We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brynwood on the River
Ranked #14 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murphy, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Recommended by friends and trip advisor, we chose to stay in the the motel unit of this property. Our room, Columbine, #16, was lovely. It had a king bed, tv with dvd player, kitchenette big enough for one but with what is needed and a vanity and bathroom. We loved the room and the location. Nice view of the Never Summer mountains. The wi-fi is the fastest I've every had in any lodging establishment! A ceiling fan would really help air ciruclation as the A/C unit was a bit persnicketty. Disappointed with the hot tub; it's tiny. Both sets of owners are friednly and helpful. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revdrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    37
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
77
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

Great and comforable. Very Overpriced And not good food

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Peeta_Mellark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
I was confused with your comment on how we don't have good food...we have no restaurant, just full kitchens in the cabins and kitchenettes in the motel, so we have no food here at all! Perhaps you stayed elsewhere and just thought it was Brynwood. We are sorry you thought we were overpriced. We went 3 years without raising any rates and went up this year just 2 or 3 dollars to offset utility, minimum wage and other price increases. We are told how reasonable our rates are all the time! Hopefully you might give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Good location about 2 1/4 miles from Rocky Mountain Natl. Park entrance and 1 1/2 miles or so from center of town. Nice mountain views. Rabbits and elk may be seen on property. I stayed in one of the motel rooms, which was clean and equiped with dishes and kitchen utensils, stove, refrigerator, etc. Two queen sized beds. A/C and heating for cold weather.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The website is beautiful and misleading. This place is not nice or relaxing. The property is similar to the website. As you drive in the property is beautiful. Green grass and pretty decorations, but once you get passed that you see the old run down buildings and the yard is unkept and pathetic. Very disappointing. 

Only 1 cabin is actually ON the river,but it's got trees and vegetation as a wall between the patio and the river. All others cabins are set back from the river and also have walls of vegetation and an unkept wild yard between them and the water. You can not see the water from the cabins and the view is terrible. 

Extremely old and thin walls. Got woke up 4 times between 7am & 8:30 am by the neighbors revving motorcycles. This continued until after 9am. When Called the front desk we were told they were having trouble with one of the 4 bikes and had to work on it. She said "we had to jump start one of them" making me believe that she not only knew that it was going on, but they were involved in the problem. The noise just kept getting worse and nothing was done about it. Then the fumes from the bike being continually run near our window started comin in even though the window was closed the entire time. We had it closed before that because the screen was too badly damaged to open it without letting bugs in. 

Older Woman with raspy voice that usually answers the phone is rude and acts like she is being inconvenienced every time we talked to her. Even to get the address so we could find the place because they only list a po box on their website. That should have been our first clue this week was going to suck. 

Housekeeping doesn't make your bed, change sheets, do dishes or clean up, but they still expect tips anyway. Not sure what for. They only refresh the towels that are on the floor. You can call and tell them not to come, but they are rude when you do and want you to call the morning of and every morning you dont want to tip them for nothing. There is no do not disturb sign like every other place on the planet. So much for sleeping in. 

Don't waste your time or money. This place is not worth it. 

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kimico_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here at Brynwood. You didn't say what cabin you stayed in, but we get feedback all the time about great views and how wonderful it is staying down by the river. It is a natural, mountain setting along the river. The one cabin closest to the river was built in the flood plane, as are several others and were built as close to the river as variances allow, they are still only 25'+ from the river depending on which one you are in. The cabins have been painted and are in great repair...we have put huge effort into the inside of each cabin so that they are homey, tastefully decorated with various themes and most of all comfortable...a home away from home!
As far as people having car or motorcycle trouble, that's just out of our control. We are sorry that happened, the problem was just trying to be resolved. We keep jumper cables here etc. to try and help people with car trouble. People make reservations, we have no control over what mode of transportation they use to arrive in.
We've been told our staff bends over backwards for people and are always helpful and friendly...our service to our guests is of upmost importance to us. We have a great customer base built of repeat business and word of mouth from those who have stayed here...we are so sorry that you won't be one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Wow! What a pleasant and awesome discovery by finding this quaint cabin by the river in the Rockies. We had a two bedroom cabin with the river running right out the front door off the patio which also included private hot tub! Cabin was adequately furnished with kitchentte. Wireless internet was included as well. We had problems with the microwave and contacted the front desk and within an hour, a new microwave was delivered. Lots of wildlife to watch from the front window or right from the patio. Will definitely return and worth the little extra that you pay for a cabin versus a hotel room. Located just minutes from downtown Estes and the entrance to Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park. You're missing out if you drive by without stopping!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLP1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I stated three nights in "Marigold" – which is Room number 18 of the motel portion of the Brynwood property. The motel is located downstairs on the front section of the property. Individual cabins are located between the motel and the Big Thompson River. We loved our stay and found the room to be just what we needed. Our motel unit consisted of a main room furnished with two queen sized beds, four chairs, a small drop-leaf table, and a picture window; a small kitchenette equipped with a small fridge, microwave, two burner electric stove, a sink, and a few pots, pans, plates and cooking utensils; a dressing room with sink and clothes storage area; and a bathroom with a fiberglass tub/shower combo and a toilet. The room had a window A/C unit and a separate wall heater located in the main room. There was a large covered porch with benches on the front of the motel that was a great place to sit and look at the mountains. The place is quite old and the furnishings dated but it was all very well cared for, clean, and functional. Check-in and out were very quick and pleasant and the clerk provided us with suggestions for wildlife viewing areas. There is a heated pool (82 degrees) and a small hot tub located adjacent to the motel section of the property. We used the hot-tub each night during our stay and it was wonderful. The motel section is located adjacent to the highway that runs to Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP) so there was a lot of traffic and road noise during the day. But the traffic and noise subsided after approx. 7:00 p.m. and things got pretty quiet. The best part of the motel is the view! The motel faces the mountains and the view is gorgeous. At sundown one evening, while we were sitting on the porch bench, several elk came strolling across the property immediately across the roadway – pretty neat! Brynwood is very well located and is only about a mile east of the Beaver Meadows Visitor Center, 1.5 mile east of the RMNP entrance, and approx. 1.5 miles west of downtown Estes Park. There was a bus stop for the free shuttle (came by once per hour) about 100 yards west of the Brynwood entrance. As a word of warning, if you are one of those folks that require a newer chain-type motel with all of the associated amenities, Brynwood might not be the place for you. But if you don't mind something that's a little older and unique, you will probably find Brynwood to be a very decent place . My wife and I paid approximately $120 per night which we thought was a good price for such a well located, comfortable, and clean place with such a great view. We definitely plan on staying at Brynwood again in the future.

Room Tip: Call the Brynwood directly and book your room. It seems to be a bit cheaper than goingthrough the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AustinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Brynwood on the River for four nights in early September as a base for our hikes in Rocky Mountain National Park and it fit our needs very well.
Our "thirty something" daughter has joined us for the past four years to hike in the western National Parks in the fall. We like to have a separate bedroom for her for her privacy and # 19 (called Paint Brush) in the Lodge was just perfect. It included a microwave and small refrigerator as well as a separate room for her. We worried that it was right on the road but things quiet down fairly early and we were not bothered at all by the traffic. The room was clean, the appliances, the heater, a/c and overhead fans all worked well.
We enjoyed the heated pool and the hot tub jacuzzi after our hikes, too.
And the real bonus was that it was a short drive to the entrance of Rocky Mountain NP so we did not have to drive through down town Estes Park and the heavy traffic during Labor Day weekend.
Lucy, the manager, was very helpful in suggesting hikes and scenic drives as well as restaurants and attractions. We would stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnmarie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#30 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Property: Brynwood on the River
Address: 710 Moraine Avenue, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park
Brynwood On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing