We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brynwood on the River
Ranked #14 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Brynwood several times a year for over 7 years ...maybe more. It's our "go to"place. We have stayed at many of the cabins and found all of them great! The staff is friendly and helpful. If you need something...just ask and they are happy to see to your needs. Private but not totally isolated. Relaxing hot tubs, decks, porches and grills are a plus!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    38
    14
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alamosa, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I won't admit to a number, but some months ago, my family suggested we all go away to celebrate my "very significant birthday" coming up in January. Time off being so precious, we decided to "get away" around New Year's. We discussed many places, but ultimately chose Estes Park. I think sometimes we forget how very close RMNP is to us, and how fortunate we are that such a wonderful park is in our backyard! We don't go there nearly enough. And the Park is especially lovely in winter. Deciding on Estes, we needed to find a place which would hold all of us, several generations - many different expectations. (This area suffered greatly from the Flood of 2013.) My family would take care of details. Well, they chose well - it was exceptional! It exceeded all of our expectations. This place is lovely, remote (tho just off a main drag) - just over a mile into town - just over a mile to RMNP. We reserved the cabin, Rock'n River, which is officially considered a River Cabin - the gal they spoke with to make the reservation said, If it were summer, you could toss your line in the River from the deck! We thought she was exaggerating - but she was not. The River flows right next to the aspens which were next to our deck and hottub! (I felt bad to see carvings on the trees - some people are uncouth!) The hottub got much more use than we expected - we were in every day! At the back of our cabin, it was extremely secluded and private. A memorable family photo will surely be the one of 5 bobbing heads (complete with winter hats) in the tub as it snowed. The River caused havoc in September, but by January, it was subdued and partially covered with ice and snow, making for wonderful photos - the whole property is quiet and lovely - tho other cabins were occupied. Somehow you feel while there, as if the place is all yours - at least we did. I highly recommend this cabin, tho we never saw the inside of others. Their website has nice descriptions w/photos. The grounds are full of pines, swings in the yard, trails to walk, and the River right there. Though there are homes nearby and across the River, there was little to no activity there. Our cabin appeared much smaller as you approach, but in fact, it's long and roomy. We arrived on Thursday; the cabin was spic and span. Lots of towels (for the hottub), extremely comfortable beds, TV in the l.r.. We picked up our paperwork; didn't even meet the manager till the next morning. He was friendly and gave suggestions as to where we might see elk. The Resort was full. Folks had canceled reservations because of the flood, but I'm happy they got new people, as this place is truly lovely. Our log cabin was decorated with cute bears and rustic, a wonderful wood fireplace in the corner - we burned a fire a lot. An endless supply of wood up near the Office, so we "gathered wood" a lot. The cabin was two bedrooms, totaling 3 queen-sized beds. A small bath with a quirky shower, but lots of hot water when you figured out how to get the shower going! The toilet had a handle which you had to jiggle some. The tap water was sparkling and wonderfully cold. The kitchenette and small social area had the fireplace, a TV, and the heat worked great. It was extremely cold while we were there - thanks for good heat! One small issue - in the bedroom with 2 beds, the heat vent was over the one bed. It was blowing on the person in that bed, so we lowered the heat some, and all was OK. Not a biggie. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, silverware, glasses, even wine glasses. We took plenty of food with us, but ate out several times. Our first morning there, we went to RMNP to find elk - haha. The ranger said they were hunkered down in the trees, snow was on the way. It became VERY windy, and storm clouds appeared with fog. That was lovely to see over the mountains, even as folks were heading into the woods to snowshoe and hike. Before snow, on our warmest day there (not that warm), one of the kids wanted to ice skate - believe it or not, a small Company floods a small park in the middle of town during the winter - they rent out skates and the people come to skate - we gave that a try, and it was one of the most fun things we did. Folks skating are seen from the Main Street and more and more people want to do it. It's quite a perfect little temporary business! Besides town, we truly enjoyed walking the Resort property, along the River. Though other reviewers mention seeing lots of wildlife here, we did not - it was just too cold and snow on the way. That was somewhat disappointing, but trying to find them entertained the little ones. We saw scat and once, in town, a lonely rabbit was near the stores - lots of elk scat in town, too. The snow arrived as predicted on Saturday AM - so boardgames, some TV/movies in the cabin along with lots of food. Also, no problem with cell reception. By Saturday afternoon, 10-12" of snow had arrived! Very beautiful. The rental was very interesting - their minimum stay was 2 nights, and they had a special when we called. If you stayed 2 nights, you got the 3rd night free. Say what? Our planned couple days out of town became a 3 night stay in a truly lovely corner of the world. It was a wonderful time away and a relaxing time for all. One mile from the center of congested Estes Park, we enjoyed a small slice of Heaven next to a (once again) sedate River surrounded by pines. The morning it snowed, management showed up to sweep our deck, knock down the dangerous icicles, and even cleared snow from around our car. The help all around was excellent. Towels were refreshed daily, they let you know linens are not changed that often (that's OK out here to save water). A note on the sink asks you to wash your own dishes - no worries there. One thing I would change, but we never took the time to ask about it: at home we recycle everything possible and even compost our kitchen waste. So we brought home our recycling, but tossed our kitchen waste daily (removed by the help). Next time I'd ask if we were somehow able to recycle that? Upon leaving, you're encouraged to leave a tip for the cleaning folks - we did, of course, and complimented them with a nice tip. We were extremely pleased. This is not an inexpensive place - this weekend for us was a very special occasion, but it was very, very nice, and I recommend Brynwood highly.

Room Tip: The Rock'n River is very private in a corner of the Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_g_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The place was infused with great Colorado culture and fun. From the location to the glorious amenities, the cabin was the perfect fit. AND OH MY GOODNESS.... The cutest little animals running throughout the yard. This San Diego boy turned into a Estes Park man. Thanks for the great place! Def will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chadvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Overall, we had an incredible experience here. The cabin had a sense of tranquility and peace that is difficult to describe. When the evils of the 9-5 work week, hours of traffic, and daily stresses have weighed you down, come here to the Great Outdoors to be cleansed and set free.

After a short stay, I already feel like a new soul. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank brianjo1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The cabin we stayed in was a fantastic value in a great location. Elk and turkeys frequently visited and the light snow only added to the "Estes Park" experience. The service at Brynwood was fabulous and their consistent communication made it easy to plan our Estes Park vacation with much ease.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kak757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

we stayed in the African Safari cabin while on vacation in July, reasonable price, cabin was clean but dated, rather small, and close to the highway. Quite a bit of traffic noise in the evenings. If we stayed again we would look at staying in a cabin farther away from the highway

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank h20park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washingon, Kansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in the Americana cabin and was very pleased. The cabin was clean and adequate. The kitchenette and gas grill came in very handy in preparing meals. The screened porch was great for early mornings and evenings. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSchottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
1.5 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynwood on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynwood on the River

Property: Brynwood on the River
Address: 710 Moraine Ave, P.O. Box 1929, Estes Park, CO 80517-8004
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brynwood on the River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynwood has theme cabins, motel and vacation homes at the mouth of Rocky Mountain National Park, one mile from Estes Park. Some cabins are right on the Big Thompson River, have fireplaces and private hot tubs. We have a heated pool, hot tub and wading pool area. We offer cleanliness, a home away from home atmosphere with free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brynwood on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynwood On The River Hotel Estes Park
Brynwood On The River Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing