We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in The Rockies”
Review of Black Canyon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Canyon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have traveled to Estes Park several times and this past trip was one of our favorites. We traveled with our children and wanted to have a little extra room to spread out. We rented unit F7. F7 is a 730 square foot one-bedroom condo located within the Black Canyon Inn in Estes Park, Colorado. The kitchen had everything one could need for cooking, the living room was comfortable, and the the master bath offers a two-person jetted tub, glass-inclosed stand up shower. Within the bathroom there is also a washer and dryer. We did not use the pull out sofa, but instead requested a rollaway which worked out perfect. Another added bonus, the owners of this unit have it stocked with fantastic board games. A highlight of the trip after a full day of hiking.

Our balcony offered unobstructed views of Rocky Mountain National Parks, Lumpy Ridge and the Twin Owls rock formation. Our view also looked out over a gorgeous farm where the cattle roamed all throughout the day.I would suggest if you are looking for a quieter unit that this is the way to go.

We added an extra night to our stay and had to move to Unit C6 for our last night. This unit overlooks the parking lot and Twin Owls Restaurant where there is often a rehearsal or wedding taking place, which equals more noise. There is no AC in the units, so windows open on a hot summer day is a necessity. Also, I felt as if the condition of F7 exceeded the condition of C6, but still provided a pleasant stay.

We did use the pool, small but warm and the kids loved it.

The staff at Black Canyon Inn were wonderful, always answered or help with anything we needed!
We hope to return and possible inquire to see if there is a larger unit overlooking the farm/mountains!

Room Tip: F7 was our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank journeysaboundtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

BCI is simply a great place to stay. This was our second time and it was just as wonderful and relaxing as was the first time. It was nice to come back and stay in the same condo unit, as it made us feel like it was our home away from home. With it's location on the edge of town you have a feeling of seclusion, yet still close to town. Besides the condo amenities we had a great view of Lumpy Ridge and Long Peaks from our deck, a swiming pool and restaurant (The Twins Owls) on site. We look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerKar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We just got back from a three night stay and we had a blast! We had the unit B1. It was very clean and had everything we needed. Plenty of room for our three adults and two kds, more tvs than we needed. Only thing I'd do next time is stay in a second floor unit so we could keep the windows open and feel better about it. We still had amazing views even on the first floor. The elk came right up to the pond in front of our unit, it was awesome! Perfect location so close maybe 3 min to town. Wish we had ate at the steak house on site but had the kids so next time for sure, it smelled wonderful! We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Black Canyon Inn in a two bedroom/2 bathroom condo (F10). The unit was beautifully furnished and had all the amenities you needed including a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances, kitchenware (plates, glasses, etc - all of which was beautiful stoneware), and a separate room for a washer/dryer (full size, stainless steel). The master bath had a shower and step in soaker tub with the second bedroom having it's own 3 piece bath (just a showerstall). The unit itself had floor to ceiling windows in the living/dining room letting in lots of light and stunning views of the mountains. The bedrooms also had great views of the surrounding countryside. From the front door, and being on the second floor, was a small balcony with table and chairs that provided excellent views of Longs Peak and the continental divide. We were greeted by both a mule deer and rabbit upon our arrival so a nice start to our days of hiking in the mountains. There is a heated pool on the property but we never had a chance to use it as we were in RMN park for all three days. There is also a lovely restaurant on site (the name escapes me) but the food and hospitality were excellent. The resort itself is about a 2 minute drive to the center of town - so close to all the tourist shops and boutiques that it has to offer. All in all, a great location, fabulous property, breathtaking scenery - we'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livetotravelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in unit F01 and the views were truly spectacular. Our time spent at the condo was more than relaxing. The unit was very large with comfortable couche, chairs, bed and fully stocked with kitchenware and grill for eating in. I would have liked to have been on the second floor with a balcony but I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with both the view and accomodations at our unit. The F building has by far the best views in the resort. Resort is close to town, shops and grocery store while still feeling very secluded. You will not be dissapointed if you stay at the Black Canyon Inn, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were at Black Canyon Inn a week ago for our son's wedding that was held in the pavilion on the property. This was a very nice resort - staff was friendly and worked very well with us getting in the day of the wedding. We had two rooms in the F building which I think is newer and then 1 in the D for our family - the views in the F building were wonderful the rooms were also very nice. We should have requested King size beds for some of our other family as we thought they were all King beds, but other than that it was wonderful. The store is just around the corner from this resort which made it nice to pick things up to have our own food and drink in the rooms. The pool was heated which was nice to go to after a trip into the Rocky Mountain National Park. The wedding was very pretty and staff was right there to see that all was taken care of! Thank you so much for a memorable and enjoyed family wedding and vacation! The restaurant on property also was very good and the staff there were excellent also!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLC1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We recently stayed four nights at the Black Canyon Inn, and we couldn't be more happy with our stay! We stayed in unit F1, and I have to say, I think we had the best views of anyone on the property. We had sweeping views of the mountains right outside our front door, and every window opened up to breathtaking scenery. We slept with the windows open every night, and the rooms stayed cool and pleasant. We loved how close we were to town and RMNP. Our kids loved the big jetted tub in the bathroom. The kitchen was fully stocked, so we didn't have to eat out every meal. We even did all our laundry in the washer/dryer located in our unit. It was clean, modern, in a prime location, and reasonably priced. We definitely will come back!

Room Tip: The F building has the best views, and F1 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#16 of 78 in Estes Park
372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#21 of 78 in Estes Park
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#25 of 78 in Estes Park
309 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#19 of 78 in Estes Park
238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#32 of 78 in Estes Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Inn

Address: 800 Macgregor Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: £131 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Separated from downtown by granite outcroppings the property intertwines the vacation condos with mature pines and a stream fed pond. Summer brings families. Fall is priceless...With the golden aspens blowing in the wind and the distant elk bugle. Winter is quiet and perfect for romance. Spring comes slowly to the mountains, with an occasional snowfall. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, a wedding or reunion...We have the setting-you create the memories!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Estes Park
Black Canyon Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing