We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rates in Town and Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent the weekend up in Estes Park for my sister's 40th birthday and the town is EXPENSIVE! We stopped at two other motels that were both charging around $100 / night which was above our budget. The Coyote had a sign that read $59 so we stopped.

This property is a total throwback to the good ol' days of road tripping in the station wagon and it's great! The staff was really friendly, unlike the other two places we checked, the lobby and office are newly remodeled. They explained that there are new owners and that they are remodeling the the motel rooms as well.

We checked a few rooms and they were all very quaint and clean. The two rooms we rented were great, very comfortable mattresses, very clean. Sure, it's nostalgic but both of our rooms had new bathrooms, pretty much everything was new. My understanding is that there were even cheaper rooms that were not remodeled but they were all taken.

I read some of the other reviews before writing this and all I can say is that if you're on a budget and are not willing to spend $100 per night you should be happy that there's an alternative in Estes Park.

Oh and they have a great hot tub that was perfect after our cold hike.

I really think that the best park was the friendly staff. Believe it or not, the other front desk people at the other more expensive motels were rude and unfriendly. The Coyote was down to earth, cozy, real and homey as was the price. We'll stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Chose a new room if available but even the older rooms are probably fine relative to the over priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicalynn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review!
We are in the process of remodeling our rooms while still trying to keep the retro / vintage vibe from when the motel was built. We are glad that we were able to make your stay in Estes Park enjoyable. We take pride in our wonderful staff and the little things we can do to make your stay great!

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

had a remodeled room. Cost is extra for that-- Room was nice enough, but... the heater had NOT been updated and did not work at all. Had to get 2 space heaters from the front desk. When we let them know the heat did not work? the response was "oh, isn't there a space heater in there?" so... they were aware that the heat did not work. So.... a bit of a mixed bag. Nice front desk and nice room overall, but... heat is rather important when it's below freezing outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wings1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We apologize for the heater, we were in the process of replacing it but had to wait for the vacancy to install it. It has since been replaced. We also like to offer a variety of rooms (suites, remodeled rooms, retro rooms, condos and so on) at different costs to fit the needs of our guests.
Thanks and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staff were friendly enough, and the front desk and lobby was neat and clean. But the room was very dirty. The carpet was filthy, the bathtub nasty, the vent full of spider webs and dirt. Its pink sink was chipped. The bed was nice but it took up the entire room. Not a great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have spoken with our housekeeping staff of this issue. If you would have told us of this after you checked in we would have happily given you a different room and had that one cleaned immediately. We are also in the process of updating our bathrooms over the winter. Our staff are always willing to accommodate our guests so please feel free to ask for a newly remodeled room and/or a more spacious room! We hope to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Room was very outdated and had spiderwebs in corners along with moths all in room and under the bed covers. The batbroom was tiny and the door opened up to rest against a wall mounted propane heater that very well could have caught our room on fire. The tub was cracked and had chunks of enamel missing from it and I wasn't able to bathe my child in it. Overall very unhappy.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooke052489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your valued feedback. If you would have told us of this during your stay we would have happily given you a different room. Thank you for notifying us of the moths, we have since remedied this. We are also in the process of updating our bathrooms. Our staff is always willing to accommodate our guests so please feel free to ask for a newly remodeled room! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here in september, our room was spacious, clean and we even ha a sofa to sit on.
We made ourself a pick-nick outside , becaus there is a big pick-nicktable you can use.
Sraff where very friendly

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianaBrasschaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We take pride in our gracious friendly staff and always appreciate your business. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

First let me say we came to the Coyote straight from the Red Cross Shelter--zip line rescuees from Glen Haven flooding. We came with two golden retrievers and each a backpack!! Jessica kept the office open late to receive us and was extremely helpful. Our accommodations were clean, attractive and very comfortable. We can't say enough for this facility and it's staff. A disaster brings out the true character of people and facilities--and I rate excellent in all categories for the Coyote!! Any who have complained about issues outside their control--like wireless service--need to understand that these services were disrupted in the entire area!! Our hats off to Jessica and when I come back in 6 months to a year to remove my car stranded on a Glen Haven mountain, I will bring her some Tootsie Rolls!

Oh, got our first view of Elk from our balcony!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your great review! Our friendly staff is happy to help in anyway they can and appreciate your lovely complements. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Basically Coyote Mountain Lodge was one of the greatest hotel/hospitality experiences we've ever had. We were completely stranded in Estes Park for 3 days due to the flooding in Colorado. Sadie and her mother basically helped us in every manner possible and then some. They let us use their dryers to dry our completely soaked clothing (we tried camping in the Rocky Mountains the night before to pretty disastrous results). They let us use their phone to make important phone calls, direct us to where ever they thought we could get help, and even arranged for someone to give us a ride over the mountains (the only road out of town at that point). We would have never caught our flight out of Colorado otherwise.

We should also mention we had a great room for a cheap price, and basically everything we needed there. We just wanted to say thanks and let everyone know that this place really saved us when we were desperate. We can't recommend it enough.

John and Anneli

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for you lovely review! Our ultimate goal is for guests to leave as happy as you. Thank you for letting us make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our staff loves to help anyway they can and appreciates your complements. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.1 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range: £48 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel
Coyote Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing