We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, accomodations and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Canyon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Canyon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing location, accomodations and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

This Inn has a unique secluded location with great scenic views yet is only blocks from Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. Accomodations are excellent in every regard. Service and local knowledge by staff is unsurpassed. On site restaurant excellent for dinner. We have stayed last two years and are returning again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank murphy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    28
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
112
114
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ft Collins, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

This place is great! I stayed with a large wedding party and we rented out one of the buildings. The accomdations are spacious and modern. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The view of Rocky Mtn National Park are amazing and the wildlife that passed through made it even more special. This is a very special location and worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bootcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

The apartment was spacious with a lovely kitchen and a large bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. We had enough room for clothing and to our surprise we had a washer and dryer as well.
The view overlook the mountain.

Swimming pool two step away.

A restaurant just to our doorstep with very good food and a grocery store near by.

For us it was just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank voyageur2010-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

The purpose of our stay was a combination of leisure and an event. We are pretty avid travelers and overall were satisfied with the accommodations. The rooms we stayed in were clean, updated, and comfortable. They also had great balconies with a nice view of the mountains. The wedding turned out beautiful, it seemed to have ran smoothly, and the reception provided a wonderful meal as well. The only flaw was with the reservations. We were not really sure what kind of rooms we were going to be provided until we had arrived. I really really did not like that. We traveled with a total of 4 adults and one child who was 4 years old. There was a master bedroom with a queen bed and a separate bedroom with another queen bed. The child went to bed early, so he did not sleep on the sofa sleeper out in the living area. Since the bedrooms we were assigned only provided queen beds, one of the parents would sleep on the sofa sleeper, which was not comfortable. It would have been nice to request a certain room that had a king bed or 2 queen beds, but I was told several times prior to my stay, the office was not sure which room we were going to be in. If there had been a room available, we would not have known, and it was told to me many times it would not have been guaranteed to us it anyway.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LOVETHEBEACHES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Michael and his team started us in the right direction with great fishing, hiking, and food directions. We tried all his suggestions and they were great. The view was awesome, the room was great and the location from town was perfect. I highly recommend this for people who want to be close and yet far enough away

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tueffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom condo for two nights in July. After lots of research, we came to the conclusion that lodging around RMNP is rather limited, as there didn't seem to be any great options. We ended up being happy that we chose Black Canyon Inn. The room, while not luxurious (no A/C for one), was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The bathroom was large and had a great shower and the bed was comfortable (kinda soft but it didn't bother us).

The best part of the hotel (for us) was the very friendly and knowledgable front desk staff. One man we spoke with (I wish I could remember his name) spent at least 20 minutes telling us about different hiking options in RMNP, making sure we knew exactly where we were going and explaining the park shuttles. This made all the difference - we love getting local knowledge about the park rather than relying on guide books.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank north726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Downgraded cleanliness b/c we stayed in the cabin and bathroom was not cleaned daily and neither was kitchenette. Would be nice to have toaster oven, not just toaster. The shower is VERY small. Would have been nicer to have the shower as large as the useless jetted tub (not so sure its worth it when it fills half way and then no more hot water for two hours). Did have washer/dryer-great plus. Bed kinda lumpy. Woke up EVERY morning to garbage pick up between 5:30 AM and 6AM. Also stayed one night in a one bedroom condo-cabin is more unique and fun. Recommended with knowledge of problems-small shower, poor cleaning of cabin and early AM garbage truck wake up

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie6125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCIEstesPark, Manager at Black Canyon Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at Black Canyon Inn!

Based on your review I can see there was a difference in your level of satisfaction between the log cabin and the condo. As you mentioned in the review, the cabin is a unique experience compared to the modern cabins on the Black Canyon Inn property. Built in the 1920’s as a guest house, our log cabin is the ‘real thing’. Naturally, the cabin is more rustic compared to the condos which were all built much more recently and renovated by the individual owners in the past few years.

With the plusses of the log cabin also comes what some people may view as minuses. The bathroom is smaller than those in the condos and although it may be tight for both people to get ready at the same time, it is plenty big enough for one person. Also, the cabin has a partial kitchen where as the condos all have full kitchens – many with granite countertops and new appliances. We continue to update the cabin to provide additional amenities – the washer/dryer and beadboard ceiling were the most recent updates – but we do not want to take away from the original rustic log cabin feel. The cabin remains on of the most popular units on the property due to the unique atmosphere. The description and photos found on the Black Canyon Inn website.

Black Canyon Inn has a consistent level of quality for cleanliness through each and every unit that is rented. In fact, the thorough cleanliness of our rentals is one aspect frequently commented upon. Credit is due to our small dedicated housekeeping staff that has been at Black Canyon Inn since 2004. The same staff cleaning the cabin is the same which cleans the condos. Perhaps the rustic nature of the cabin led you to feel that it may not be as clean. If there was a concern, it would have been addressed immediately if we had known during your visit.

We have never received any negative feedback concerning the king mattress previous to this review. After reading your comment, I contacted the owner who informed me the mattress was approximately 1 year old. I will make a specific effort to talk with future cabin guests to get their opinion of the mattress. I wish you had communicated these and any other concerns at the time of your stay so they could have been resolved.

Our staff is always open to any guest feedback. All guests are encouraged to communicate any problems during their visit so that we have an opportunity to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Overall, I am pleased you found your stay enjoyable and very grateful you would recommend Black Canyon Inn to a friend. We would enjoy having you visit with us in the future in any of the condos. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and provide feedback.

Sincerely,

Michael Lyon
Black Canyon Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Inn

Property: Black Canyon Inn
Address: 800 Macgregor Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Separated from downtown by granite outcroppings the property intertwines the vacation condos with mature pines and a stream fed pond. Summer brings families. Fall is priceless...With the golden aspens blowing in the wind and the distant elk bugle. Winter is quiet and perfect for romance. Spring comes slowly to the mountains, with an occasional snowfall. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, a wedding or reunion...We have the setting-you create the memories!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Estes Park
Black Canyon Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing