We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed in Room #3 on May 18, 2013 while visiting Rocky National Park for two days. I selected the hotel from a long list of options because this one's close location to downtown, its price, amenity, and friendly voice when I called and inquired about the Inn. The bed is very comfortable. The place is clean and thoughtfully decorated. They've got a mini-fridge and microwave which come in handy. There are lounge chairs outside for you to sit around. There's also a BBQ place on the property. The couple who owned the place really worked hard to take care of the place and the customers. They were innovative in renovating the hotel and offered good services to me. I have never written a hotel review before. But this time, I felt their friendly service earned a review from me, a happy customer. Their attitude and service really made a difference. I'm not sure how to say it but the couple cares about their customers and their business. If you decide to visit Rocky NP, check out this hotel. You will be pleasantly surprised.
By the way, in the last two weeks while I work in Colorado, I have stayed in Marriott Residence Inn for two weeks, another hotel for two nights during the weekend, and then this place. I have received friendly service from all these places but somehow, this couple made an impression on me. Try their place out if you look for reasonably priced room, good location, and friendly service.

To the couple who owned the place - Keep it up. You guys are awesome. Thanks! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
We were glad to be your choice in Estes Park - it was great visiting with you and I hope that the rest of your trip - without working! - was enjoyable as well. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    78
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
114
256
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed at the Maxwell Inn May 10 and 11, 2013. The room was 1930's updated with perfect painting, carpet, beds, and Mission styled furniture. The color photography on the walls was reminiscent of 1950's Rocky Mountain National Park style and the landscape painting of the mountains and rushing river was awesome. The breakfast was simple and well supplied in a neat, comfortable room. The proprietors are as nice as can be, as well. The owner and her daughter delivered a red rose in a vase for Mother's Day. All in all this place is clean, well kept, conscientiously maintained and the bed was very comfortable. It's close to town to walk. There are elk, deer and big horn sheep literally everywhere. Go for it. It's fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
We put a lot of time and effort into the finished product, and we're glad it shows! Thank you for choosing The Maxwell Inn! It was a pleasure talking with you and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good pricing, good location, and personal care by the owners made this stay exceptional. We loved everthing about this place and the couple who runs it. we will stay again and bring friends! There is a pizza place across the street and they are within walking distance of other restaurants. The complimentary chocolate covered preztels were a hit as well! We will be back and will bring friends!

Melissa

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Estes is a wonderful place to visit... we hope that your stay with us made it just that much better! Thank you for choosing The Maxwell Inn!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

So wow, a lot of great improvements to this place. I stayed here previously when the lesbian couple ran it, not so impressed then. I like the location to shopping and hiking, there is so much to do in close proximity. I checked out all the updates online and decided to give the new place a shot, wow was I impressed! First of all there is no weird hotel smell. I really hate staying places and feel like the smell is still on me when I leave. The rooms are very clean, I inspect everything when I first stay in a hotel; behind the bed, under the mattress, the glass ware, everything. I am a germaphobe and this place was clean. The bedding was very soft and comfortable. The mattresses were not to hard, not to soft, just right. The breakfast had a good selection of food, again I am picky about food. The staff was friendly and I was not creeped out by them like the last couple that owned the place previously. I enjoyed going back to the hotel at the end of a long day, relaxing in the hot tub and then winding down with a movie because there was a dvd player in the room and they provided dvd selections. The views from the hotel were beautiful and even got some great photos of sunrises/sunsets and wildlife. It was so easy to sleep with how quiet and peaceful the surroundings are. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
We enjoyed having you and your husband staying with us. We always enjoy meeting fellow Cardinal fans! Thanks for choosing The Maxwell Inn and thank you for your kind words about our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Great getaway destination! They did quite the extensive renovation and really paid attention to all of the details. From the not-too-squishy beds to the new duvets, pillows and carpet, you can really tell that the innkeepers care about the place. Speaking of the innkeepers, they're so accomodating. They were warm and welcoming to my entire family and even had a "present" for my little one upon arrival!

Location - Just a short walk to downtown Estes Park and right next to a little creek for the calming sounds of water on a great vacation!

Check them out!!!!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms provide a great view however the lower level rooms are just as great. For handica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thanks for spending the weekend at The Maxwell Inn! Most folks underestimate the value of a hot tub at the end of a long day! We enjoyed visiting with you and hope that you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Property: The Maxwell Inn
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, new mattresses, and comfortable linens and bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
The Maxwell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing