We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We have spent 2 days in this resort, and we have really enjoyed our stay here! Rooms are clean and spacious, with comfortable beds and a well-equipped kitchenette. We got once with the fireplace, it made the atmosphere very romantic!
It was great to have a large DVDs and board games collections to choose from freely available at the reception, as well as teas and infusion.
The kind and welcoming owner made us feel at home, he even offered us a chocolate S. Valentine's box...delicious!!! We had also a minor problem with the faucet but he solved it immediately!
Last but not least, great location between the Rocky Mountain National Park Entrance and Estes Park town: within 5 minutes driving you have everything you need!
Choose it and you will not regret it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    79
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
223
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We chose the Deer Crest Resort because is was located near Rocky Mountain National Park and we were going snowshoeing in the park for a nice quiet Christmas trip. Also because this resort is adult only and no smoking anywhere on the property. The room was very nice with a beautiful view of the river and woods. The owner was very accommodating, letting us check in very early so we could drop our bags and change clothes in the room before going into the park. The room was very clean and comfortable. It had a DVD player with free movies in the office, so we just curled up with a good movie on Christmas eve. We are planning to return for another visit in February and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We arrived in Estes Park on September 12, 2013 which coincided with rarely seen biblical flooding in CO. After being evacuated from two campgrounds the roads were becoming dangerously flooded and we were desperate for a place to stay for the night. As we took the road toward town we stopped at every hotel with a vacancy light without finding any that were staffed until we finally got to Deer Crest Resort. As someone who typically doesn't stay anywhere without going through an excessive number of tripadvisor reviews first, I was relieved to find that the hotel was everything we could have wanted even if we had done our research. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, good size, and right on a creek (although at this point the "creek" had turned into a gushing river - see photo). I wish words could adequately express how wonderful the people who run this hotel were. Friendly, helpful, and, when one of the rooms was in danger of flooding from runoff coming down the mountain, they stayed up all night working to divert the water. Also, I'm pretty sure that given the situation they could have completely gauged us on price but I'm fairly certain that what they charged us was under the going rate. I look forward to the day when I can pay another visit to Dear Crest Resort and take the time to enjoy the room, the creek and the area under better circumstances. And to once again thank the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft collins
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Each winter my husband and I go to Deer Crest for a weekend getaway. We love Deer Crest because it's quiet, on the river, the room is cozy (we always stay in one of the mini suites), we like having a kitchenette, it's spotless, and very comfortable (I have a bad back and have always been comfortable in the king bed). We love the gas fireplace for post-snowshoeing cozy evenings, we like the hot tub 16 steps away, and although the place feels somewhat secluded from the hubbub of town, it is a mere 2-minute drive to town. Perfect for us. Ken and Carrie, the hosts, are always very friendly and pleasant, full of advice if we ask. The lobby has a great collection of movies and games, and snowshoes are available if we forget to pack ours. If we need anything, it's taken care of ASAP. We have been going to Deer Crest for about 10 years now... and will keep going for years to come. No need to change a good thing!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our first time staying at Deer Crest Resort will definitely not be our last. We are already planning to return in Fall 2014 for another stay at the resort. Our second floor room (#203) was very large with two queen beds, hotel size refrigerator with freezer, a microwave, table and two chairs plus other amenities inside the room. Outside was a table with chairs for each unit. Other room types are available at this resort. Hotel does have an indoor hot tub with towels available. The rooms and entire premises were extremely clean. Owner Ken was very friendly and accommodating. This resort is located between Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park so it is an excellent location when staying in the area. Definitely consider this resort if you are looking for adult-only non-smoking lodging.

Room Tip: Room #203 was large with two queen beds with a view of the stream. This room can be accessed without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildlime92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

There is a lot of choice in Estes Park for those looking for mid-range motels/hotels to stay in, Heck, there's at least 4-5 on the same strip as Deercrest.

Here's why you should stay here: The owners are absolutely fantastic. I had some travel issues on the way there and it wasn't a problem. I got a massive king-sized room for a very, very reasonable rate. Sure, it wasn't the most modern...but it had wifi, a kitchenette, and a bathroom that truly was sparkling,

After checking out, the owner was very helpful in giving me directions on how to best enjoy my limited time in the area. This was worth its weight in gold to me as it meant I could maximise my time.

So in short - go visit Estes Park. The locals can use your tourist dollars no matter where you stay and it is a little town with an absolutely stunning backdrop. And feel confident in your choice of Deercrest. :-)

Room Tip: If only staying for one night, call them first. They can waive the 2 night minimum stay if it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This adult-only non-smoking lodging does not have a lot of street appeal, but the rooms are spacious and clean, and the location right on Fall River just can't be beat! Beautiful grounds with benches, picnic tables, grills and a lovely firepit area. The owners are friendly and accommodating. This place is my favorite!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy52W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
473 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
780 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,031 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Property: Deer Crest Resort
Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park
Deer Crest Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing