We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heavens Came Down”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Each morning, while looking at the beautiful snow capped mountains, one felt like they could touch the heavens. Our family of 17 ( ages 3-78)just came back from the most amazing family vacation ever. Each persons age was taken into account by the staff being sensitive to each age group and providing age appropriate activities, which were perfect. Each family has their own ranch style cabin with very modern showers. One cannot say enough about the ranch but the spirit of the staff stood out above all. They were there to serve and boy did they do a wonderful job. The only problem is the ranch is so good folks sign up to return the following year. Don't delay if you are thinking about an all inclusive vacation, reservations go fast. Good luck.






















horses getting ready for the riders, the Heaven Came Down, at the dude


How does one begin to describe Heaven? After returning from a family vacation of 17, we feel like we have had just a little taste. Each detail was carefully taken care of, even down to providing a golf cart for my husband, activities for each age group designed to hold their interest. The food, lodging, staff, horses, view and speakers were wonderful.
The best part of the week was that they pampered each person. When we left the ranch we truly knew our love cups were full and running over, thanks to the amazing staff and care given to each one of us. My family would highly recommend this place to anyone. They fill up fast, so book early if you want to get a spot for next year. Good luck.





\




ranch.

Room Tip: All cabins are designed for different size families, so make your needs known so they can match you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 478,812,345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family just returned home from our third trip to Wind River Ranch and we have already booked our cabin for next year. The college aged workers are nothing short of inspirational for all ages, but I especially love them for being excellent role models for my girls (age 12 and 15). They are fun, funny, loving, patient, kind and generous- everything you hope and pray your kids will be! I would love for my girls to work at the ranch when they are older. This place is not just a vacation, it is a mission. I feel better spending vacation dollars here knowing that some of the money helps others experience the gift of time at this beautiful place (they have weeks for wounded veterans and their families, single moms, military chaplains, etc). WWR offers just the right balance of a variety of activity (horse riding, zip line, rock wall, square dancing, kids rodeo, wrangler breakfast, etc) and relaxation. Excellent food, majestic mountain views, loving people, beautiful horses......WWR is heaven on earth!! Book now, you will not regret it!!!

Room Tip: We loved the cabin "Ponderosa" for it's convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We range from kids 7 thru 21. Things to do for all ages. Staff is beyond amazing and so willing to serve. Food was great, games, dancing, horseback riding, rock wall, zip line, hikes, friends made from all over the US. Enough things to do all day, and also the chance to just sit back and relax, soaking in the view-from your porch, the pool, the hot tub, the rec hall, the dining hall, the swings throughout the property, or from horseback. Great staff in teaching the novice riders, and rides for the expert as well. Didn't want to leave!!! Staff goes above and beyond!!! Also great for adults by themselves too. Many times we just sat and talk to other adults as the staff went and played games with the kids or took them swimming and even did babysitting for the babies so parents could enjoy adult time. Lots to offer, to much to do in just a week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Wind River Ranch is the best gift you can give your family! The setting is beautiful and the staff provides a great experience for both children and adults. The horse activities, the cabins and the food are all first rate. If you are looking for a place for your family to come together and re energize your spirit and soul this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eberglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wind River Ranch was a perfect family vacation with excellent activities for our entire family ( we had a large group of 17 ranging in ages from 3 to 78). There was a great mix from family friendly activities like a children's rodeo, square dance, camfires w/ smores to high adventure with world class hiking/climbing and horse riding for all levels of interest and experience. The staff works hard to customize the week based on your individual and family's desire and goals for the week.

Worship each morning with the guest pastor/speaker was special and set the tone for the day. The entire staff was highly attentive to our needs each day. As the parents of 9, we were blessed by the special attention given to the little children. Our older children felt right at home with the staff as well, and enjoyed the freedom to explore and pursue their interests from the rock wall and zip line to extensive trail rides in the Rocky Mountain National Park.

This is a place to create lifetime memories and grow in your faith and walk with Christ.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Rick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

You will never meet a more caring, service-oriented staff. In fact, you (and your kids) will leave inspired to treat people as well as they do.
Writing as a father of two young children (5 and 2), it is perfect. The morning "Kids' Club" gives parents a refreshing break while keeping the kids entertained with horse/pony rides, rock wall climbing, hiking, arts & crafts, etc. My wife and I took advantage of the mornings to hike nearby "Twin Sisters" and "Lilly Lake," fly fish, ride horses, play a round of golf and just enjoy a quiet cup of coffee on the porch of our cabin.
Then, in the afternoons and evenings, there were almost countless activities to do as a family.
Our cabin, complete with fireplace and an endless supply of firewood, was very comfortable.
I could go on, but will sum it up by saying that this place and the people who run it are truly amazing. You will not want to leave at the end of the week!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I are on our way home from a wonderful week at WRR. Couldn't wait to share our delight. We rode horses and participated in relay races with other guests who turned out to be "family" only a day or two into our visit. I even climbed a rock wall and zip lined for the first time in my life. The young staff members were so helpful and encouraging. I couldn't have accomplished that climbing wall without them! The staff is the best group of young people you could ask for. They are good and Godly folks who wait on you constantly, love on you and your kids and display the best example of Christ's love you could ask for. They are well-equipped for their job, are polite, warm and personable. WRR has activities for little ones, tweens, teens and adults...organized as well as on-your-own. You are welcome to be as busy or at-rest as you desire - participation in all or none of the activities is up to you...no pressure. Our guest speaker (they have one for each week) was terrific! Couldn't wait to get to bible study each morning. The surprise is the price in comparison to other ranches in the area. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
6.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,550 reviews
6.0 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
6.1 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Aspen Winds on Fall River
Aspen Winds on Fall River
#5 of 78 in Estes Park
271 reviews
4.7 mi away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,172 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch

Address: 5770 South St. Vrain, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wind River Ranch is an all inclusive resort property that appeals to each family member. We invite you to read our reviews on TripAdvisor and hear why our guests not only love the investment they made in their family, but also why they choose to return again and again to WRR. This is a unique and very special family dude ranch experience and a mountaintop experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Hotel Estes Park
Wind River Christian Family Dude Ranch Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing