We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homey”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our travel weary family of 5 stayed at the maxwell inn after 2nts of camping in the rain. We were so happy to stay at such a cute place! The room was wonderful and after 5 consecutive showers (never loosing hot water) in the very clean and new shower we felt ready to tour Estes again. The patio outside our room was quiet, full of flowers ,and a wonderful spot to watch the hummingbirds and meet fellow travelers. The owners do a great job of meeting every need. We had 3 girls and needed a few more towels and we got more fluffy wonderful towels from Dana right away. The only thing wrong with this place is we couldn't get in for 2 nts. I highly recommend staying here if you are in town. It will feel like home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Jill - Next year call us a bit ahead of time and you can spend all the time you want here! There is plenty to do in Estes, as you all know, and we love being the launch point for hikes, day trips, weekend getaways, etc. I'm glad our place offered a calming environment to recharge and refresh for you and your family. It was great to chat with you all after all of the hiking and "roughing it" that you did. Thanks for taking the time to give feedback on our Inn, and we really do hope to see you all next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed there for two nights and wish we could have been there longer. It's not fancy but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice and well stocked. Granola bars and water were available for hikes. Peter and Dana couldn't have been more helpful. It's a short walk into Estes Park and close to hiking. Adding to our enjoyment were the 11 elk who decided to graze on the front lawn of the inn. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureenw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Maureen - We really enjoyed hosting you all! You know, we did the call in the Elk special for you, so we're glad you appreciated our gesture. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you all can make it back in the future... we'll be here! We understand that our Inn isn't perfect for everyone, however we're confident that it's a great place to spend your time in Estes Park - whether you want to walk downtown along Fall River, or drive a few miles and be in Rocky Mountain National Park. Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have visiting Estes Park off and on for over 50 years and this year we reserved 3 rooms at the Maxwell Inn. This was the best place we stayed at in a very long time. The rooms were very clean and well furnished. Peter and Dana are very nice people and very helpful. It had the feel of staying at a very good bed and breakfast. We will defiantly stay at the Maxwell Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The1moreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn, and we're happy to have accommodated your family! Each room is different, and you guys were able to see three! The recommendations that we can give and the work that went into the renovations are just a couple reasons that our property has an inviting feel that you might find hard to get at other places. Come see us again next year and we'll set you up in three different rooms again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My brother and I stayed at the Maxwell inn for three nights in mid-July while visiting the RMNP. It was an impromptu road trip and we chose the Maxwell Inn at the last minute based on the reviews here, as well as the fact that Dana was incredibly helpful on the phone the morning of our check in. We were able to reserve 2 nights in one room (21) and a third night in another (18). On our last day, Dana recommended a few other local inns for the rest of our stay in Estes Park.

The rooms were clean, bright, and well-decorated. It's clear they have been renovated very recently. They were a little smaller than I expected but for the price and service offered, it's a value. That's the real clincher here - the folks at the Maxwell went above and beyond to make sure our stay at the Inn was pleasant and comfortable, including keeping the hot tub open and private for an additional hour to accommodate me. They gave us recommendations for places to eat, shops to check out, and connected us to where we could get more info on bike gear, etc.

highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdenM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Aden - it was nice having you two stay with us! I'm happy that you were able to see a couple different rooms and experience how unique our Inn is. You're right that the rooms aren't exactly "big" - but we try to make up for that with quality materials and excellent service. For a "on a whim" road trip, I think you both had a great time! Come back soon with your family and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our family was staying in Estes Park for the weekend before traveling back home. We had room 20 and 21. The rooms were great, clean and comfortable. The breakfast area was convenient before going out for the day in RMNP. We will definitely book our next stay in Estes Park at the Maxwell Inn. Dana and Peter are great hosts and take care of all your needs. We enjoyed the separate King room 21. Pat, Bill and Laura

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank wnewman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

It's great to hear again that you all enjoyed our place! I'm happy the location and rooms worked out for you all, and we really do everything we can to make the stay a great one. A "great" hotel means different things to different people - we're stoked that you liked our version of a "great" experience! Thanks for posting the picture and letting others know about our Inn! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife found the Maxwell Inn on tripadvisor. We stayed 4 nights during our trip to Estes Park. It felt like staying with your favorite relatives who had a newly remodeled guest room! Peter and Dana are so friendly and helpful. Their attention to detail about everything is amazing. So rare to actually meet a hotel owner and none could be more attentive. The location is ideal, very quiet yet so close to town and RMNP. Peter even shared how he makes so much Pontiac HP!! Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccole3609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Cole Family - It was great to meet you all and we really enjoyed hearing about each days activities. It does help us quite a bit when it comes to recommending places for other guests to visit - thank you! I enjoyed talking "car" with you, and if you all head this way again, we'll be looking for you! Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to offer your thoughts on our place online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family of five stayed in two of the rooms. The rooms were well appointed, very clean and comfortable. The hosts were very accessible and hospitable. From the DVD collection to the stocked breakfast room to the welcome gifts, our family felt very much at home. As an added bonus, Dana suggested great hikes and drives and other excursions that were great and that we never would have tried without her encouragement. We would definitely stay here again on a return trip to RMNP. The location is great...not too busy and still within easy walk or drive of everything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Cheryl - Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Your family was one of our first reservations, making your plans before we took over and renovated. I'm glad you all enjoyed the service, location, and rooms themselves. The location is really perfect, because if you hadn't driven downtown on the way to our Inn, you wouldn't know how close we are to all of the downtown activity. Thank you again for staying with us, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: £81 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
The Maxwell Inn Estes Park, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing