We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for us...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estes Park Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estes Park Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not for us...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

During the planning of our trip to Colorado, I used the reviews from Trip Advisor to select Estes Park Bed & Breakfast for the one night my wife and I would be staying in Estes Park before going through Rocky Mountain National Park. Almost all of the reviews were rated “Excellent,” and the price seemed very reasonable, so I concluded that this was a really good value. The B&B’s website did not allow for online booking, so I called and spoke with Sheila who was an absolute delight, and we booked the King bedroom. Off to a great start!

Sheila and the delicious breakfast she made both deserve an excellent rating, but the accommodations were far below average. The house itself is set in a residential neighborhood just outside of the main strip in Estes Park. The common area and the bedrooms are very outdated. It felt like we were stepping back into the 1970’s. The entire bedroom and bathroom were carpeted wall-to-wall with an old shaggy-style carpet. The carpeting in the bathroom was especially disgusting. My wife and I both detected the scent of a cat within the room and a strong pungent odor coming from the carpet. We didn’t even want to unpack our things, but it was too late in the day to find another place to stay, so we were stuck.

There is a hot tub in the yard, but Sheila was hosting a family barbeque so there was no privacy for peaceful soaking. We enjoyed our delicious breakfast outside on the porch, but there is no view of the mountains from this location as the house is surrounded by tall pines. Considering the lack of scenery on the outside, and the unpleasant conditions inside, the Estes Park B&B had nothing special to offer. With full bellies, we were quite pleased to lug our suitcases back down the stairs and leave the B&B behind us.

It pains me to write this since Sheila is such a sweetheart, but I wish someone had been forthright about the conditions of the lodging as it may have helped me in my decision making and perhaps I would not have been so disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisterJoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstesParkBandB, Owner at Estes Park Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Joshua,
I am so sorry you were unhappy with your stay at our bed and breakfast! It is my goal to provide a comfortable, a clean, and a quiet experience for our guests staying at our mountain home in Estes Park. I strive to improve our accommodations each year to our b&b, as an example this year hardwood floor was expanded throughout all three of our guest bedrooms and travertine tile in our guest bathrooms.
Sincerely,
Sheila
Estes Park Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
44
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We rented this lovely second story home for the weekend--three couples. It has a large, sunny, comfortable common room with a huge, well stocked kitchen. There are three bedrooms--two smaller with a shared bathroom, and a master bedroom with in-suite bathroom. The common area has hundreds of videos, books, games, puzzles and a fireplace, sheepskins on the hardwood floor. One whole wall of the home has large picture windows overlooking the mountains. It's within walking distance of downtown for shopping and eating--no need to hassle with parking. The price can't be beat--we couldn't believe how large, beautiful and comfortable this place was. Sheila cooked us an amazing breakfast and was a delightful hostess. We rented the whole house, so no sharing space with strangers. Each room has a mini-frig, TV, heater. There is a hot tub out back. One of the rooms has a walk out deck. We will definitely stay here again--we just loved it.

Room Tip: Only the master bedroom has a private bath. The middle room has a walk out deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheriedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was booked for 4 nights at the Estes Park B&B - scheduled to arrive on the day when the entire town was evacuated because of the horrible flooding that devastated the entire area. Because of Sheila, the incredibly kind, caring and conscientious owner, I was forewarned about the situation because she personally called me when things began to look serious! Had I been booked in a big hotel, I would have continued with my plans and been in the middle of a dangerous situation and a real mess. Instead, I re-routed my trip and I'm thankful for that opportunity. I am writing this review to thank Sheila and to state that I will absolutely stay at the Estes Park B&B when I finally do get to visit the Rocky Mountain National Park. I hope that readers of this review consider this B&B as well. She must be a wonderful host!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dogonfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We enjoyed ourselves so much at this lovely B&B. Situated within 2 blocks of the river walk and main street, it is a perfect location. We stayed in the large and comfy king room complete with a mini-fridge that is stocked with soft drinks and ice cream.

Sheila is warm and friendly, and provides helpful information. She prepares a scrumptious breakfast as well as yummy afternoon snacks.

We couldn't imagine a better B&B in Estes Park.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay and Je... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is our third stay at this lovely B&B at the gateway to the Rocky Mountain National Park. As always, Sheila and Bill were most welcoming hosts. The property is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and so substantial as to satisfy the greatest appetite. This year, a flood that the media described as "of biblical proportions" occurred in the middle of our stay. Our hosts went out of their way to provided the most accurate and current information regarding the state of affairs. When it became clear that we needed to leave early, they did everything they could to ensure that we were taking the safest route out of the disaster area. Their service and caring in very difficult circumstances when their own property was in jeopardy of damage was as congenial and helpful as it has been during sunny and calm times.

We can't recommend this B&B and Bill and Sheila more highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredAnoka_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Couldn't recommend this B&B any more. My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary this July. Great location, clean rooms, amazing food, and friendly service. Easy to walk to anywhere in town, and a short drive to RMNP. Must stay if you go to Estes Park.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JETayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I, along with our two teenage children stayed at the Estes Park Bed and Breakfast in mid-August for 6 nights. We found it to be restful and quiet, while at the same time convenient to all the shops and restaurants on main street. The location of the B&B is up on a hill a couple of blocks from main street, so you don't get the noise, just the convenience! On those days we had to leave the house early, Sheila was very accommodating and prepared food we could access ourselves from the fridge and counter. The other breakfasts were wonderful. On those days, we rarely had to eat lunch. We all loved Sheila's cinnamon pancakes! We loved relaxing in the hottub in the back yard after a long day of hiking in the mountains. This is a very original and welcoming place. You really can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Golden Leaf Inn
The Golden Leaf Inn
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estes Park Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estes Park Bed & Breakfast

Property: Estes Park Bed & Breakfast
Address: 141 Courtney Lane, Estes Park, CO 80517-9051
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is just a few short feet from downtown, so you will not need to worry about finding a downtown parking spot! Just leave your car, while you walk to all of our fun shops and delicious restaurants in downtown Estes Park. Sit on the decks, and enjoy beautiful views of the mountains surrounding Estes Park. The entire 2,100 square feet, top floor of our home, is available to serve our guests. The guest floor houses three bedrooms, a huge living dining area, and the kitchen. The beautiful backyard has a large private hot tub, picnic area with charcoal grills, a gazebo, and a covered patio. Enjoy a game of horseshoes, watching the elks and deer walk by, or gaze at the huge sky full of shinning stars! If you just can’t get away from work, our house has wireless internet, and a walk-up computer, you can use to access your e-mail. We want our guests to feel like they are in their own home, when they stay with us. To accomplish this feeling we will generally not have more than 6 guests at one time, and we will only have two groups of guests at one time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estes Park Bed & Breakfast CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing