited by elk, including the infamous bull that has christmas lights stuck on its antlers. Also loved that we never heard anything from our neighbors- I think the walls in this older construction are well-made, not the paper thin walls of some newer construction. You may be interested to know that although we were in a room with a second floor number, the back of the room, at parking lot level, is first floor, but the front of the room that overlooks the river, is at the second floor level. So, room was older but well taken care of and property has many loving touches, like the BBQ, picnic tables, DVDs, celing fan,... We are so glad we selected this motel for 5 nights as it so fit our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    76
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
211
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here this week. We stayed in a poolside unite that was very pleasant. It had a couch, fireplace, small kitchen with bar and comfortable king size bed. We enjoyed the little outside patio with a table and chairs. It was so peaceful to sit in the lawnchairs down by the creek, also. The manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. This is an adult-only property so it was very quiet. The location is great--just a short drive to the city of Estes Park and to Rocky Mountain National Park. It is an older property built in the early 1970's but it was updated and very clean. The pool is very small and patched so we decided not to use it. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is such a lovely hotel. We've stayed here twice now and I will also continue to stay here when we are in Estes Park. They have a heated pool and are just about 2 miles (or less) away from where all the shops are. And it is very close to Rocky Mountain National Park. The place is always clean and smoke free and it's right on a little creek that you can sit by and read and listen to the creek. (or is it a river? Not sure.) Only those 18 and over are allowed to stay at this hotel, so it makes it very nice and quiet. They also have a hot tub to relax in after hiking all day. The room has a DVD player and they have free dvd's to check out at the front desk. (about 200 DVD's in their library). I love this place and I'll always come back!

Room Tip: Getting rooms on the ground floor and by the river is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Just spent 2 nights in this adults only, no smoking, no pet lodging and we loved it. We stayed in the bear den room which has a kitchen, living area with large tv, bedroom and large bathroom. This was truly the best place we stayed on our 10 day vacation. We grilled by the river one evening and the owners are kind enough to furnish charcoal and utensils. Very quiet and peaceful to sit by Falls River which runs along the back of the property. We hope to return next year

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstroud538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the 4th of July week with another couple of our old friends. We rented two adjacent mini-suites and it has been very convenient. We used the kitchenettes extensively for almost all meals and even a natural gas grill once by the pool. We used to put together four chairs on the patio around one table and enjoyed our meal outdoors. The table with benches and umbrella by the river is also a nice place to have a meal, but the plastic benches collect rain water inside and it was hard to make them dry. The bathroom in our suite has been recently renovated and it looked brand new. The entire place is very quiet and peaceful, you can hardly see any other tenants around your room. The complimentary wifi is nice although it is slower than I am used to. The resort is only one and a half miles from the edge of Estes Park and it is downhill, we could reach it in 20 minutes walking slowly. Free shuttles run to and from the village every 30 minutes. Nicky's restraurant next to the resort is a convenient place to have a quick lunch. Overall, we are very happy we picked this resort for our peaceful vacation and reunion with our friends.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mayfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband & I found this place online and were enticed by the "no children, no pets, no smoking" aspect. This was a very peaceful place right on the the Fall River in a less busy part of Estes Park. The grounds are well maintained & plenty of seating outdoors to enjoy the river & the wildlife. Our suite was adequate for the two of us however, the bathroom and dressing space are quite cramped and so near the kitchenette window that is was slightly uncomfortable. The blinds covering the windows were not functioning exactly well so we felt our privacy was compromised. Had there been blackout type curtains instead of blinds, this would have made it more comfortable. The kitchenette was adequate for our needs & we were able to cook our own breakfast to eat out on our front porch. The chairs for the little table on the porch could use updating or repaired. Also, I would suggest bringing your own non-stick frypan. The AC was old but it worked well. The ceiling fan was so noisy we could not use it. There was a nice 32" flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were very old and did not fit well. We were never able to use the pool as each afternoon there were thunderstorms & rain but it looked inviting. We did make use of the above ground hot tub one evening. It seemed clean & functioned well but getting in was a little difficult as there were no steps to go up just a bench which for some would make impossible to get in. All in all, it was a nice stay. Also, be aware that there is another resort property which backs the other side of the Fall River.

Room Tip: 312 seems like one of the most private of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MillipDandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Every year my husband and I always take to trip to Estes park, and almost always we stay at deer crest (when we come by ourselves) The owners Ken and Carrie and great. They are always helpful. They really make you feel special. We probably have stayed in almost every room. We just love it.

PATTY AND TOM SKINNER

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Property: Deer Crest Resort
Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park
Deer Crest Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing