We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best family vacation we've ever had!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best family vacation we've ever had!!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Wind River Ranch is a place to make memories for a lifetime with your family. Ride horses as much as you like, kids klub entertains the younger ones, tweens and teens klubs cater to adventure and friends for the older ones. Spend time in the pool and hot tub under the shadow of Mt. Elbert. Play Family Olympics, do square dancing, kids rodeo and go hiking.
We had so much fun away from cell phones, internet, video games.
Fun, Fun, Fun, Fun!!!!
Fireside talks and singing with all of us enjoying the beautiful Rocky Mountains, sharing God's blessings.
Morning Bible study times to pause and refresh the soul are so meaningful.
What a time to reconnect with my teenager and relax myself! I cannot recommend this unique, fabulous place highly enough! Don't miss this great opportunity!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkanagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
138
15
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Our first visit was 2001 and we've been back at least 6 times, mostly the week long family vacations but also have been to the couples retreat and that was memorable as well. This year we attended a meeting at another site in Estes Park but stayed with our friends at WRR. We did have some valuable down time during the week at WRR but enjoyed the food and food and fellowship also. The Staff are tremendous! Wonderful to see young people with a heart of service to make a vacation so special. Come as you are... you will meet a friend at WRR.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jllwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I cannot say enough about Wind River Ranch. We have gone there for 13 summers in a row and the wonderful staff at the ranch have become family. Our son was 2 when we first went and he will be 16 at the end of this week. He has grown up visiting this wonderful place, meeting amazing guests and the terrific staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debzer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Our family has spent a week at WRR each of the last three years and are already signed up for next year. For my wife and I, we can relax and refresh and get perspective on our lives while enjoying His creation. For the kids, it is their absolute favorite place to go - a hands down winner over Disney and all of the other more typical vacations we have taken.

The staff are outstanding, and a great model for our children - in fact many of them were guests years ago and now work there. The guest pastors/speakers are great, and there are many things to do - horseback riding, hiking, fishing, white water rafting, golf, etc and a great library and hammocks around for relaxing. The food is outstanding. Despite pledges to the contrary, we always manage to gain a few pounds while there despite all of the activities.

In addition to the stunning beauty of our surroundings, WRR is a place where we can connect with other families and their children, and we have established friendships that we can renew each year and in an environment where you can literally turn your children loose to have fun and play knowing that they are interacting with Godly staff and children of families of faith.

Room Tip: All of the available cabins are unique, and great. We tend to get a different one every year as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithFamily66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We came to Wind River Ranch for the 4th summer in a row and it was nothing short of amazing! The accommodations are first class, food is so good (too good!), and there is absolutely no shortage of activities. I cannot speak highly enough about the staff. They are an exceptional group of young people who are there to serve with such genuine hearts for the Lord. Our kids have the time of their lives as they are able to "run free" in an age where we are unable to do that at home in our neighborhoods. They get loved on all week by incredible young men and women - I hope my kids grow up to be just like them! We came with ages 3-69 and ALL had a great time. If you want to sit and relax all week, there is not a more beautiful place. If you want a week full of adventure, there are activities from horseback riding to white water rafting to hiking 14,000 ft peaks. God has truly blessed this ranch and continues to bless all who enter its gates.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kblanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpa, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

God's love shines through the staff and their attitude. I kid you not!
-and the nature is breathtaking. Duh.

I reccomend this christan dude ranch to anyone. Seriously!
You will be pleasently suprised.

Thank you WR!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanTorpa_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My husband had the idea of a Dude Ranch vacation based on the experience of a co-worker and so began our search for the right ranch for our family. After reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, reviewing their website and talking with Becky in the office, we decided to give Wind River Ranch a try. We were not disappointed. When we left the Ranch, my youngest daughter said "My favorite place, besides home, is Wind River Ranch."

I had experienced fairly significant altitude sickness on a previous trip to Vail, CO so we arrived a night early and stayed in Estes Park on Saturday. We also drank lots and lots of water. I had not problems on this trip.

We arrived at the Ranch on Sunday afternoon to a cheering and very welcoming staff. I knew at that moment we were in for a treat. I cannot say enough about the staff at WRR and how hard they work to make you feel at home.

We had two rooms (Basecamp C and D) which worked out well for our family of four. The rooms were very clean and we were greeted with fresh baked cookies on our arrival. The food was also very good. Each meal was served on time and was fresh. They offered a good bit of variety during the week and no one in my family left a meal hungry. There was fresh fruit and cookies or other goodies in the afternoons as well.

The schedule at the Ranch is very full but there is no pressure to participate in any activity. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want to be. Of course, the "busy" schedule is on ranch time with Bible study in the most amazing setting, horseback riding, pool, hot tub (with a gorgeous view), hiking, games, etc. There was plenty of time to enjoy it all or just read a good book in an incredibly beautiful setting. We had so much fun at the Square Dance and Hootenanny. Our kids (13, 8) loved the various activities offered for them and for an entire week, we never once heard a complaint about being bored! They wanted to spend time with their Counselors and new friends even after the scheduled activities had ended.

The weather was beautiful. Some days we needed jackets and there was a rain shower or two, but coming from the heat of the south, it was wonderful to cool off. In the evening, a sweatshirt or light jacket was needed.

Off the Ranch, we hiked Ouzel Falls, Lily Lake Ridge and drove Trail Ridge Road. All were beautiful in their own way but I would highly recommend a drive up Trail Ridge Road for some incredible views if the road is open. Ouzel Falls was a great hike which we took with Rob and other guests on Thursday and it too was full of beautiful scenery.

Cell service is limited but we found that to be a blessing. There were spots on the Ranch where we could reliably get a signal when needed. Wireless Internet could be accessed in or around the Business Center.

All in all, our trip to Wind River exceeded our expectations. The kids have not stopped asking to go back next summer. We left refreshed and with some family memories that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: I would try to get a cabin with a recently updated bathroom if budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nchiker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
6.0 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
6.1 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
6.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

Property: Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Address: 5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind River Ranch is an all inclusive resort property that appeals to each family member. We invite you to read our reviews on TripAdvisor and hear why our guests not only love the investment they made in their family, but also why they choose to return again and again to WRR. This is a unique and very special family dude ranch experience and a mountaintop experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Hotel Estes Park
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing