We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a solid choice”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Second visit to this hotel after a break of two or three years. Location is quiet and peaceful. Yet only 10 mins walk from the town of estes park. Only a few miles from the entrance of Rocky Mountain national park. Good bar /restaurant next door at nicky's.
The hotel is family owned and it shows. Grounds are immaculate and welcoming. Plenty of chairs to relax in by the river. New loungers are a great addition ! Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff go out of their way to make sure you have a great vacation. Asked for a late check out on our fourth day, and even though it was high season, the owner was able to accommodate our request. When asked if we could pay him for the late check out - he said no, just leave a good tip in the room for the housekeeper. We did. An owner who values his staff, that's all you need to know. Thanks ken and team, from al and Debbie uk.

Room Tip: Our room 209, and the two rooms next door have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fireblade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived at the Deer Crest on a Tuesday afternoon to stay two nights, allowing us to spend a full day taking the Trail Ridge Drive through RMNP and doing a little shopping in town. Unfortunately, though it hardly ever rains here, it poured from the time we came till the time we left. Yet if you must be stuck inside on a vacation this is the place to be. We were able to sit outside protected from the elements and read or enjoy the flitting hummingbirds. They have an extensive DVD collection as well with the latest movies which we made use of. I loved that it was adults only. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waters rushing by. My one concern when booking was that with no air conditioning and windows that opened onto a porch used by other guests, I would need to keep the blinds closed, cutting off the only source of air. No need to worry. Because of the room layout, the vertical blinds could be adjusted to allow air, yet provide privacy. Also, when we booked the room we were told they provided box fans in the room, yet we were pleased to find a ceiling fan, perhaps newly installed. Also, it gets very cool at night, even on warm days. We did some shopping in town but our drive will have to wait for another time. We will be sure to return, not only to take in the beauty of RMNP, but to enjoy this unique and peaceful gem.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Deer Crest is a nice relaxing place for gown-ups only. I liked my room with the creek running outside the window. The 2nd floor has balconies which make for a better view. There are lots of humming birds and wildlife in the back yard. The furniture is a bit dated and the TV is not a flat-screen, but the room was very clean and fresh. The bed very comfortable. It is a well cared for resort. Carrie and Ken were ready to help when I needed plates and silverware for my room and Carrie was very accommodating when I had to change my schedule at the last minute and still was able to stay in the room I requested. The price for rooms during high season are a good value. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor has better views of the river and humming birds feed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PlainsDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoDeer1, Owner at Deer Crest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you too found our new beds to be 'very comfortable'. We have been getting many compliments on our new comfy mattresses and just yesterday another guest asked me where we bought them, as they wanted for their home. Wanted to let you know that we do have new 32 inch flat screen TV's in about 20 of our 26 rooms. The few older models left still have good picture quality and will be replaced as needed or by the end of this year. Again thank you for staying with us. We are glad you experienced the wildlife and relaxing atmosphere of Deer Crest Resort on Fall River. Come back and see us any time. We do book full during the Summer and Fall, so we were pleased and lucky we were able to accomodate your date change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here in the 90s and liked it so much we decided to try again this July. We were very happy we did. The people who run the place are very friendly and helpful, our room was very comfortable and very nicely furnished with everything we needed (even extra coffee filters for the coffeemaker in the full kitchen), the grounds are beautiful and well-cared for, and the location is perfect in that it is close to Estes Park and the park but far enough away from town that you don't get all the traffic, noise and congestion. One evening, we watched hummingbirds swooping along the river, apparently grabbing insects for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andi-BrownCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I spent two days at Deer Crest Resort during 4th of July long weekend. It was a lovely and beautiful place. The couple who own the place were very nice.

We had a fireplace mini suite. The suite was clean, quite, and had everything we needed, a refrigerator, microwave, ... even kitchen utensils. You can cook if you don't want to eat out.

There's a creek at the back of the hotel. There were some swing chairs and a BBQ area by the creek. Very nice!

I really like this hotel, a nice place to relax. I would definitely recommend this place, especially if you are planning on stay for more than one or two days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jennifulw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place but if you like to stay up late while on vacation this is not the place to stay . People are on vacation would like to be able to use the fire pit past 10pm once again on vacation.
Very clean rooms needs to be updated with flat screen tv
Do not need a curfew while on vacation thanks

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This place was exactly as the reviews indicated. Loved our private balcony 30' from the river. Older but very clean and maintained. Could not be more pleased and would stay here again. Just far enough from town to be away from the hustle but close enough for easy access to food and shopping.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank penasco38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
84 reviews
2.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £74 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park
Deer Crest Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing