We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Wonderful Nights”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife found the Maxwell Inn on tripadvisor. We stayed 4 nights during our trip to Estes Park. It felt like staying with your favorite relatives who had a newly remodeled guest room! Peter and Dana are so friendly and helpful. Their attention to detail about everything is amazing. So rare to actually meet a hotel owner and none could be more attentive. The location is ideal, very quiet yet so close to town and RMNP. Peter even shared how he makes so much Pontiac HP!! Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccole3609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Cole Family - It was great to meet you all and we really enjoyed hearing about each days activities. It does help us quite a bit when it comes to recommending places for other guests to visit - thank you! I enjoyed talking "car" with you, and if you all head this way again, we'll be looking for you! Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to offer your thoughts on our place online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family of five stayed in two of the rooms. The rooms were well appointed, very clean and comfortable. The hosts were very accessible and hospitable. From the DVD collection to the stocked breakfast room to the welcome gifts, our family felt very much at home. As an added bonus, Dana suggested great hikes and drives and other excursions that were great and that we never would have tried without her encouragement. We would definitely stay here again on a return trip to RMNP. The location is great...not too busy and still within easy walk or drive of everything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Cheryl - Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Your family was one of our first reservations, making your plans before we took over and renovated. I'm glad you all enjoyed the service, location, and rooms themselves. The location is really perfect, because if you hadn't driven downtown on the way to our Inn, you wouldn't know how close we are to all of the downtown activity. Thank you again for staying with us, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Maxwell Inn during our trip through Rocky Mountain National Park. We decided to stay there due to the ratings we had seen on trip advisor. The night we arrived, the owners personally greeted us and then proceeded to get candy out for each of our kids. They were genuinely interested in us, and seemed very focused on ensuring that we had the best stay possible. We go on a lot of road trips, and have stayed in a lot of places throughout the United States, but we have never experienced such a great combination of nice furnishings, friendly and accommodating staff, beautiful surroundings, etc. I give the Maxwell in top marks for value and customer service. When we come back through CO, we know where we will stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackayFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Mackay Family - Thanks for staying with us this month! We really have tried to make our place different and unique and we're glad you liked it. You all were the first of our guests this year to see a bear outside of the park - which is something I'm sure you'll remember for quite a while! Hopefully you can make it back out this way soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Was a little hesitant when I made my reservation, but I changed my mind as soon as I arrived. Maxwell Inn is a very unique place. It would be considered a boutique hotel in the big cities. Each room is different. They are small but cozy, and very very clean. Dana and Peter were very helpful when we asked questions. It is in the perfect location we woke up to an elk by our car! And you are so close to the entrance of the park. If I had to think of one thing that they could improve on it would b to have 2 chairs in room 16 and 2 bars of soap.

Room Tip: We were in 16 and it is perfect for 2 people. It was the last room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdiuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you both for staying with us, and writing a review! Thanks for the suggestion on the room, as well. We're continuously tweaking bits and pieces around here. Extra seating can be accomplished, so I'll put it on the list! Our location does a pretty good job of putting you close to downtown and the park as well, while still keeping you out of the traffic! If I had one suggestion for you two, stay longer next time - it was great meeting you! Thank you again and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I spent an extended 4th of July 2013 weekend in Estes Park and randomly picked The Maxwell Inn due to its great reviews on Trip Advisor. We made an excellent choice. This motel is small and quaint and the owners are very nice and hospitable. They will do anything to accommodate you during your stay. This is a newly renovated motel and the decor is very nice. The location is great and a free trolley stops right in front of the motel to take you around town. We missed breakfast one morning and the owner took the time to make sure we got something to eat. We will definitely stay at this place again. Thanks Maxwell Inn for making our stay in Estes Park an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: nice and quiet place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybirdkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

It was really nice to meet you two, and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and time in Estes! Ensuring you enjoy breakfast is pretty simple - we really do anything we can to accommodate our guests! We're happy that you enjoyed the room and the location as well... a quick walk to town or the free trolley really make it ideal... close, but away from the packed parking lots and occasional traffic backup! Thank you again for reviewing the Inn, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We read great reviews on tripadvisor and grabbed the last room available on our way to Montana. The owner-operators were very nice and helpful and seemed genuinely glad we were there. The answered questions patiently and gave excellent advise on site-seeing and dining. The sandwich shop across the street is excellent as well. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bighuff32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and adding the picture of your room! We do really enjoy giving advice and hearing feedback on places that folks visit. So much of your vacation is the time you spend away from our Inn, it's great to know that you enjoyed your time here and the things you were able to experience around Estes as well. Come visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in Maxwell Inn for two nights, The staff outdid themselves in opening the hot tub, providing breakfast and maintaining clean, attractive rooms. I constantly asked for directions and recommendations for both hikes and dining and the staff constantly outdid itself.

I highly recommend Maxwell Inn.

Room Tip: By rating the swimming pool as excellent, I was rating the hot tub by proxy. I can't find enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

It was great having your family stay with us. I enjoyed your insight on the local restaurants you tried - even if it meant a "real" New York critique of our local Italian favorite! Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn - we're glad that we could be the stepping off point for your vacation and that everything was just right for you. The Hot Tub has certainly been a favorite... there's no better way to relax at the end of the day. Quality time away from cell phones, work, etc - it's nice to relax with the family! The next time you come out West, look us up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
848 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £82 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
The Maxwell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing