We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We expected better based on prior reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
McComb, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“We expected better based on prior reviews”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this motel for two nights based on the other recommendations posted of Trip Advisor. I must admit we were disappointed with the property as it was outdated and in need of some upgrades. We got a king room and it was hard to move around because of the limited space. I had a difficult time trying to maintain the temperature in the room as the A/C didn't seem to blow cold air during the warmer part of the day. The heating unit in the room seemed to be generating heat even with the thermostat set low which should have shut it off.

Our room was at the far end of the property and the so called wireless internet connection was spotty and several times I had to go outside to pick up a signal. I complained to the front desk about this and they said the recent flooding had impacted their wi-fi so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. They were still in recovery mode in Estes Park from the recent flooding and I'll give the place credit for trying to help out the local residents who had been flooded out of their homes.

Room Tip: If you can't lift your luggage stay on first floor as no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    159
    77
    34
    12
See reviews for
129
172
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Following the disastrous flooding of two weeks ago, Estes Park, Colorado has been virtually isolated at a most in opportune time.......the peak fall tourist season with the annual elk rut!!

Because of the flooding, a normal hour drive from just north of Denver, has become a three hour adventure! All of Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park's campgrounds have closed for the season, as well as the seven private campgrounds in the Estes Park area......to my point......the hosts refused to charge me anything to park my camper on a nice level area next to their lodge....just asked if I would mention it on TRIP ADVISOR. Thank you Coyote management!!
Bob--a "happy camper"

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Roomy unit, older in styling, but well maintained. Friendly helpful front desk. Good location, just outside of the downtown area. Free parking. Had a jaccuzi & pool that we did not use. We stayed here on the run-up to July 4, so peak of tourist season. Rate for this time was $89/night. Considering season and tourist location, rate was competitive. Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your nice review!
We always appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked a vintage room as we were staying in multiple hotels and motels. This was an interesting choice. It would have been OK but we had no fridge. Now, that was disappointing, given that I generally expect a fridge, more so in less expensive places.
That being said, the room was clean and tidy and the staff helpful. The rest of Estes Park was fully booked, so I was very pleased to have a room at a good price!
Nothing else to say really.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthPair12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We offer a variety of rooms to fit the needs of our many different guests. We do offer rooms with a refrigerator and microwave and/or remodeled rooms for a small charge. Our retro rooms are more budget friendly. Thanks and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in a vintage queen room for $59. Check-in was quick and very friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The bathroom is dated, but everything was spotless. The only drawback was some of the wallpaper was peeling. They do have a pool and a hot tub we did not use. It is an easy walk down the hill into town, just over a mile. We would definitely stay here again. There is no breakfast, but Safeway and McDonalds are just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very nice motel, rooms are extremely clean, very affordable, great location! Minutes away from downtown Estes Park and lakes, very close to the Rocky Mountains.
The staff is extremely polite and friendly.
Will definitely recommend this place to family or friends.
We traveled during the recent rain storm which washed a half of the town into the river and the owners were extremely helpful, making sure to accommodate everyone, they went above and beyond to advise the people of current situation and making all arrangements to keep people safe during the storm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanislav_dymik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I agree with the other reviews. We stayed on Sunday night of the Labor Day weekend and paid a decent price in a tourist town on a very busy weekend. We stayed in an un-renovated room, but it was clean and comfortable (although the bathroom is tiny). We were missing most of the towels, but the front desk took care of us very quickly and so it wasn't a big deal.

Since we were planning on being in the national park early the next morning, we didn't have time to take care of any of the amenities, but maybe will be able to do so next time.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLS921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,013 reviews
2.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Property: Coyote Mountain Lodge
Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel
Coyote Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing