We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have to Set the Record Straight - Love this Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brynwood on the River
Ranked #14 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“I have to Set the Record Straight - Love this Place”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This property is a combination of creature comforts (wifi, cable tv, swimming pool, hot tubs) and CREATURES! We have stayed at the cabins two summers in a row, (approx. 5 days apiece).

The property is 'natural.' Meaning, that they dont have sod that they mow. I LOVE THAT! The river runs through the lower section of their lot, and there are many spots to sit outside and listen to the trees and the river and just relax. Actually, you can even sit in the river. My mom and I took our patio chairs and placed them in the shallow part of the river and played cards for hours. Your imagination kicks into high gear when you are surrounded by beauty.
If you are so inclined, take a swim; the fresh white towels in the office are a nice touch! Take a walk - you can wander over to a cute grocery store and stock up on supplies. Or wander over to the nice wine shop a few blocks away. No need to go without my Clois du Bois.
For technophiles, grab your iPad and work wirelessly in the cabins. Or watch a movie on cable or DVR. Really, there is so much to do on property, that I could stay here a day or two just taking it all in.

Also, it is very simple to get your shop on and go into the ADORBLE downtown Estes. The people are so nice; the shops are cute; the food is good. We also liked going up to the Stanley for breakfasts. Really a nice experience.

When we tired of hiking in the unspeakably breathtaking RMNP, we would go back to our cabin and see what Mama Nature wanted to present to us. If you are a nature lover such as I, then you will be boldly suprised by the beautiful animals that wander on to the property.
Where do I begin? Deer that came so close to my mom they almost touched her hair. Stunning Elk that sun themselves on the grass for hours, then tromp through the river when the sun sets. Birds of so many variety I bought a book in town and started birdwatching. Fishing - which I do not do - but saw others having a great time. But the coolest encounter by far, was last September, while I was watching two HUGE elks rub their backs on trees so wildly that the trees looked like they may snap, my mom called out to me, watch out, BEAR. And yes, while I was staring at the ELK, a black bear ran by. And after the excitement wore off, we jumped in our hot tub and discussed our day with a cold glass of wine.
I LOVE THIS PLACE. Not Kidding. Go.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    38
    14
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleburne, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

First of all, the pics on the website were/are a little mixed up. The property is small and the cabins are pretty much on top of one another. We stayed #10, which was supposed to be the most private and right on the Big Thompson River. Well.....it was more private than the others and we were on the river, but we had to go down the hill to get to the river and of course climb back up. All in all it was ok but I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
We are so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. THE HIDE-A-WAY cabin is one of many preferred cabins on the property. When making the reservation you are told that it overlooks the river...we will make sure that we train our staff to say that you have to walk down the hill to get to the river, but it is one of the more private cabins surrounded by trees. There are cabins VERY close to the river that to get in you need to reserved if not the previous summer, at least by January to get in them, but they are not surrounded by trees like the Hide-a-way cabin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We recently stayed 5 days in the Long's Peak House, which is one of the vacation homes operated by Brynwood on the River. This trip was a gift to our parents, and this house was perfect for our needs. We had three families - three couples and two children including a baby - and there were more than enough bedrooms and bathrooms and living area to accomodate all of us while giving us some space when needed. The main/ground floor has two masters, one of which is monstrous in size and has 2 walls covered with windows that look out at the mountains (including Long's Peak). Stairs lead down to the bottom floor, which is partially built into the side of the hill but still has some windows. There is a deck outside the kitchen/dining area, where there are a couple tables that can accomodate a large group (12-16 people?). We sat on the deck in the evenings enjoying the view while spotting prairie dogs, a badger, ground squirrels, mule deer, and other critters. The kitchen was furnished with a stove/cooktop, microwave, refrigerator, and dishwasher, and associated cooking and eating utensils. There was also a clothes washer and dryer in the downstairs bathroom which worked well. For our baby, there was a playpen as well as a "pack 'n play" where our little guy could hang out and sleep. The house was very clean and, though not brand new, was well taken care of. The location of the house was good - about 10 minutes by car to downtown or to the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park. Downsides? The main downside was the water pressure, and the showers and faucets fluctuated depending on who was using the water at any given time. After we figured out what was going on, we adjusted to avoid taking showers while others were doing the same. Another minor downside might only apply to hot, summer days. There are window A/C units in the two master bedrooms and in the main living room area. It was in the mid 80's to low 90's (farenheit) while we were there, and the A/C units kept the rooms reasonably well cooled. On rare hotter days (91+ farenheit), I suspect the main floor might be a bit warm in the mid-to-late afternoon. (The downstairs bedrooms and living room remained nice and cool during the days due to its being built into the ground.) The owners/managers of the property that we dealt with were very nice. Overall, we were very happy with our accomodations, and we would return to this location and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoftwareBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, TX
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Recommended by friends and trip advisor, we chose to stay in the the motel unit of this property. Our room, Columbine, #16, was lovely. It had a king bed, tv with dvd player, kitchenette big enough for one but with what is needed and a vanity and bathroom. We loved the room and the location. Nice view of the Never Summer mountains. The wi-fi is the fastest I've every had in any lodging establishment! A ceiling fan would really help air ciruclation as the A/C unit was a bit persnicketty. Disappointed with the hot tub; it's tiny. Both sets of owners are friednly and helpful. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revdrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012 via mobile

Great and comforable. Very Overpriced And not good food

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Peeta_Mellark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
I was confused with your comment on how we don't have good food...we have no restaurant, just full kitchens in the cabins and kitchenettes in the motel, so we have no food here at all! Perhaps you stayed elsewhere and just thought it was Brynwood. We are sorry you thought we were overpriced. We went 3 years without raising any rates and went up this year just 2 or 3 dollars to offset utility, minimum wage and other price increases. We are told how reasonable our rates are all the time! Hopefully you might give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Good location about 2 1/4 miles from Rocky Mountain Natl. Park entrance and 1 1/2 miles or so from center of town. Nice mountain views. Rabbits and elk may be seen on property. I stayed in one of the motel rooms, which was clean and equiped with dishes and kitchen utensils, stove, refrigerator, etc. Two queen sized beds. A/C and heating for cold weather.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The website is beautiful and misleading. This place is not nice or relaxing. The property is similar to the website. As you drive in the property is beautiful. Green grass and pretty decorations, but once you get passed that you see the old run down buildings and the yard is unkept and pathetic. Very disappointing. 

Only 1 cabin is actually ON the river,but it's got trees and vegetation as a wall between the patio and the river. All others cabins are set back from the river and also have walls of vegetation and an unkept wild yard between them and the water. You can not see the water from the cabins and the view is terrible. 

Extremely old and thin walls. Got woke up 4 times between 7am & 8:30 am by the neighbors revving motorcycles. This continued until after 9am. When Called the front desk we were told they were having trouble with one of the 4 bikes and had to work on it. She said "we had to jump start one of them" making me believe that she not only knew that it was going on, but they were involved in the problem. The noise just kept getting worse and nothing was done about it. Then the fumes from the bike being continually run near our window started comin in even though the window was closed the entire time. We had it closed before that because the screen was too badly damaged to open it without letting bugs in. 

Older Woman with raspy voice that usually answers the phone is rude and acts like she is being inconvenienced every time we talked to her. Even to get the address so we could find the place because they only list a po box on their website. That should have been our first clue this week was going to suck. 

Housekeeping doesn't make your bed, change sheets, do dishes or clean up, but they still expect tips anyway. Not sure what for. They only refresh the towels that are on the floor. You can call and tell them not to come, but they are rude when you do and want you to call the morning of and every morning you dont want to tip them for nothing. There is no do not disturb sign like every other place on the planet. So much for sleeping in. 

Don't waste your time or money. This place is not worth it. 

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kimico_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynwoodontheRiver, Owner at Brynwood on the River, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here at Brynwood. You didn't say what cabin you stayed in, but we get feedback all the time about great views and how wonderful it is staying down by the river. It is a natural, mountain setting along the river. The one cabin closest to the river was built in the flood plane, as are several others and were built as close to the river as variances allow, they are still only 25'+ from the river depending on which one you are in. The cabins have been painted and are in great repair...we have put huge effort into the inside of each cabin so that they are homey, tastefully decorated with various themes and most of all comfortable...a home away from home!
As far as people having car or motorcycle trouble, that's just out of our control. We are sorry that happened, the problem was just trying to be resolved. We keep jumper cables here etc. to try and help people with car trouble. People make reservations, we have no control over what mode of transportation they use to arrive in.
We've been told our staff bends over backwards for people and are always helpful and friendly...our service to our guests is of upmost importance to us. We have a great customer base built of repeat business and word of mouth from those who have stayed here...we are so sorry that you won't be one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
311 reviews
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Property: Brynwood on the River
Address: 710 Moraine Ave, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517-8004
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park
Brynwood On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing