We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”
Review of Black Canyon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Canyon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Downgraded cleanliness b/c we stayed in the cabin and bathroom was not cleaned daily and neither was kitchenette. Would be nice to have toaster oven, not just toaster. The shower is VERY small. Would have been nicer to have the shower as large as the useless jetted tub (not so sure its worth it when it fills half way and then no more hot water for two hours). Did have washer/dryer-great plus. Bed kinda lumpy. Woke up EVERY morning to garbage pick up between 5:30 AM and 6AM. Also stayed one night in a one bedroom condo-cabin is more unique and fun. Recommended with knowledge of problems-small shower, poor cleaning of cabin and early AM garbage truck wake up

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie6125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCIEstesPark, Manager at Black Canyon Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at Black Canyon Inn!

Based on your review I can see there was a difference in your level of satisfaction between the log cabin and the condo. As you mentioned in the review, the cabin is a unique experience compared to the modern cabins on the Black Canyon Inn property. Built in the 1920’s as a guest house, our log cabin is the ‘real thing’. Naturally, the cabin is more rustic compared to the condos which were all built much more recently and renovated by the individual owners in the past few years.

With the plusses of the log cabin also comes what some people may view as minuses. The bathroom is smaller than those in the condos and although it may be tight for both people to get ready at the same time, it is plenty big enough for one person. Also, the cabin has a partial kitchen where as the condos all have full kitchens – many with granite countertops and new appliances. We continue to update the cabin to provide additional amenities – the washer/dryer and beadboard ceiling were the most recent updates – but we do not want to take away from the original rustic log cabin feel. The cabin remains on of the most popular units on the property due to the unique atmosphere. The description and photos found on the Black Canyon Inn website.

Black Canyon Inn has a consistent level of quality for cleanliness through each and every unit that is rented. In fact, the thorough cleanliness of our rentals is one aspect frequently commented upon. Credit is due to our small dedicated housekeeping staff that has been at Black Canyon Inn since 2004. The same staff cleaning the cabin is the same which cleans the condos. Perhaps the rustic nature of the cabin led you to feel that it may not be as clean. If there was a concern, it would have been addressed immediately if we had known during your visit.

We have never received any negative feedback concerning the king mattress previous to this review. After reading your comment, I contacted the owner who informed me the mattress was approximately 1 year old. I will make a specific effort to talk with future cabin guests to get their opinion of the mattress. I wish you had communicated these and any other concerns at the time of your stay so they could have been resolved.

Our staff is always open to any guest feedback. All guests are encouraged to communicate any problems during their visit so that we have an opportunity to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Overall, I am pleased you found your stay enjoyable and very grateful you would recommend Black Canyon Inn to a friend. We would enjoy having you visit with us in the future in any of the condos. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and provide feedback.

Sincerely,

Michael Lyon
Black Canyon Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    28
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
112
116
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This was a great location, close to shopping/dining in Estes Park, and yet it felt like a secluded location. We had a 2-bedroom condo with kitchen/living room. It was great for the kids to have their own room with separate beds. And the scenic view from here was beautiful. I would choose Black Canyon Inn again if I return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lkt520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We returned back to Black Canyon Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary after getting married here last year. The condo we stayed in was welcoming & beautiful and had such a peaceful view. Black Canyon is quietly tucked away on the edge of town, convenient to get into Estes Park or RMNP. From the views, to the condo, to the location everything was absolutely perfect for getting away from it all & truly enjoying beautiful Colorado.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jasmel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We recently stayed at Black Canyon condo A3, it was perfect for myself and my husband (nice king bed!) and our two girls, 8 & 9 slept on the pull out couch. I was impressed at how functional, roomy and clean the condo was. The scenery was awesome, our girls loved the island and bridge in our back yard. The elk in the evening frolicking around was an awesome site! We only stayed 2 nights but wanted to stay longer!! We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marie214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Black Canyon Inn recently. The moment we pulled into the driveway we knew we were in for a special treat. The grounds were well tended and the mountain views were beautiful. Our suite was wonderful. The living area and kitchen were very comfortable. We even had a washer and dryer. The garden tub had plenty of room for two! It was so cozy to sit in front of the fire at night. We were less than a mile from a wonderful hiking trail that was very nice. The restraunt a the Inn had the best prime rib I had ever had. The service was excellent. I have to say the best part of our stay was meeting Rosemary. She was so warm and caring. She even brought us flowers! We felt so special. We highly recommend staying at this wonderful place. Estes Park had some of the friendliest people we have come across.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lisa201025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We just had our wedding at the Black Canyon. Most of our guest stayed in the condos at the Inn and they all had a great time. The views are amazing and the service and attention the staff gives it's guests is fantastic. We had a large group ranging in age from 1 to 90 and everyone's needs were met. We cannot recommend this place highly enough - for a wedding or just a great time in the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MelOckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We recently spent a long weekend at Black Canyon Inn located in Estes Park ,Co. We were given units A5 and A6--so we could have some room from our teenage boys!! The accommodations were comfortable and affortable!!! The location of Black Canyon Inn is perfect, close enough to town but far enough out so you can enjoy the peaceful solitude of the beautiful surroundings!!!!! My boys could walk into town if they wanted some "action" and I didn't have to worry about the distance. Staff was friendly and helpful when needed...otherwise respected our privacy. It was a great experience, will plan another stay at this little piece of paradise!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rilovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,398 reviews
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Inn

Property: Black Canyon Inn
Address: 800 Macgregor Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Separated from downtown by granite outcroppings the property intertwines the vacation condos with mature pines and a stream fed pond. Summer brings families. Fall is priceless...With the golden aspens blowing in the wind and the distant elk bugle. Winter is quiet and perfect for romance. Spring comes slowly to the mountains, with an occasional snowfall. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, a wedding or reunion...We have the setting-you create the memories!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Estes Park
Black Canyon Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing