We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Couldn't Be Better”
Review of Solitude Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solitude Cabins
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Couldn't Be Better”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

If you want to feel like you stepped into a perfect mountain dream cabin, complete with all the comforts of home, stay at Solitude Cabins. These are well-built, newer, spacious cabins. We stayed in our cabin 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It felt like we had a place of our own and we cooked all of our meals (except one) in the fully stocked kitchen. Even though we were in the midst of other cabins, it felt quite private and was very quiet. The management and staff were so kind, helpful, and thoughtful. Our cabin was immaculate. The towels and bedding smelled delightful. We had a TV with a DVD player, gas fireplace, separate vanity sink in the bathroom, lots of closet space, washer/dryer, and our unit was decorated beautifully in mountain/lodge fashion. It was so nice to see the views of Twin Sisters and Longs Peak from inside the unit. There was a lovely, large deck as well as a front porch. Inside the cabin was a lot of information about the cabin (where to find things, how to access the internet, which switches turned on which lights, etc.) as well as books and DVD's about Estes Park. We also loved the location. You can get to Solitude Cabins right as you come in to Estes Park without having to go through the tourist traffic on Main Street, but the cabins are really close to town so you have the best of both worlds. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our relatives and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We hope you will find a time to come back to Solitude Cabins and enjoy more time in the mountains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    17
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
82
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

What a wonderful place to stay for rest and relaxation. It is complete solitude and quiet. We spent a week here over Christmas and I can't say enough about the beautiful cabin! The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to cook with. The cabin was so clean. We can't wit to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
We thank you fro referring to us as the Best Cabins in Estes...We think we are too!! We try to be the best in Estes Park, a lot of the time fortunately we are successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a beautiful place to getaway to. The staff was absolutely fantastic and made us feel right at home. The cabin was spotless and the bedding on the beds were so comfortable. The view was awesome and relaxing on the deck was fabulous. It had all the luxuries we could have ever imagined! We will be planning another getaway to Solitude Cabins!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We pride ourselves in trying to provide a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent three days in this beautiful cabin, which felt more like a home. It was beautifully furnished, comfortable, and roomy. We cooked all of our meals there and the kitchen was fully stocked with every dish and utensil one could possibly need( with the exception of a blender). When we called the office to tell them what we needed, they personally delivered one within a few minutes. This cabin sat up on a hill with a beautiful view of the Rockie Mountains and the famous Stanley Hotel in the distance. Shuttle service was available to go into town, where there were many specialty shops and lovely gardens everywhere. This was a great location and easy acces to the National Park. We would highly recommend the Solitude Cabins.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfabrizio66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It was very nice having 2 master suites, kitchen and patio. The only issue we had, is being in the one that is practically on the street. Solitude is the last thing that comes to mind when listening to the amount of traffic. We were there right before school started, so I can only imagine what it will be like with the high school across the street up a hill. Unfortunately, we ended up with the worst location but there are other cabins that would be quieter. The price was great since we split the amount. I will stay someplace next to the river next time. There is no service unless you pay extra. The bed had a plastic mattress pad. Nice and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gottrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am disapointed that you were not completely satisfied with the location of your cabin. It is especially disapointing since I could have changed the location of your cabin. We do not always have the luxury of moving cabins, but in this case we could have.
To our readers...If you are not satisfied with Solitude Cabins, tell us at the property so that we can address whatever is unsatisfactory and actually make an effort towards correcting your issue. We all work very hard to accommodate our guests, it is what we do and is the backbone of our business. Waiting until you get home and writing something on a social media outlet is not fair to a business that strives to please. Talk to the people that could make a difference and then maybe your time would have been more enjoyable and perhaps a much different read on social media.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Nice overall location (Estes Park), but the cabin we got was poor...right next to the road with a view of the high school bus lot. Cabin was nice, but some quirks in the accommodations. Strange directions to guests like using particular washcloth.

Price might have been ok for a cabin that was away from road noise and had a view, but ess too much to pay for this cabin.

Recommend you understand exactly which cabin you will be assigned and understand its location on the property.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your cabin and the view. The cabin does have a great view of Twin Sisters, Longs, etc... and yes a bus barn, which can be seen through several trees. The deck off the upstairs balcony does have a great view of the lake, Lumpy Ridge, etc...
When you make a reservation over the internet, it does not give us an opportunity to ask you questions so that we have a chance to meet any specific requests or questions you may have. We work hard to qualify our guests when we are given the opportunity. Sometimes the convience of the internet does not work to the favor of the guests. We strongly urge folks to call and talk to us, especially when you have many requirements. We are glad to take any amount of time to make sure guests are placed to their requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our cabin was wonderful and we had a good view of Long's Peak from the balcony. But in late July it was 90 degrees in Estes Park and our cabin was hot! They have a venting system in each cabin that pulls the air through the cabin when you open the windows. That helped some but when it rains in the afternoon you have to close the windows and your cabin heats up quickly. Other than that this cabin was a good fit for our family. Very quiet even though it's close to a road. Because you have to sleep with the windows open you can hear traffic but not anything that kept us up all night. I think this would be a great place to stay in the fall and winter months and early spring but not in July & August. Our 11 year old son wished it had a pool and not just a hot tub. We had lunch out on our deck every day which saved money and we could enjoy our view of the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjlowe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you found the cabin to be clean and comfortable. Mother Nature did deliver a warm July, which does make it warm without air conditioning. In response to the warmer weather, we have purchased two exhaust type window fans to assist with pulling warmer air out of the cabins. This should make a diiference at night when we tend to get cooler air.
We couldn't agree more, the fall, is the most spectacular time of the year. Warm days and crisp nights and much less traffic in town and around the park. The winter is perfect for unplugging and just relaxing. We hope you will have an opportunity to come to Solitude during another season. You will notice a dramatic difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
449 reviews
3.4 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
572 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#17 of 78 in Estes Park
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#16 of 78 in Estes Park
358 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dao House
Dao House
#60 of 78 in Estes Park
124 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#33 of 78 in Estes Park
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitude Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitude Cabins

Property: Solitude Cabins
Address: 1885 Sketch Box Ln Unit 7, Estes Park, CO 80517-5444
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Solitude Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitude. Not just a name, it’s a feeling you get! Enjoy the rustic mountain feeling with all the comforts of a new luxury vacation home. Sleeping for 6 with 2 master suites, premium linens, fully equipped kitchen, living room, queen sofa sleeper, gas fireplace, washer & dryer, deck with gas grill and patio furniture. For your comfort and safety of wildlife, no pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solitude Cabins Hotel Estes Park
Solitude Cabins Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing