We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, retro motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Charming, retro motel.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This property is well worth considering. It is priced below most of the competition. The owners and staff are welcoming and seem to be constantly improving the rooms. Ours was not one of the recently renovated, but it was lovely and clean. The bed was new and cosy, the walls seem freshly painted and the attempts to make guests comfortable are noticeable. We recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    158
    76
    33
    11
See reviews for
124
170
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family and I recently took a 10 day trip and stayed in 7 different hotels. The Coyote Mountain Lodge was by far the worst hotel we stayed in. The beds were so hard I could hardly sleep. My shoulders were sore the next day from trying lay on them on the bed. To the hotel's credit they did refund us the money for the second night we were supposed to stay. I could not subject my body to the torture again so we changed our plans and left Estes Park early because of the night we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikVakula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

The reviews are accurate. This is a retro.....fixer upper for a great price. We paid $69 a night- 5 night stay. You could tell they were working to fix up the property, but it never disturbed us. The pool was closed due to repair, but it was too cold to swim....so no big deal. The room was very clean....carpet I definitely could walk barefoot on and not worry about scum on it. It had a mini fridge......older TV....comfy queen bed, and dependable maid service. The office staff were very friendly and professional. My only suggestion, and the reason for my 4 rating, is that when you take a shower.....its like being at home when someone flushes the toilet and hot water scolds you or cold water freezes you......on steroids. I didn't care for that......but I dealt with it and I would definitely stay there again. I would also suggest mounting the TV and setting a microwave oven in the room. That would have been an improvement for not that much. It was a quiet stay and we never heard our neighbors....very quiet, friendly, clean, comfy, and worth the savings. But if you are a princess.....probably not your deal :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ccc9958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poteau, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This older motel has been well maintained and is very clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast of oatmeal and coffee was perfect for us. The view from our room was beautiful and one morning walked up on a fox passing through just behind our room! There is a walking/biking trail that will take you to the downtown area or just a short walk to the lake. So many elk were spotted IN TOWN during our stay. For advice on things to do, stop in the visitors center.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OKwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I will say that it had a good view and all of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room however was terrible. It was extremely small and dirty. You could see light the entire way around the door and there were bugs in the room. The bathroom floor was noticeably sloped and felt like it was coming apart from the rest of the room. The walls are paper thin and I got no sleep because I could hear other guests making noise and talking in their rooms. I will not stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremiah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Three family members traveling together stayed here for 2 nights. The Coyote Mountain Lodge is an older structure but much is being done to bring it current. The room was tight but very clean and had new carpeting and mattresses. If you plan to stay in your room for your entire vacation, this is not for you. But, if you want a pleasant clean room to return to after a day exploring Estes Park, with friendly staff at the desk, this place does just fine.

The price is very reasonable and they have a list of local restaurants by the desk. We ate breakfast at Molly B's twice and it did not disappoint. We also had lunch at the Meadow Mountain Cafe in Allenspark.

The pool was not open but it was too cool to swim while we were there, so we didn't miss it!
We hope to return to Estes Park in the future and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainlvr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

After our reservation got cancelled, this motel took us in at a discounted rate. Nice sitting room, A little more off the road with a walking trail. Room was tight. They added a mini fridge so the sofa bed couldn't open. We asked to leave a day early, and they gave us a refund. Really nice owners

Room Tip: There are cabins too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
2.9 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote Mountain Lodge

Property: Coyote Mountain Lodge
Address: 1340 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8930
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coyote Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UPDATE: Thank you all for your feedback! We have recently completely overhauled and replaced our WiFi system with institutional-grade WiFi. It works amazing - come check it out! --------------------------------------- VOTED BEST BUDGET MOTEL IN ESTES PARK! If you're looking for the right place to stay in Estes Park that offers clean and comfortable rooms while not breaking the bank, then you've come to the right place. We are quite often priced at 50% below the price of our neighboring motels while still offering air conditioning, heated pool, hot tub and free Wi-Fi. If you're looking for the best lodging value in Estes Park then look no further and book early. We keep our prices low by selling-out quickly. We hope to see you soon and have you as our guest! --------------------------------------- Imagine resting and relaxing on your special vacation, enjoying the majestic peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Coyote Mountain Lodge is the place to be enjoying the cool mountain breeze as you unwind from that day of hiking in the park. We are located on the north side of Lake Estes. We have 39 hotel rooms, hot tub, heated swimming pool, playground, grills, picnic tables, free wireless internet access and we offer complimentary coffee and other hot beverages in the morning for our guests. Coyote Mountain Lodge accepts pets and is a non-smoking facility. Upgraded rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. We have a banquet/reunion room that can hold up to 120 people. There is a large deck that overlooks the peaks of the National Park. Catering is available. Coyote Mountain Lodge is surrounded by activities for our guests to enjoy. Activities include boating and fishing on Lake Estes, golf, horseback riding, hiking, shopping, dining, putt putt golf, go carts, rafting, and visiting Rocky Mountain National Park with its 400 miles of hiking trails and awesome drives to the tundra on the top of the continental divide. When visiting Estes Park you will find that your visit is never long enough. We would love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coyote Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Bighorn Mountain Motel
Coyote Mountain Lodge Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing