We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had waterfall king room,and it was perfect. We had our own balcony that overlooked the grounds and the "waterfall" part of the river. Lulled to sleep every night by the sound of the river. Room was big enough,very clean. Friendly staff. Couldn't ask for more. Did I mention the elk that visited the parking lot area, just grazed along the parking lot for an hour or so. I will definitely be back here for my next visit!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 866cathyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Cathy. Thank you for your kind review. Can't wait to have you again. Love the pic you posted of the huge Elk you took next to our Deer Crest Sign. To some, he may look like a statue, but he is real and a big bull elk, all in velvet right now. We have several of them up and down our road.. With his mouth open, he looks like he's saying 'see you later, and come back again'... In mid September and early October, they will be in the rut and putting on a real show. Thanks again for your stay. See you. Carrie and Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here six years ago in Room 206. This year we had Room 208 which they characterize as a "waterfall king room." This room was right by the waterfall on the Fall River and had a nice private balcony overlooking the river and waterfall. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and at $135 with tax, a reasonable value. The place doesn't look like it has had many updates since we stayed in 2008--for example, the paint surrounding our balcony was okay but it certainly looked like it has been many years since it was last repainted. Also, our room did not have a flat screen TV and at this price level, I think it probably should. One bonus factor is that they have a very good selection of DVD's in the office for free and a DVD player is included in every room. That sort of makes up for the lack of a flat screen. The room did have a nice sized refrigerator and functioning microwave. This place is on Highway 34 and just 3 miles east of one of the main entrances to RMNP. We will consider staying here again on our next visit but I definitely plan to explore some of the competing properties next time because I just had a feeling that this place is coasting a bit and not really trying too hard to keep up with the times. Possibly one factor in this is that the owner apparently no longer lives on site and possibly isn't giving it the personal attention to detail they were giving 6 years ago. If anyone wants to see what our room actually looks like, I will be posting a video on YouTube soon showing exactly what Room 208 looks like. There are already videos posted of Room 206 as it appeared 6 years ago. It probably looks exactly the same now. One bonus of being near the waterfall is that you can hear the river and it makes good white noise for sleeping.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms near the waterfall but there really isn't a bad room in the house--they all h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hello John. Thank you for your review and for staying at Deer Crest. Just wanted to tell you of some of the many upgrades we have made in the last year at Deer Crest. First, we are in the process of replacing our TV's, as they go out, with new 32 inch flat screen TV's. So far, all of the fireplace mini suites, all riverfront Deluxe Kings, The Old Man Mountain Suite, the Fall River Suite and half of our Riverfront Deluxe Queen rooms, have new 32 inch flat screen TV's. So far 16 of our 26 rooms have brand new flat screen tvs. Secondly, within the last 18 months, we have new mattresses in all of our rooms. We did a major remodel on our grounds within the last year. We have a lovely new gas firepit and patio area outside the hot tub room and a beautiful new courtyard area with pavilion and fountain/pond. Please explore our beautiful grounds the next time you come. Ken and I, still own Deer Crest and we are on property daily from 9am to 9pm, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Believe us, we are very familiar with every inch of the property. Our daughter and her husband live on the Deer Crest Property as well and assist in the management of the property.
Last September there was a flood in Estes Park. Luckily we had no damage/flooding at Deer Crest from the River. But we did loose all our income during the huge month of September and October/November, as the major highways were closed until Thanksgiving.. Despite that, we continue to invest in maintaining our property and continuous enhancements. One final note, last year, we completed our bathroom remodel in our Fireplace mini suites and Fall River Suite. It was no small expense to tear out the tubs and we replaced the tubs with walk in showers and all new tiling. Lastly, we have been able to accomplish this while maintaining the same room price as last summer. We look forward to having you again. Thank you.
Note to all re the flood. Wanted to let everyone know that Estes Park is beautiful and all roads to Estes Park are open. You can't even tell by looking at the Town that there was a flood. It is gorgeous here... The wildflowers are blooming more than ever... All is well...in Estes Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My first thought upon walking into my room at Deer Crest Resort: I wish I was staying here longer!
I stayed at Deer Crest Resort for one night during a 5-day trip to Colorado. It was easy to book, the owner (or maybe the owners' dad?) was very friendly when he checked me in and gave me directions to find a good restaurant.
My room was comfy, clean and very homey! I was already wishing I had more time in Colorado, and especially at Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park, and this would have been a great place to stay for a longer trip, when you want the convenience of making your own breakfast or dinner and maybe want to spend some time relaxing with a book by the fireplace or outside by the river. As it was, I was in and out. But I slept great, it was really clean and very convenient to everywhere I went.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llissee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear you found your room cozy, comfortable, clean and like home. We wish you could have stayed longer to enjoy our area too. We hear that from so many people. They just didn't plan enough time to see Estes Park and Rocky Mt National Park. There are so many sights and day trips to use Estes Park as a home base. We suggest those on vacation spend at least 3 nights in our area. We also have people that come every year and spend weeks here at Deer Crest. Easily reachable from Deer Crest are day trips to Grand Lake, Central City, Mount Evans, Boulder, etc... We are really centrally and ideally located. Some people spend a week hiking in Rocky Mt National Park too. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you. Carrie and Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed this place so much. It's back yard is so beautiful. And the inside is homie. In fact tonight we are staying at an expensive place that is more modern but just doesn't have the comfortable feel like this place. The river was 20 yards off the back deck and coffee has never tasted so good. It's close to everything too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SadinaSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very nicely renovated older motel ... I understand we're talking 50 years old or something like that. Rooms are a decent size and immaculate. We took one of the "mini suites" with a kitchenette, which was adequate for the two of us. The owners are cheerful and helpful, and the grounds are neat and comfortable along the side of the river - unfortunately the runoff was very high, so no fishing this time. This place is adults only and no smoking - so be aware if either doesn't fit you, this isn't the place to be. All in all, a comfortable, friendly place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for a single night at this lovely resort in a Deluxe Riverfront room. We received a genuine welcome on checking in and found our room to be a very good size, clean and with a comfortable bed. The porch on the river side was a lovely place to sit and have a drink or just watch the river. There are several hummingbird feeders along the porch and you can sit and watch these tiny birds at the feeders. The resort is in a very good position as it is on the outskirts of Estes Park and handy for shops etc but is also on the road that leads into the Rocky Mountain National Park and you don't have to keep driving through Estes Park to visit the park. The resort is beautifully quiet and calm with a slightly rustic feel to its decor. We really enjoyed our stay. It is a shame that no breakfast is offered as there is nowhere on the door step to get a meal in the morning nor is there a shop really close by - you have to go into Estes Park. The room has a fridge and a coffee maker and you can do your own breakfast and eat it on the porch as we did if you get organised ! If you want entertainment apart from the wildlife and the river, the room has a good size TV and a DVD player with lots of films to choose from in reception. If you want a good place to stay while you look around this area, then look no further. I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

You never know what you are going to get just from the information on line. In this case, our expectations were surpassed. We had a room with two queen beds overlooking the river that was so spacious. We loved the two porches, one street side and one loverlooking the river. Such a quiet, peaceful location. Close to town but also far enough out to be convenient. It was wonderful opening the room window and listening to the Fall River rush by. Or being able to sit by the river in one of many places to enjoy. The room had all the comforts - extra blankets, ceiling fan, box fan, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, dvd player (movies are available in the office). Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river. We stayed in room 203 and loved it. It actually is ground lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
627 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,546 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £74 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park
Deer Crest Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing