We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old motel in great location”
Review of Deer Crest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Crest Resort
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2007

We stayed there 2 nights. Older motel. Room needed to be updated with new carpet and bedding, but the mattress itself was comfortable. The room had a motel-like "cold" feeling, but if you're going to Estes Park you shouldn't be in the room that much. The back of our room had a little porch overlooking the fall river with a little "waterfall," which was nice, but we couldn't walk directly off the porch like some of the rooms could. The grounds on the river were lovely, and we enjoyed the no kids policy since we are past that phase of our life. The owners were nice and gave me a mug to make hot chocolate in. It's worth about what we paid for it, but I don't think Estes lodging should charge prime prices in September.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jeepbabe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2007

We just got back from a 6 night stay at Deer Crest and we really loved the quiet, relaxing feeling of this place. The bed was very comfortable and the owners were great. It is right on Fall River and we stayed in Room 206, right by the waterfall. The only thing I would change would be better lighting over the bathroom vanity for putting on makeup and an updated, more powerful hot tub. It's in a very convenient location close to downtown Estes Park and the RMNP entrance but still far enough away from both to be a very quiet location. We will definitely stay here again on any future trips we make to Estes Park..

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjl330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

This place is a hidden gem! We spent two nights of our vacation in the Old Man Mountain King Loft Suite and wished we had spent the whole week there. The suite was gorgeous -- huge moss rock fireplace, loft bedroom and beautiful decor. It was huge (so big, in fact, when I showed pictures to my mom, she thought she was looking at the hotel lobby!!) The patio overlooks the river - perfect place to relax in the evening after a day in the park & trotting around in town.

We loved the location, too. Away from the hustle & bustle of downtown Estes Park and very close to RMNP entrance.

Ken and Carrie were wonderful hosts, too, Both very nice and pleasant to talk to.

An added bonus was the family of yellow bellied marmots that also seemed to like the property. Hummingbirds were everywhere, as well.

We are hoping to return some day and spend a whole week there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SusanandKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Deer Crest in Estes Park. The rooms were a nice size and the beds were comfortable. The creek runs right out back and the lawns are well kept. Owners were very nice. A large selection of VCRs and DVDs are available for checkout. No air conditioning, though.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kendebtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Exactly what we were looking for. A quiet, reasonably priced motel right on the roaring Fall River. The grounds were immaculate and, though the motel is a bit aged, it was just right for us. We particularly liked the upper level with stools and a high table on the deck overlooking the Fall River.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank Evergreen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

Deer Crest is a wonderful, mom-and-pop owned and operated lodge with Fall River singing merrily at the back of the lawn. The room was fine for for the two of us, the kitchenette was great for breakfasts and had a good-sized refrigerator. There is wireless high speed internet access from the rooms, although you may have trouble with a cell phone, depending on your provider.

The owners were warm and welcoming and very attentive to whatever we asked of them. They've got a nice little library of videotapes and DVDs that you borrow on the honor system, and each room has, in addition to cable and HBO (or maybe Showtime?), a video and DVD player.

There's a comfy couch and chair, too, in addition to a comfortable bed. Each room has a little sitting area in front, and guests were friendly.

This is very near RMNP Fall River entrance and within walking distance to Nicky's, a popular restaurant. It is quiet -- very little traffic since the main lodging area is on the other side of town.

We'll go back and definitely will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank OldMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

I stayed there for three nights. Room 107 was perfect for someone who loves the sound of water. The room and grounds were spotless. We felt like we were visiting old friends. The stream (Fall River) produced six (released) awesome trout for my flies, including two well over 16 inches before supper first night. There's grilles ready to use. I told the owner I wished for a bigger coffee maker, and he had one at my room in minutes. The location was perfect, and we had no complaints whatsoever. I ran into friends from my hometown who spent 9 nights elsewhere there, paid more, and had lousy service and experience. Heck, the ground squirrels were even eating out of my hands. Did I mention the fishing there? I was really impressed with the owners and property alltogether. And I don't impress easily. This place shouldn't disappoint you. It's a no-brainer for me and my friends going out there in the future.
Joe

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Ozarksflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
85 reviews
2.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crest Resort

Address: 1200 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9137 (Formerly Deer Crest Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £74 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Crest Resort is located on the Beautiful Fall River. We are a quiet, relaxing getaway for Adults only! Conveniently located between Town and the Entrance to Rocky Mt National Park. Hot tub, Free WIFI, 32inch Flat Screen Cable TV's, Rooms to Suites with kitchenettes and Fireplaces. Over half of our rooms with a/c. See website for our variety of room types and specific amenities. Just 5 mins to Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and just 5 mins to Town, shopping and all Festivals and Activities. Also on Summer Seasonal Free Shuttle Route. Restaurant nearby, just 2 min walk with lounge, coffee house, steakhouse & outside seating on the River. Stocked river for fishing. (Catch & release only). Enjoy our peaceful, quiet, Adults only Retreat. 100% Smokefree Riverfront property. Free parking. Complimentary snowshoes and poles for Winter. Hot tub, firepit, free DVD library. Peaceful, quiet, relaxing getaway. Open All Year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crest Hotel Estes Park
Deer Crest Estes Park
Deer Crest Resort Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing