We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The room needed cleaning and updating.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The room needed cleaning and updating.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staff were friendly enough, and the front desk and lobby was neat and clean. But the room was very dirty. The carpet was filthy, the bathtub nasty, the vent full of spider webs and dirt. Its pink sink was chipped. The bed was nice but it took up the entire room. Not a great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have spoken with our housekeeping staff of this issue. If you would have told us of this after you checked in we would have happily given you a different room and had that one cleaned immediately. We are also in the process of updating our bathrooms over the winter. Our staff are always willing to accommodate our guests so please feel free to ask for a newly remodeled room and/or a more spacious room! We hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    156
    76
    33
    11
See reviews for
124
169
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Room was very outdated and had spiderwebs in corners along with moths all in room and under the bed covers. The batbroom was tiny and the door opened up to rest against a wall mounted propane heater that very well could have caught our room on fire. The tub was cracked and had chunks of enamel missing from it and I wasn't able to bathe my child in it. Overall very unhappy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke052489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. If you would have told us of this during your stay we would have happily given you a different room. Thank you for notifying us of the moths, we have since remedied this. We are also in the process of updating our bathrooms. Our staff is always willing to accommodate our guests so please feel free to ask for a newly remodeled room! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here in september, our room was spacious, clean and we even ha a sofa to sit on.
We made ourself a pick-nick outside , becaus there is a big pick-nicktable you can use.
Sraff where very friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianaBrasschaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We take pride in our gracious friendly staff and always appreciate your business. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

First let me say we came to the Coyote straight from the Red Cross Shelter--zip line rescuees from Glen Haven flooding. We came with two golden retrievers and each a backpack!! Jessica kept the office open late to receive us and was extremely helpful. Our accommodations were clean, attractive and very comfortable. We can't say enough for this facility and it's staff. A disaster brings out the true character of people and facilities--and I rate excellent in all categories for the Coyote!! Any who have complained about issues outside their control--like wireless service--need to understand that these services were disrupted in the entire area!! Our hats off to Jessica and when I come back in 6 months to a year to remove my car stranded on a Glen Haven mountain, I will bring her some Tootsie Rolls!

Oh, got our first view of Elk from our balcony!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your great review! Our friendly staff is happy to help in anyway they can and appreciate your lovely complements. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Basically Coyote Mountain Lodge was one of the greatest hotel/hospitality experiences we've ever had. We were completely stranded in Estes Park for 3 days due to the flooding in Colorado. Sadie and her mother basically helped us in every manner possible and then some. They let us use their dryers to dry our completely soaked clothing (we tried camping in the Rocky Mountains the night before to pretty disastrous results). They let us use their phone to make important phone calls, direct us to where ever they thought we could get help, and even arranged for someone to give us a ride over the mountains (the only road out of town at that point). We would have never caught our flight out of Colorado otherwise.

We should also mention we had a great room for a cheap price, and basically everything we needed there. We just wanted to say thanks and let everyone know that this place really saved us when we were desperate. We can't recommend it enough.

John and Anneli

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for you lovely review! Our ultimate goal is for guests to leave as happy as you. Thank you for letting us make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our staff loves to help anyway they can and appreciates your complements. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McComb, Ohio
Level Contributor
189 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this motel for two nights based on the other recommendations posted of Trip Advisor. I must admit we were disappointed with the property as it was outdated and in need of some upgrades. We got a king room and it was hard to move around because of the limited space. I had a difficult time trying to maintain the temperature in the room as the A/C didn't seem to blow cold air during the warmer part of the day. The heating unit in the room seemed to be generating heat even with the thermostat set low which should have shut it off.

Our room was at the far end of the property and the so called wireless internet connection was spotty and several times I had to go outside to pick up a signal. I complained to the front desk about this and they said the recent flooding had impacted their wi-fi so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. They were still in recovery mode in Estes Park from the recent flooding and I'll give the place credit for trying to help out the local residents who had been flooded out of their homes.

Room Tip: If you can't lift your luggage stay on first floor as no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Following the disastrous flooding of two weeks ago, Estes Park, Colorado has been virtually isolated at a most in opportune time.......the peak fall tourist season with the annual elk rut!!

Because of the flooding, a normal hour drive from just north of Denver, has become a three hour adventure! All of Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park's campgrounds have closed for the season, as well as the seven private campgrounds in the Estes Park area......to my point......the hosts refused to charge me anything to park my camper on a nice level area next to their lodge....just asked if I would mention it on TRIP ADVISOR. Thank you Coyote management!!
Bob--a "happy camper"

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Property: Coyote Mountain Lodge
Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel
Coyote Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing